We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Nashville, United States
1 review
“Avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you have a choice - avoid this hotel. The room was a very nice size with plenty of space since it was missing the chair that used to be by a lamp in the corner of the room. The chair was probably taken away because it's impossible to read anything after dark. The entire room had three lightbulbs. Each bulb seemed to be 40 watts. So the "reading lamp" between the two beds had a single low wattage bulb. In order to see the coffee pot and avoid spilling water my husband had to use the flashlight app on his cell phone. Of course the dim lights might be deliberate in order to keep customers from seeing that the room really needed a deep cleaning. As I said, try to avoid this experience. I've never written a poor review for any hotel before so I'm really not extremely critical but I thought I should warn other potential customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Michaela,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness and appointment of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping and facilities teams so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    541
    377
    178
    105
See reviews for
298
560
80
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week staying in the King Suite. Huge room for same price as normal rooms in other downtown hotels. Wouldn't call it spotless (very dusty), but clean enough to feel comfortable. Staff was nice, valets were quick, cookies are great! Breakfast at buffet in TGIF (in the hotel) was okay, go with the made-to-order omelette, very good and friendly cook. If you need space- definitely recommend this size room (we were 733), 2 bathrooms, 2 TV sets, doors to separate rooms for privacy, paid $179. Room service ends at 11, which isn't convenient for late nights out. While The Peabody is across the street(west), the opposite corner (east) is sketchy, making the hotel look questionable when driving up- but no need to worry. I'll stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had to wait 3 hours for room to be ready. Sat in lobby waiting last hour and a half and watched as guests arrived and were given their room keys. Very few were waiting after we arrived. Once we received our room it was a handicapped room which we were never told we would have. At this point too tired to complain so we dealt with it. The exercise facilities did not have wipes or anything to clean off equipment and wasn't well kept up. On a positive note the staff was very friendly, helpful and answered all of our questions with a smile. We were helped with booking a tour, getting to Graceland, suggestions on restaurants. The hotel is in a very good location. we were across the street from the historic Peabody hotel(to see the duck walk!) and about 5 minutes to Beale Street and the FedEx forum where we were attending a sporting event.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Norton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Location is excellent. Karen, at the front desk, was most accomodating and went out of her way to insure that the room was acceptable. Because of her, and her helpfulness and professionalism, I will stay there on my next visit to Memphis.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank traveler0000043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,284 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights and it was a pleasant experience. We were in room 221. It was noisy due to it's location near a main street. The others in our party were in 203 and 215 and did not have noise issues. The hotel does provide ear plugs. Our room was clean but a bit worn. It was very large and the bed was comfortable. Lots of drawers but bring extra hangers. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The cookies were good. The location is close to Beale Street, the FedEx Forum, National Civil Rights Museum, Sun Records, the trolley and I'm sure much more. The whole area felt safe. Fun party atmosphere on Beale Street. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid 221. Ask the staff to help put you in a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Recently we stayed at the Doubletree Downtown for the AAC tournament. We found that the hotel was in a great location - only a short walk to the FedEx Forum and Beale Street. We worked with hotel personnel to obtain reservations for a bus tour of the city which was amazing, folks working the front desk were friendly and extremely helpful to the point that I needed to print out my boarding passes and she allowed me to use her computer as the hotel computers would not print. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I think I had the best night sleep on those beds. I utilized the workout facility. The machines were not clean which was bothersome to me! That is the only issue we had! Overall great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson. ms, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is a good price for the area if you are using a government rate. They only problem we had with this stay was that the rooms were not ready for check-in. We had to wait over an hour. Other than that, it was a good stay. The valet has great service as well. The room was really nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing