We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go to the hotel at about 1:30 in the afternoon, too early to check-in, we left our luggage to explore and find something to eat. When we get back there's a lobby full of folks checking in so we got in line, as well. Our room wasn't ready....what? Front desk attendant tells me, "You are a gold member and we are trying to keep you on the 10th floor, so your rooms isn't ready let me check on it." In the meantime others are continuing to check-in, uhh yeah. We sat for another 30 minutes or so and then were able to check-in. CRAZY! The rest of our stay was uneventful. Hotel location was close to Beale street, so we were able to walk, to resturants there. Rooms were nice. The breakfast at TGIF's was nice. There was wine and beer coupons given out for the manager's reception, I don't drink either but the drink specials at TGIF's were very good, $3 margaritas, mojitos, and lon island teas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    541
    377
    178
    105
See reviews for
298
559
80
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall our two night stay was great, although we had a bit of trouble getting in to our room. We arrived about 40 minutes before check in and understood when they said the room wasn't ready. At this point Alicia offered to put us on a list and call us when the room was available. We sat in the lobby and then about 3:05 (check-in time) we noticed that people were walking up to the front desk and immediately checking in...to say the least this annoyed us. I walked up to the front desk and told Miguel that we had been waiting and were a bit annoyed that we had not been called by Alicia when the rooms were obviously ready. Miguel was fantastic, apologized, and got us into our room very quickly. We were grateful for Miguel's professionalism at that point. The room itself was lovely and everything I expect from a Hilton Hotel. I will say that there weren't many plugs in the room and we had to unplug lamps and alarms so that we could charge our phones and computer, but that didn't really take away from the stay. In valet Brandon was also wonderful. We asked him to get a phone charger out of the car and he came back saying he had accidentally knocked some things out of the arm rest and wanted us to go through it with him so we would know he didn't break anything. This was a nice touch and was much appreciated. As I said, overall this was a great hotel and I will stay here again if I ever find myself in Memphis.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 6 and below open up to the lobby and therefore may be more noisy. We stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiberopticmoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The parking was expensive, but I got a great rate on the room so I can't complain. We parked the car when we got to the hotel and never needed it again until check out. The location is very convenient to everything downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your flattering comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad you had a great time. I will be sure to share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel when we went to the Memphis Redbirds. The location of this hotel was right across the street from the stadium. The staff was very friendly and the hotel very clean. Extremely happy with this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Momof3lads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a great time. The Redbirds are having a great season and I am thrilled that you could catch a game. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We drove to Memphis for a 3-day weekend. My friend found the Doubletree Hilton rate was good and booked it. It's in a great location, right across the street from the ballpark and the Peabody, and a couple blocks from Beale Street. The welcome from the staff was nice, especially with the warm chocolate chip cookie for everyone! (I didn't know that was a Doubletree staple!) The appearance of the hotel was nice inside the lobby (attached to a TGI Fridays). Our room was nice and comfortable. It's not perfect because it's an older hotel but we got a great discounted rate and were very happy. The bedding, drapes and décor made it very comfortable. It was very quiet there. They had Crabtree & Evelyn products in the bathroom. The only problem we had was with concierge service. I don't think there was one. We asked questions about shopping while our husbands play golf and didn't get much help. We asked where Sun Records Studio was and the valet pointed and said it was about a mile down the street. Well, it was a long walk but probably not a mile but we probably should NOT have walked it because it was a questionable area with graffiti and bars on windows, etc. There were four of us so it wasn't terrible (no one else was walking) but they should have offered a taxi or suggested a shuttle. Sun Records has their own shuttle so we rode that back. We went to the Peabody the next day to see the ducks and they had an excellent concierge service so we got information, she had directions/address cards all made up for different destinations, and she directed us to the back door where there were cabs lined up waiting!! So my friend and I took a cab to a shopping area and our husbands picked us up on their way back from golf. Overall for the price and comfort, this Doubletree was great! (Go to Rendezvous Ribs, a must, for lunch just a block down in an alley from the Doubletree & Peabody. VERY awesome ribs place with excellent dry ribs! On Beale St., go to BB King's Blues Club #1 for excellent food and awesome entertainment! #2 on Beale would be Silky O'Sullivans) We are empty nesters and had a great weekend. Beale Street is fun, not extremely clean, great entertainment & food, and the police presence was fantastic so we felt safe (on Beale St. but not necessarily outside that area). I would suggest going with a group for young people because there are ALOT of people, especially after 10 PM. I wouldn't want my daughter just going with a girlfriend.....needs to be with a larger group for safety. Beale St. closes at 3am. Most places close at 2.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynesters82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and your trip to Memphis. I am so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our lovely City and the hotel. We will use your comments to improve our services so that others are not disappointed as you were with our concierge services. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel for a nice rate that was close to Beale Street. This hotel was very clean, the rooms were nice, the employees were very courtious and helpful. I felt safe when walking to and from the hotel both day and night. I will stay here again when in Memphis and planning on going to Beale Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time. We are indeed very conveniently located in the heart of downtown. Thank you for your very nice comments regarding the staff and the hotel. I'll be sure to share your comments with the Team and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Got this from a hotwire deal so I paid less than the published price - and was very pleased with the hotel. The valets and receptionist were all friendly and helpful, and the lobby is really interesting. Large, clean rooms (the bathroom tub was a little older but still fine). Really comfortable bed. Walking distance to Beale street. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katastrophe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us! I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I appreciate your nice comments regarding the team and I will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing