We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bottom of the barrel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bottom of the barrel.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the WORST Red Roof Inn I have ever stayed in. Door lock did not work right, carpet filthy, mattress worn out, lumpy pillows, bathroom fixtures broken and just a terrible room atmosphere. Outside ice machine was not working because management said "it was too cold outside." I checked out after one day never to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxman9922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    42
    23
    39
See reviews for
59
60
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Needed an overnight stay on a long trip. Definitely wouldn't have stayed here more than that. The rooms smelled like smoke and the sheets were stained yellow. There were cigarette burns in the blankets. Stray hairs in the beds and in the bathroom. One of the sealed plastic cups had a lipstick stain on it. I've stayed in some crummy hotels on the road, but this was one of the grossest. When we woke up excited to leave, there were a dozen armed cops raiding the building. Thankfully nothing went down that I could tell but I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ok I stayed at this place some time ago and forgot to do a review sorry to those that stayed here since that time. I will start here I and my compaion at the time drove from Fl just to do a road trip that was are thing. It was late about 2am and we both were super sleepy so decided to do something we never do stay at a cheap hotel, we were at odds between this dump and the Super8 just across the street. This place looked ok at 2am so we said what the hell lets just stay here. BAD MOVE!!!!!!! She checked us in and said I'm not to sure about this I was driving all day so I was sleeping in the car when this happened. So we get in the room and look at each other like OMGosh WTF! It smelled not bad but looked gross but had a cigarette oder we dont smoke though. Good thing we had blankets and pillows in the car because it would have given us nightmares to sleep on that bed. We even took shower with socks and flip flops on, yes that bad. Then we see two young kids next door I from a big city so i know what was up they were for sale to say it in a nice way(if you can). Other then that Memphis was great next time I'll spring for the Peabody, hopefully with same company.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingFatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed here on at least a half dozen times, maybe more. It is a reasonable overnight flop house. It is basic. There are two room types, we prefer the 'business class' which has a little more room and amenities. The pet policy is really what keeps bringing us back. We don't usually take advantage of the Cracker Barrel restaurant, but opt for the nearby Starbucks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
330 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Red Roof Inn East Sycamore View, Memphis:
     Can You Expect Red Roof Inn Memphis East To Pick Up The Garbage for $55.65? 8/17/12

    We decided to stay cheap in East Memphis. We checked into room 144 and didn’t expect much for only $55.65 for 3 adults and 2 pets. There wasn’t any guest laundry. There wasn’t any CP breakfast in the lobby in the morning. And ridiculously enough they provided only a small purse pack of Kleenex instead of a standard box like most motels. They didn’t even have any sheer drapes but only one set of dark curtains to block out the sun. But even for that cheap price I expected basic sanitation. It’s bad enough that they provided only one trash can in the room to most motels two cans. But outside the room the garbage can at the end of the sidewalk was overflowing. When we checked in we asked them to pick it up. Two hours later it was still overflowing. I called and asked again. Finally half an hour later did they deign to pick it up and give their guests somewhere to throw their trash.
P.S.  The hotel room was old and cheap. They didn’t empty the garbage can outside near our room. The carpet was torn in several places. It was dangerous, especially near the door. You could trip over it. The floor was sloped and not perfectly flat. It was disorienting, especially at night time. It wasn’t a place you’d want to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed @ the red roof on Shelby oaks on 12/7. The outside & location looked good! From the start we had issues , we were charged a higher price than quoted, in turn the receptionist had to correct & chg our card 3 Times, in turn tying up those funds for 7 business days. Enter the non smoking room & could've sworn it was smoking.. The air quality was horrible & the room had a dust smell to it. The room had dirty towels, dirty micro fridge (check out the pics). It appeared that this room hadnt been cleaned in months!! The next morning we immediately checked out(planned a 3 night stay). The receptionist showed no emphaty & simply said call the mgr Monday, nothing I can do!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_runna_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel and room is very old, dirty and outdated. The carpet was very dirty, rumpled, torn and smelly. The sheet on the bed was turned inside out thus, making me think that it was not changed from the previous guest. The tub water drained very slowly. There weren't a coffee pot, frig, microwave, iron or hair dryer in the room. As I traveled back home and passed many Red Roof Inns, it seems that all of them looked the same. The hotels are in need of a good pressure washing and painting. I WILL NOT sleep at another Red Roof Inn!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#69 of 136 in Memphis
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gardentree Hotels
Gardentree Hotels
#70 of 136 in Memphis
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#75 of 136 in Memphis
60 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn - Memphis / Bartlett
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Memphis East

Property: Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Address: 6055 Shelby Oaks Dr, I-40 at Sycamore View Boulevard, Exit #12, Memphis, TN 38134-7400
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Memphis East 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn’s courteous staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating and a large, flat screen TV. All rooms offer free WiFi and select rooms offer microwave & refrigerator (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea available 24 hours in the lobby. Guest laundry facilities are now available. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing