We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #29 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location and price”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We attended a conference in Memphis and found the location of your hotel and price a great bargain. We were close to everything, the staff was courteous and our rooms clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    576
    411
    190
    112
See reviews for
328
600
83
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a great stay at hotel - we had a standard king room that was clean and quiet. The service staff was very attentive and helpful. It is an easy walk to Beale Street, good food and music. It is also next door to the Peabody Hotel, which allowed us to see the 5pm duck parade. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tell me this isnt so? This hotel should be in the top 5! I stayed here in June 2012 and it was amazing. Staff was friendly and the room was spacious. My wife adn I would walk to Beale Street and hang out and come back to the room and chill out. Very close to Beale Street. If you are going to party downtown and hang out this is the place you want to stay. P.S it is one of the lowest priced rooms in the area! Stay Here!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommending the hotel to others! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We lived our room and the location. The price was higher than I wanted but the best for the location. Then you're hit with parking fee, but all the hotels down here do that. Great hotel with best price for the area plus it is a Hilton hotel which have always been good to me.

We would stay here again as you almost can't beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is one of the better DoubleTree properties I've stayed at, although I'm not a big DoubleTree fan in general. I had a room on the top floor which was pretty nice. A few small issues with the room were the non-functioning window shade and the lack of any reading lights near the bed - could not read at night with dim lighting. The hotel is right across from the Redbirds park (AAA baseball) - I attended a game which was fun. Not far from Beale Street. Breakfast was at the attached TGI Friday which was fine.

The property is expensive (over $200) however and they have a $22/nt parking charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollingStone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one week at the Doubletree. The rooms were nice and pretty much sound proof for goodnite sleep. Had no problems with cleanliness of the room. Everything downtown is close to this hotel which also has a TGI Friday's in the first floor. Only setback: no self parking and the valet gets pretty crowded at times so the wait might be longer than expected.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are much larger and corner king bed rooms have less walking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elimuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Visited Memphis June 4-6, 2012 and Doubletree by Hilton Memphis Downtown had the perfect location for fun on Beale Street, being only a couple of blocks walk down Union Street. The lobby was impressive and the staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was a small corner room overlooking the AutoZone baseball park. The room was comfortable but maid service wasn't the best. Bathroom floor was not clean and towels were not replaced. One drawback is no self-parking, only valet, which is $22 per night. The pool on the 2nd floor (outside) was small and less than inviting. The hallways on 7th floor were very warm and we were not aware of a reason for it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagsmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping team so that we can pay special attention to ensure the bathrooms are properly cleaned and items restocked. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
909 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing