We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FABULOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llandovery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Llandovery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Machynlleth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The girls and I visited James & Sarah again recently, it was great to catch up and see the boys again. As usual hospitality was stunning - would thoroughly recommend this wonderful place to anyone. We are already planning a trip back...this time we popped into Carmarthen for film/retail therapy and had a fabulous time on a jet boat around Ramsey Island out of St.Davids - would recommend that too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
68
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and I have just come home from spending a few days at Sarah and James' wonderful B&B and I wanted to write a review to let you all know how great our stay was. Sarah and James were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was lovely, very clean and I slept very well in the bed and the view from our room overlooking the courtyard was delightful (and it didn't rain!). The shower was fantastic and didn't steam up the mirror! (one of life's irritations). The breakfast was very tasty, my daughter's favourites were the eggs and fried bread and I liked a full English! I would not hesitate in recommending Sarah and James' B&B and will be staying again in the future. Thank you!

Room Tip: I did have a look through the windows into the other rooms and they all looked wonderful and very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The only thing we could find wrong was that we had to leave!!!!! :) James and Sarah are perfect hosts! Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the location is beautiful and our breakfast was lovely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j195807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towyfisherman, Owner at Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very important to us that guests have a good time at Henllys and getting positive feedback makes it worth while. Thank you again.
Kind regards,
James and Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Springs, AL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here in July 2011 and have looked forward to returning. The historic stone farm setting is idyllic, the accommodations are top-class, the breakfasts were excellent and the warm, friendly hospitality of Sarah and James is unsurpassed. They welcomed us like long-time friends and made our recent two-day visit feel special. Before our arrival James had booked us a reservation at Neuadd Fawr Arms so we would be guaranteed our dinner at another favorite.
We definitely will be returning again to our favorite B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobKonecny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towyfisherman, Owner at Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. It was a pleasure to see you both again and we enjoyed our chats over breakfast. We're also glad the Neuadd Fawr was as good as you remembered. If you should come back to Wales it would be great to see you both again.
Kind regards,
James and Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This has to be the most tranquil B & B I have ever stayed at. The rooms are absolutely spotless, very well appointed and very comfortable. James and Sarah are very friendly and are happy to point you in the right direction for places for activites or good pubs & restaurants.
The peace and quiet has to be experienced to be believed. There is a small lake a few hundred metres away surrounded by meadows and woodland, a perfect location for spotting wildlife.

I cannot praise Henllys enough, looking forward to next years stay already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towyfisherman, Owner at Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and hope the show was a success for you. You'll be very welcome again next year.
Kind regards,
James and Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in July and it was perfect. We didn't know the area so selected this particular hotel based on Trip Advisor's reviews and not only were we not disappointed but we were exceptionally impressed. The rooms are accessed from a courtyard, they are decorated and furnished to a high standard and are extremely comfortable. The ensuite is clean and functional. The most outstanding feature of this B&B are the owners, they work hard and seem to genuinely care that you have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. They get the balance just right between being friendly and available but not overpowering and intrusive. During our stay we visited Tenby & Saundersfoot, 1hr away, and the following day went to Aberystwyth again 1 hour away. There are several eateries in Llandovery and nearby villages, but I would suggest you need a car.

Room Tip: Don't worry, there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towyfisherman, Owner at Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you both and we are very grateful for your kind comments. We think the rooms with their own 'front doors' work well for our guests and the courtyard is a lovely place to sit in a summers evening. Thank you. Kind regards, James and Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

On our trip through Wales we found this beautiful place and stayed there for a couple of nights. The friendly and lovely hosts, James and Sarah, made our time perfect.
Cozy rooms, quiet atmosphere in a marvellous landscape. Ideal spot to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbuechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towyfisherman, Owner at Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was so kind of you to take the time and write a review for us. Thank you for your lovely comments, and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Britain. We hope to see you again one day. Kind regards, James and Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
11.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.4 mi away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#1 of 13 in Llandovery
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ffrwdfal Country House
Ffrwdfal Country House
#3 of 5 in Llanwrda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast

Property: Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cilycwm, Llandovery SA20 0EW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Llandovery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer bed and breakfast accommodation, also picnics, lunches and evening meals with prior arrangement. Henllys Estate Bed and Breakfast offers a wonderful escape from the outside world - surrounded by idyllic countryside close to the Brecon Beacons, we have over 30 acres of woods , a lake, fields and nature reserve to explore and you will be ensured of a warm and friendly welcome. We can offer a wide range of holistic treatments and yoga classes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henllys Estate Bed & Breakfast Llandovery, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing