We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location, very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our experience was 100% positive with the exception of the pool being closed. All the staff we encountered were friendly and our room was clean. It was as quiet as you could expect for a downtown property (I cannot imagine staying on Beale St!). We walked just about everywhere. And Main St. is only 2 blocks away so if you don't like to walk far you can hop the trolley just blocks away. It was in the mid 80s when we were there and we were shocked to find the pool closed but we never asked in advance it would be open. Perhaps that was our bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klthoestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and feedback on your recent stay with us in Memphis. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to conveniently see the city. I’m sorry that our pool was winterized and closed for the season. Our outdoor pool is open typically from Memorial day weekend through Labor Day. I know this is an amenity our guests look forward to and apologize for the disappointment. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again and experience all of the amenities you enjoy the next time you return to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is located two blocks from Beale Street. Has a TGI Fridays downstairs and located in right in the heart of downtown Memphis. The staff were incredibily friendly. Bed was absolutley comfortable. Really enjoyed my first stay in this city. In the morning, there is a buffet and made to order breakfast available. Was very happy with the accomadations. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your very nice comments regarding the hotel and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Location is excellent, checkin staff great, lobby gorgeous, but our room was pretty beat up (door took several tries to open the door, desk plug was broken, AC made a very loud clicking noise every time it came on, obvious water damage in bathroom, etc). I imagine it's tough keeping rooms nice to close to Beale.

Memphis is lovely. Hotel is just okay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that our staff and lobby made a good first impression and that our location was convenient for your stay. At our hotel, we know that the look and feel of our guestrooms is very important and we will keep your comments in mind as we look toward a future renovation. In the meantime we will continue to work to provide the best service and clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you’ll stay with us and tell us what you think about our improved guestroom experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in the Double Tree for Elvis Week. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. TJI Fridays is great for food, breakfast and evening meals are great. Looking forward to staying there again. Very central location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and the rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel with good location for dining and about two blocks from Beale Steet. Right across the street from Autozone Park and the Peabody complex. Staff is very friendly. We splurged and used Hilton Honors points to upgrade to a king suite which was amazing. Main bedroom was a basic Doubletree room with a large bath area and then the other part of the suite was another room that was converted in to a living room type area with two chairs, work desk, lamps, a second TV, another (smaller) bathroom and another closet. Sweet, could probably spend some time here comfortably. Loved the bed. Only confusing thing was there are also two entrance doors to the room, side by side but at right angles to each other, so you have to make sure both are locked and bolted when you're in the room. Coffee maker and hair dryer (two of them!) provided but no microwave, minifridge or safe in the room. The complimentary wi-fi is easy to access and reasonably fast for checking e-mail, the weather, news, etc. I would not want to try using it for work though. Air conditioning in room at night was very noisy. Breakfast buffet at adjoining TGI Fridays was standard breakfast fare but made to order omelet was outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnkclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghee A, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your very kind words regarding the hotel and the staff. I am glad you were able to upgrade to one of our suites. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Memphis.

Ghee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well cared for property with average to large rooms for this class of hotel. No restaurant but there is a Fridays in the same building which is open early for breakfast. $22 parking fee but park free on weekends and between 6 pm and 8 am weekdays on streets all around hotel. Walk to everything downtown from here. Safe location. Efficient staff. Decent value depending on the deal you find. Rack rates can be expensive but good deals can be found with a little effort. Our stay was just overnight but would work well for a several day stay. Right across the street from the baseball park and very close to basketball. Lives up to the high Hilton standard for a business class property.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank THEPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday to be close to Beale Street while passing thru town. Price reflects location on a weekend night. Valet parking was reasonable at $23, and location two blocks off Beale was good (it's next door to the Peabody).

Rooms were clean, but show a little wear. Television had broken screen and no replacements were available. Staff were all friendly.

A good Beale Street option.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#3 of 139 in Memphis
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $141 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing