We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Beale Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Winnie, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Beale Street”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were so happy to Priceline a hotel next to Beale Street. The DoubleTree is located just 2 blocks from the street full of restaurants and entertainment. The room was a little small and crowded but clean and the bed was very comfortable. We could not get our room to cool as we wanted - a cold front came through while we were there and could only get heat to come from the unit in the room & the unit is a little noisy-which we didn't mind because we prefer a humming noise as we sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bretmcbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    581
    415
    194
    113
See reviews for
335
606
83
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was one of the cheaper ones near Beale Street. The room was clean with everything I needed. The staff were friendly. On arrival my room wasn't ready so the girl on the front desk took my number and i was able to go out and she then called me when it was available. There was a pianist in the lobby in the evening which was nice. I parked in a public garage along the road which was $12 per 24 hours as opposed to the hotel's $22.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EB0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here to attend the Southern Heritage Classic. I always wanted to stay because it was downtown and close to everything. When I booked this year I decided to stay here rather than the Hampton Inn on Shady Grove. BIG MISTAKE!!!!!

The sockets were hanging out, looked like mold in the bathroom, broken blinds, the list goes on and on. I was very disappointed because when you walk in the lobby you think it's an awesome hotel until you get to your room!

If I had it to do all over again, I would've made better use of my Hilton points and stayed at another hotel and just made the drive.

Overall I was very disappointed as I usually love Hilton properties. But this time was an epic fail! Won't be staying here again or recommending it to anyone for their stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle21496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your time here for the classic. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. I apologize that you didn’t have an enjoyable experience. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights in DoubleTree. The room was nice and big. No complaints at all about that. Also the hotel itself is nice, with a beautiful lobby. The location is perfectly situated in downtown Memphis, at walking distance of Beale Street. It is a little on the expensive side though if you take into account that you have to pay for your breakfast separately (in an in-house TGI Fridays) and you have to use valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for three nights and got a good deal on the room through Priceline. The hotel is very well located and within walking distance to Beale Street, Main Street and other attractions such as the Gibson Guitar Factory and The Peabody Hotel (you must go and see the ducks!)

The valet staff were very friendly on arrival and explained that the valet parking cost $22 per night and you could take your car in and out as often as required. They also explained other parking options, as it was a weekend parking on the street was free until 8am on Monday morning. We didnt really want the hassle of finding a space and then having to move the car when the free parking expired so we took the Valet option and were very happy with it.

The lobby of the hotel is very spacious and pleasant, the staff at reception were friendly and helpful and the bonus is you receive cookies on check in which were delicious.

Our room was on the 10th floor and the elevators were pretty cool being glass fronted so you could see the lobby as you travelled up. Our room had two Queen beds and was spacious, my only comment would be that it was pretty dark, it only had a small window in the corner so there was not much natural light and we needed the lamps on all the time. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom was fine and had a good bath and shower and plenty of room.

My main criticism would be that the air conditioning was very noisy, after the first night we turned it off as it constantly woke us up, but even with ours turned off you could still hear the noise of the units in the other rooms.

Vending machines and ice were available close to the room and free wifi was available in the room.

The hotel has a TGI Friday's attached to it where you can eat breakfast and other meals, we did not eat in there so I can't comment on it.

I would stay in this hotel again at the right price and would perhaps ask for a room with more natural light.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is one block from Beale Street which is the best part of it. We were given the smallest room I've ever seen with very dirty furniture ..stains on the lamp shades and chairs, along with ratty, torn shower curtains. The hotel was overbooked, was the excuse I was given. Staff is friendly, but a bit too relaxed. I was disappointed in this hotel's rooms as usually Doubletree's tend to have much nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor; they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babschambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us in Memphis. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Great location and very nice large rooms, a little old and could use some repair. Interesting that our room did not have a luggage stand. When we inquired we were assured they would get us one, yet we never received one, so our luggage was on the floor for 2 days. Staff is very friendly especially the valet staff. Small things could use some work, sticking doors, running toilet etc. Would not stay there again, same on you Hilton.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing