We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort next door to AutoZone Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Level Contributor
860 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Comfort next door to AutoZone Park”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had tickets for the last home game for the Memphis Redbirds. Doubletree was right across the street and 2 blocks from all the Beale Street fun. Friendly desk clerk found us a clean room for an early check in. Big comfy king bed with well appointed bathroom and bit desk and chair plus another big chair and flat screen tv. We were given vouchers for beer and wine happy hour as well as breakfast vouchers in on- site Fridays for my Hilton Honors membership. Of course their famous warm chocolate cookie upon check in. Valet parking was a little pricy ($22) but no place to park on street. Only problems were sporadic Internet wifi service in our room, but we were near an elevator. And the wall plug in bath was loose so my phone did not charge. All in all, a good stay and a great game...Redbirds won

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    550
    383
    179
    107
See reviews for
305
568
80
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! Great front desk and valet.. Everyone greets you with a smile and says hello! I love the location redbird stadium across the street and Beale Street around the corner! Very clean hotel... Go to Huey's on the corner to eat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSunIsYourFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the overall high qualities of this hotel, from its beautiful decor to the exceptional professionalism and service provided by it's employees. Form the moment I pulled up to the valet things went smoothly through out my stay. The 2 complimentary drinks in the lobby were a perfect way to take the edge off after a long days travel. It is also a short 2 block walk to the Beale Street entertaiment area. I will be sure to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Gene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located in downtown Memphis and convenient to legendary Beale Street, this hotel is right across the street from AutoZone baseball stadium. In the tastefully appointed lobby, you'll find the façade of a downtown building, not just recreated, but reconstructed. It serves as a backdrop for the talented pianist who plays a smorgasbord of selections in the evenings. The hotel is bright with glassed-in elevators and the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff - and I mean everyone from desk staff to valets to wait and cleaning staff is friendly and only-too-happy to answer any questions you might have or direct you as needed. Warm cookies await you upon arrival and their breakfasts are a great start to the day. Be sure to chat with Erica, the friendliest waitress ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Double Tree Hotel is nicely located opposite of the Memphis Baseball stadium and around the corner of the bar and restaurant district. However, it is quite loud and decent night sleep is rather difficult. In addition, forget about the pool - it is tiny and even worse the exit air of the TGI Fridays ends on the same level resulting in a very BBQ-like feeling when trying to swim. The rooms are quite good, the beds comfy. The service is rather slow but nice. Overall it is okay for a short stay but too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susi_0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Did not get the room I had reserved parking was not free and no where to park. The Hotel is nice and the staff was great only parking was a pain the cost was 27.00 a day. There was no parking around the hotel. What is nice at this hotel there is a lot of place to go eat at and have fun. The rooms and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is just two blocks from Beale Street and right across the street from the Autozone Park for baseball fans. I was impressed with the high level of customer service of the staff, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. It rained hard the night we stayed there but we were able to eat in the TGIFridays that is attached. Later we walked across the street to the Peabody Hotel. I assumed that the beer and wine bar set up in the lobby was for Hilton Honors members and went over and got a glass of wine. Then I was asked for a ticket, which I didn't have. After talking to the front desk staff member I found out that night's bar was for a special group. But the amazing thing was she gave me a ticket to take back to the lobby bar and never made me feel bad for my mistake. I really appreciated her reassuring attitude. The parking staff was friendly, quick, yet, didn't rush me in getting out if my car. It is often the little things that cause a customer to leave with a positive impression.

Room Tip: Our Room was on the Peabody side and there was a lot of noise from busses that were parked there, ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronetravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take a lot of pride in the great service we provide. I am so glad to hear that you thought that our Team provided "high level of customer service, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable". I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing