We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Chillicothe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you want a hotel close to downtown, this isn't it. But it is a nice, clean choice near the airport. Plenty of convient parking. Staff we encountered were polite and helpful. However, phone didn't work to call front desk...or they just didn't answer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Hotel Memphis for your recent visit to our area. We do regret if you encountered any difficulties with the phone in your room and we wish we had the opportunity to address this concern at the time of your visit. We are grateful for your comments and hope you'll choose to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    165
    117
    74
    56
See reviews for
124
121
27
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed overnight at the same time as some sports tournament so the hotel was full of teenage boys. This made the common areas and pool pretty unwelcoming. There were no luggage carts available when we checked out.

The lobby was nice but all the furnishings in the rooms are not modern. Elevators are very old and slow. TVs are not flatscreen so they come with a giant entertainment center. The toilet and tub are in a closet.

Computer was down at check in so the clerk actually wrote my credit card info down and I assume everyone else's and kept it behind the counter.

Breakfast was included but closes at 9 in the morning. Seems like the hotel doesn't want you to have breakfast there. Actually discussed this with other guests while waiting for the slow elevator.

I noticed that there is a security gate and high fences around the parking lot but by car was not violated during the stay, so that's good.

Room Tip: Less stairs to climb if your room is on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Generic_Name_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We truly appreciate your review. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered during your overnight visit, as we regret if disruptions from other guests impacted your time with us. It is disappointing to know that we did not meet your expectations in every way and we hope you will allow us the chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am spending part of my vacation here and I am having great time. People are so nice, friendly and helpful.
I had some problems on the beginning.Thanks to wonderful Mr. Anthony Adams, he helped me.
He didn't just solve the problems, he show me that him and hotel staff really care for their guests.
I felt like at my home.
Love Memphis

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Learning that you felt right at home at The Hotel Memphis is a wonderful compliment to us all. Thank you for your kind recognition of our staff. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyed my stay the wifi was less than desirable. And as said the front desk staff was very rude. But I ask a lot of question and there's a couple investors on site and they wanna make it happen and they listen! I think this wil become a very nice hotel and I'll will stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind and encouraging comments regarding your stay at The Hotel Memphis. We are happy that you enjoyed a nice visit and hope any inconveniences that you may have encountered were minimal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pine Key, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Me and my family stayed here this past weekend until Tuesday for a sporting event. The rooms are small and outdated (older model T.V.) We practically had to beg someone to clean our room each day. We would leave in the morning and return around 2:00- 3:00 and the room wouldn't be cleaned. Once calling the front desk and talking to the housekeeping supervisor it would take another 20-30 mins for them to come clean the room. Ask for change for their washing and dryer was told to wait 15 mins as the person that could provide change wasn't available. After approx. 45 mins ended up going to the store and getting change from there.The vending machine on our floor was out of order, the outside pool was closed, the ATM in the lobby was out of paper, computers down on check out date yet to receive a receipt of our stay. The rooms was clean good when they finally did it. We travel alot with our children with sports and have stayed at many different hotels but never here this wasn't a good experience and we won't EVER stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lustert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
While we appreciate your review, we are disheartened to learn that your experience did not reflect the high standards of service we have set for our hotel. On behalf of our staff, I hope you'll accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced. We truly regret that we fell below your expectations and we hope you will someday allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst 3.5 stars hotel I ever had and souls be rated as 2.5 or 2. Lobby look nice but everything is dated. Elevator cannot show the floor you click and need to wait forever even they have 3 elevators. The room is really unbelievable. The desk and table is oiled. If you take a 5 min shower, the water will fill half of the tube. There is no bottle water provide in the room as a 3.5 stars hotel. Moreover, they claim to have a free wifi but all you get is the internet which have difficulty to open google page. This hotel also full of children which means you had better bring your own ear plugs.
I will never come back and it seems like Marriott makes a right decision.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Although we greatly appreciate your feedback, we regret to learn of your disappointing experience at our hotel. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us, as we rely on our guest feedback to let us know how we can improve. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences. Rest assured, we are passing your review along to our management team for further review. We hope you'll someday allow us another chance to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our housekeeper (Alicia) was outstanding. The 2nd shift Front dest clerk was rude, she looked at another staff and rolled her eyes directing it towards a guest. Other than that everyone else was great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moore332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
While we are happy to read your kind remarks regarding our housekeeping staff, we regret any inconsistencies in our level of service. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences and that you'll choose to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
2.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#26 of 136 in Memphis
965 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing