We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food with a wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food with a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We walked in cold and hungry and we were met with a brilliant open fire and a great selection of food on the boards. The Fish and Chips was to die for.... seriously the best I have had since I was a child. My wife chose the Puy Lentil Bake with Goats Cheese and Garlic Bread which she said was top notch- but I'll take her word for it. The place is worth coming to for just the beer or the food or the views through the village or the atmosphere so to have all together makes it a total gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I will pass your kind comments onto our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Royal Oak atmosphere was very pleasant. Four of us ate lunch and we returned later for New Year festivities. The Royal Oak has hospitable staff, stunning surroundings, great food, warm, friendly and cosy ambience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoystonPoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we hope that we will see you in the area again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did not stay at the Royal Oak Inn, but ate there twice: once for lunch and then a couple days later for dinner. We loved all of our meals (everyone shared)! We never expected to find such an eclectic menu in a pub so far out of the way, but the food could compete with good restaurants in the middle of a cosmopolitan city! Don`t be afraid to try non-traditional menu items. They tasted just as great as the amazing roast lamb. Everything tasted fresh and full of flavor and you could tell the innkeepers take pride in serving delicious fare.

In addition to the wonderful food, the atmosphere is cozy, friendly and unpretentious. They welcomed our toddlers with open arms and pointed us to the friendly goats out back that the boys enjoyed petting. Toward the end of our week-long stay in the area, we were only sad that we didn't eat here more often! By they way, if they have slow-roasted lamb on the menu when you are there, go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel2012Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review and we are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We take great pride in our food here so the fact that you enjoyed our efforts makes it all worth while. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a delightfull small Inn that was full of warmth and welcome. Even the locals in the bar were friendly and helpfull offerring advice on local attractions and local Ale's. We spent a very comfortable night and were greeted in the morning with a fabulous breakfast. The couple running this Inn work hard to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: As always ask to see the room before confirming a booking where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review and we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We make every effort to make people feel as comfortable as we can and to hear that we have succeeded makes the effort worth it. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a lovely place to stay when in the area. If you are after a place to stay that really add's to your experience of being in rural Wales than look no further. Set in the quiet Valley with great views all around and an excellent selection of Ales and Local ciders on tap this is paradise.

The grub in the pub is excellent, with several locally sourced options. All of which are very tasty. Breakfast is fantastic and the rooms very comfortable. The wood burning fireplace in the pub is a wonderful addition creating a very nostalgic atmosphere for some evening pints.
With lots of outdoor recreation opportunities (mountain bike trails and plenty of walking trails) available nearby The Royal Oak is an excellent base from which to explore this fantastic little corner of Wales.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanBrassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelbyrne, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for sharing your pictures with us. I must admit the pie looks great! We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the area in the not so distant future maybe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Although I did not stay at The Royal Oak, I ate there every night with a friend, The food is superb, freshly cooked, reasonably priced and good choice. Home made food that really does make your mouth water, from the soups and starters right through to the desserts.
Reals ales are plentiful and well kept. Lovely homely feeling with large wood burner.
Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillednsorted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We camped just down the road from the Royal Oak on a weeks motorbiking holiday. Welcome was always fantastic Real Ales superb food outstandingly good home cooked and fresh.
Really appreciated the friendliness of Christopher and Rachel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
16.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
Gwarllwyn Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Rhandirmwyn, Llandovery SA20 0NY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Inn Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing