We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We last visited this pub about 2 years ago and decided to return .Two adults and one child visited and the pub was very busy and we were lucky to get a table. The food was lovely and an adult meal was changed to a child's size meal with no fuss. lots of local people appeared to be there and it was a really nice welcoming pub with high quality food, locally sourced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for such lovely feedback. We always try to accommodate our visitors and we were only to happy to find room for you. We are also heartened to hear that our guests value our local food policy, where we try to source local whenever possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
39
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed there with my teenage grandchildren. They were made very welcome. Food was absolutely delicious. Even the teenagers were impressed and did not insist on burgers and chips, but were ready to try something new, and enjoyed it.

Choice of wines excellent. The hosts were very friendly and we enjoyed speaking to the local people and also other guests staying at there the same weekend.

The rooms were very comfortable and we all had a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was very good and a very varied choice. Would definitely book another weekend when next in the area.

Room Tip: Family room was excellent. Other choices available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for making the effort to write a review on your stay with us. It's great to know that our guests value the work we do and that it makes your stay enjoyable. We'll see you again soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been here more than once. Last time with a party of friends, one of which has a severe wheat allergy. This B & B really catered for her allergy - separate cooking pans, utensils etc. She said that it was great being able to eat in total confidence.
The choice of food must also be mentioned - not your bog standard scampi and chips, rather a wide choice of excellent dishes, all good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the entrance to the pub are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are only to happy to cater to guests special dietary requirements and we are glad to hear that it was noticed. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here immediately after Easter. Nothing was too much trouble for Rachel and Christopher. They were very flexible and understanding when we brought in an extra person for a breakfast at sort notice and then had to cut our trip short by a day.
The bar has a fine selection of real ales, and the food is very good. We intend to return to the area and to stay at the Royal Oak again.

Room Tip: Our room at the front had a lovely view over the valley. It was undergoing minor redecoration during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are on the last part of our renovation journey and we are glad to hear that our lovely customers approve! It was a pleasure to meet you, and it is great to hear our efforts are appreciated. The fact that our guests are happy makes it all worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arrived late Saturday pm,landlord very helpful .Rooms good.decent bathroom.Food excellant nice atmosphere lovely and warm with open fire.
Put us up a packed lunch and left cereal etc for us as we were leaving before 7.00am.
Decent small car park secure.I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post them. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked in cold and hungry and we were met with a brilliant open fire and a great selection of food on the boards. The Fish and Chips was to die for.... seriously the best I have had since I was a child. My wife chose the Puy Lentil Bake with Goats Cheese and Garlic Bread which she said was top notch- but I'll take her word for it. The place is worth coming to for just the beer or the food or the views through the village or the atmosphere so to have all together makes it a total gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I will pass your kind comments onto our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Royal Oak atmosphere was very pleasant. Four of us ate lunch and we returned later for New Year festivities. The Royal Oak has hospitable staff, stunning surroundings, great food, warm, friendly and cosy ambience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoystonPoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we hope that we will see you in the area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Level Crossing
The Level Crossing
#1 of 5 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Rhandirmwyn, Llandovery SA20 0NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Inn Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing