We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Singing the Blues on this Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No Singing the Blues on this Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I surprised my wife with a trip to Memphis for our 4th wedding anniversary. It was a place we both had been wanting to visit. We had a lot of places we wanted visit so, we wanted a hotel that was near most of the tourist attractions. The downtown Doubletree Hotel was the perfect hotel to stay in. It was on a few blocks from Beale St and surrounding attractions. It was only a short driving distance from all the other places we wanted to visited. The Hotel was also very clean within the room and in other parts of the hotel. The only thing that was a problem was the ice machine that never got fixed the 4 days we were there. We mentioned it twice to the front desk, but still had to keep going to other floors to get ice. Also he computers in the business room were also not in working order, but the front desk did happily print our boarding passes. Other than that, it was good experience staying there and when we return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBrumfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    542
    377
    178
    105
See reviews for
298
561
80
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel needs some updating. The coffee in the room was great. Very comfortable beds and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lullu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree in early June, and will stay again in the future. The rooms are very spacious and has extremely comfortable beds. Only two blocks from Beale Street, the Doubletree is in an ideal location. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend staying here when visiting Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aus_Traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

a really nice and central place to stay, just around the corner of the overhyped "Peabody Hotel", great alternative :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marielito76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDTDowntown, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Memphis soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Hope Pintado
Sr. Catering Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I took my boyfriend to Memphis for his 30th birthday and we stayed here. It was great and we'd definitely stay here again! The hotel is very clean and the young woman at the front desk was extremely helpful and nice. She gave us so many ideas of what to do and eat while we were there, even though we were checking in late at night. It was adjacent to a TGIFridays, which was cool, and across the street from the Peabody so I could see the ducks, and across the other street from the Autozone Park so you can see a game easily while you're there. It's a very short walk to everything in downtown Memphis so I parked the car and never had to touch it. The only thing I wished it had was a small refrigerator in the room, and maybe some firmer pillows. I had no trouble sleeping at all but my manfriend needed some better pillows. Valet parking was required, and a little expensive, but overall, everything was great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sappycg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDTDowntown, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Memphis soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Hope Pintado
Sr. Catering Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

The hotel is located a few blocks from Beale street, so the location is great. The hotel is clean but the rooms are a little noisy. The hotel has a small pool and free internet although you have to pay for parking and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDTDowntown, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Memphis soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Hope Pintado
Sr. Catering Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Here for 1 night of partying on Beale St.

The staff was wonderful and the room was clean and spacious. I will stay here again the next time I decide to go to Memphis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 247HardWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Address: 185 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Downtown Memphis entertainment district. DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown has the harmonious blending of modern and historic styles and offers guests the comforts of home as well as the excitement of the Memphis Downtown scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Doubletree Memphis
Memphis Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing