We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT'S A SHAME OWNERS DO NOT CARE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Ranked #62 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“IT'S A SHAME OWNERS DO NOT CARE!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Manager and staff are great!! Unfortunately they are in a boat with many old old holes and sinking fast! The landscaping is excellent, and it is obvious there is a serious efford to maintain this property by the staff. Unfortunately matresses that feel like early 1965 rejects(horrible), carpets that have been cleaned so many times one can read a newspaper through it, simply a matter where manager and staff have been abandoned by ownership, which makes no sense.

Room Tip: until renovated...avoid like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Memphis East, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are happy to announce that we are receiving a much needed renovation and that you will be extremely satisfied with our future results. Everything from the carpets to the furniture is being replaced. Also, you will be able to enjoy new tv's and a brand new look all the way down to the lobby! Every guest will be able to recieve the nice, updated, stay they deserve while still recieving excellent customer service from our staff. We hope to see you in the future to celebrate our new look. Thank you for your time and honored patience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    42
    23
    39
See reviews for
60
60
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The floor was dirty. If you walked on the carpet barefoot, it was so dirty it turned your feet black. The room was not cleaned one of the days we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We paid about $54 for our stay at this particular hotel, a good deal for a city full of $75-250 hotels, but you have to remember that you get what you pay for. I have stayed at better hotels for the money. Also have stayed at 4* for the same price using priceline. we stayed May 25. We went to check in and there was 5 other people in front of me checking in but the front desk person was not there. About 20 min later she showed up saying she had to clean rooms because housekeeping did not do a good job and did not clean all the rooms. She gave room keys and told everyone to ckeck the room first and see if it was cleaned. Our room was cleaned but the The beds were rather uncomfortable and sagged in the middle. I know you get what you pay for but not this kind of of crap. The bed was so bad I slept on the floor. Also the security guard did nothing to the 4 guys setting on chairs outside the room drinking beer with the car stero loud. This place is a dump better to stay across the street at least there you get a full breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, 5/12-13. There were many hotels to choose from, but with our experience with other Red Roof Inn's that we've stayed at, we selected this Red Roof. We were disappointed and felt the quality of Red Roof has declined. But, you get what you pay for. Our room was ~$50 per night. The room and furniture needs a good makeover. The TV was old and the sound could not be adjusted lower. The towels needed replacing. The location was good though. Convenient to get to all the Memphis sights. Right across the parking lot was a Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TLK0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We paid about $50 for our stay at this particular hotel, a good deal for a city full of $75-250 hotels, but you have to remember that you get what you pay for.

The beds were rather uncomfortable and sagged in the middle - usually a symptom of having not been replaced after a few years of heavy use. The rest of the room was just as used and tired. Our particular room smelled a bit like smoke, but it wasn't beyond tolerable. Most of it was clean (though certain pieces of furniture - such as the chairs - were dirty and could definitely stand to be replaced). Television selection was very limited, though HBO and the more popular channels were available (albeit on a TV straight out of the 90's).

Long story short, this is a hotel that is in 10-15 driving distance from a lot of things in Memphis, making its price and the accessibility to the interstate one of the better deals you'll find. That being said, you get what you pay for with the ~$50 price tag. I could see recommending it to someone just needing a place to crash for a night or two or for tired/weary travelers. Beyond that? Do yourself a favor and cough up the extra $20-30 for a nicer set of accommodations.

Room Tip: Always ask to see rooms first. Check the A/C, the smell of the room, the cleanliness, and - most imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was not an expensive Hotel, I believe it was $58 dollars a night, but I expect a little more than we received. The hotel exterior was nice, and seemed to be in a good part of town, but the rooms were worn out. This place doesn't seem to have been updated in a while and it was not clean. We asked for a Non-Smoking room and the room definitely was marked that way on the door, but everything in the room smelled like smoke and their were burn marks everywhere. It was like someone was having a contest. There also were not any washcloths in the room. I have stayed in some really cheap placed, but they always have wash cloths. The bed was fine, the shower worked well and the air-conditioner did it's thing(a little noisy). This room filled the bill for what we need(cheap hotel in Memphis), but it definitely wasn't impressive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East
0.1 mi away
Gardentree Hotels
Gardentree Hotels
#68 of 136 in Memphis
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#67 of 136 in Memphis
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#72 of 136 in Memphis
61 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#55 of 136 in Memphis
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Memphis East

Property: Red Roof Inn Memphis East
Address: 6055 Shelby Oaks Dr, I-40 at Sycamore View Boulevard, Exit #12, Memphis, TN 38134-7400
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Memphis East 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn’s courteous staff ensures guests feel confident, significant, and delighted. When you check in, check out the fantastic amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms feature comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable seating and a large, flat screen TV. All rooms offer free WiFi and select rooms offer microwave & refrigerator (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee & tea available 24 hours in the lobby. Guest laundry facilities are now available. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing