We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Pearland, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel was located right on Union Street, and was walking distance to many of the downtown attractions and Beale Street. The on-property restaurant is a TGI Fridays. The room was comfortable, although the lighting was fairly dim. The lobby is open and modern, the rooms were updated, and clean. Parking is valet, and was $22/day, but it is downtown and parking is going to cost something no matter where you park. the front desk and bellhop/valet staff were extremely friendly and courteous, and were ready to provide information and recommendations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take great pride in the service we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    576
    411
    190
    112
See reviews for
328
600
83
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

At first glance, this hotel looks a bit shabby and rundown. The decor and color scheme takes you back to the 70's. However, the staff at the reception counter gave us a friendly welcome, and the warm chocolate chip cookie (provided by all Doubletree Hotels) just hit the spot after a long day's traveling. The staff was also very helpful and accommodating. They helped me apply for a Hilton Honors membership and helped us book a tour to Graceland.

Our room was large and clean despite the dated decor. The bed is also very comfortable. After settling in, we noticed that there was a guy playing the piano in the lobby. The music was nice and we sat for a while in the lobby enjoying the music and the cozy ambience it created.

The location is great. It is a short walk to Beale Street, the main attraction of downtown Memphis, with its many restaurants and bars. There is a Denny's close by, which serves a good breakfast. Peabody Hotel with its marching ducks is also a stone's throw away.

Wifi is free.

Overall, this hotel gives good value for money, since it is not very expensive. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating. Ware glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First my wife was forced to wait 30 minutes to check in at midnight because I was the person who reserved the hotels.com booking. While she waited, they said I had to call a 1-800 number to verify she was actually my wife. During this time there were highly intoxicated men rummaging about the lobby trying to talk with her. Secondly, the toilet had a large amount of previous hotel guest "waste" which greeted my wife with class. They "fixed" the problem the next morning, which included the toilet failing to flush our entire 5 day stay. Thirdly, our AC\HEATER stop working after 10-15 min of continual usage.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Jason,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. I have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with comfort and cleanliness. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Paragould
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great Hotel overall. Only 1 minor issue with the bathtub not fully draining during a shower. Very clean hotel/room. Felt very safe walking to and from hotel to Beale even after midnight. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the slow draining shower, but am very glad that you felt the hotel was very clean and safe. I have shared your comments with the team so that we can continue to get better and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff was nice and helpful, however the quality of the room was very disappointing. The room did not appear to have been vacuum or dusted in quite some time. The lighting was very dim, which made me nervous as I noticed more dirt when I would shine light onto the floor. The perimeter of the room was grey indicating massive amounts of dirt and dust. I stepped on numerous pieces of little garbage on the carpet. I found garbage behind my bed when I was trying to locate an outlet. There were used napkins, coffee creamer cups, guitar picks, etc. There was also coffee spills on the walls that nobody bothered to clean off. The bathroom floor was also dirty and dusty. There was also a bulb burnt out which made it difficult to get ready in the morning. Overall, I did not feel clean while I stayed here which would make me NOT return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to give us your candid feedback regarding your recent stay. A clean room is a basic necessity for a good stay and I am terribly sorry we let you down. Please know that your review has been discussed with the Team and we are working towards correcting the deficiencies. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Memphis, so that you can experience our commitment to guest satisfaction. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Doubletree frequently on business, and as so many have pointed out, it's the quality of the staff that sets this hotel apart. HH Diamond (and probably other levels too) receive free breakfast at Fridays and 2 drink coupons for a reception held Tues-Thurs evenings. Valet parking is expensive, but you can park in nearby parking decks for much less.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Stuart M,

Thank you so much for taking time give us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are honored to know that you have made us your go-to hotel in Memphis. We do take a lot of pride in the service we provide and as you mentioned, the staff does set us apart! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you're looking for a decent place to stay in Downtown Memphis that's within walking distance to Beale Street, I'd recommend this hotel. If you've rented a car, they only allow valet parking and the narrow driveway at the entrance can get extremely packed when leaving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bahati B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing