We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay while passing through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while passing through”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean. Devin at the front desk was very friendly. Free breakfast. We got a great deal on Hotwire, so we were very happy with the value of the hotel. Gated parking lot. It's near 78, so it was perfect while passing through on our way to Florida

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
It was a pleasure to accommodate you at The Hotel Memphis. We are glad that our location worked out so well for your trip. We are always happy to learn when we are able to meet our guests' expectations and we hope you'll visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    161
    115
    74
    56
See reviews for
121
114
28
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The room was average, the bathroom in the room was not as clean and functional as I would have liked (the drain plug for the tub did it work). They tried to charge us $10 for breakfast (quality well below average compared to large franchise inns). The name indicates "Downtown" but the location is anywhere near downtown Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunPuppyRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your guest perspective. While we are located just a short distance from many of the Memphis attractions, we do regret any confusion or inconveniences that you may have experienced with our location. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to The Hotel Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Former Marriott hotel. Still being maintained well. Not the best of areas in Memphis but it is fenced, gated and well lit. Rooms are nice and the lobby and other ares in the hotel are clean. I felt safe and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive remarks regarding your recent visit with us. We are delighted to know that you are planning to return and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Memphis in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the last night this hotel was known as Marriott Memphis SE (mid-late 2013). When checking out, I asked what changes might take place as they literally were changing logos that day.

Supposedly same dependable Marriott quality, but with free breakfast and internet. They already have free parking so I was looking forward to trying it again. Having just left there, I can report that parking and internet is in fact free, but the breakfast is only free "if you pay a qualifying rate" (a high rate) or $10.

The linens are Marriott nice, bathroom was nice, but carpet and door in my room was badly in need of replacement. A bit jaded by the free breakfast experience: I go out of my way to stay at Holiday Inn Express because there is no "did you pay a qualifying rate" experience. This place is ok, but I don't think I would go out of my way for it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gobige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback and for your loyalty in our hotel. We are disappointed to know that we were unable to fully meet your expectations of your visit and apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced with our breakfast. We value your feedback and will share your comments with the appropriate members of our staff. We hope we'll have the chance to welcome back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My family really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was a very welcoming atmosphere. We appreciated the warm greeting from Mahogany and Keisha at the front desk, the personalized service from Dallas Payne and the fantastic cocktails from Raquel. The employees seemed to take a real interest in how we were enjoying our trip to town and our stay at the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to be in Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Memphis. We will certainly share your encouraging remarks with the specific staff members that you've mentioned. Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us and we hope you'll plan another visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the hood. But it is a good location in the hood. Close to freeway and lots of food. The hotel is very clean except for the windows and I would stay here again. The hotel is completely surrounded buy a huge black gate. This makes me feel much better about leaving my car here. Good stay for the rate.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and guest perspective. We greatly appreciate that you’ve shared your comments regarding our windows, as we will be passing them along to the head of our housekeeping department. We are delighted to know that your recent visit has inspired a return stay at The Hotel Memphis and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

When you walk into the lobby you think it's going to be a really nice place. The lobby is great as is the fitness center. However the rooms are not up to standard . The walls are thin and you can be kept up if your neighbors are watching tv or just talking. The doors slam when closing and till 230 am they kept slamming on out floor. The room I was in smelled very musty and had a tv from the 1980s. The wall paper was peeling and the sink kept backing up. The bed itself was very good but the noise and smell made this a very tough stay. I can see why the reviews vary. Had my room not smelled and the neighbors not so loud you could deal with the old tv and backed up sink and sleep on a good bed and enjoy a great workout in the morning on site. But my experience was not good at all. Too bad cuz if they fixed this place up it could be a great place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We value all feedback from our guests and greatly appreciate your detailed review, as it helps us to continually improve our standards. On behalf of our staff, I'd like to extend my apologies if your experience with us fell below your expectations. I assure you that we are working hard every day to make the necessary improvements to our property. We deeply regret that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion and we hope you will someday allow us the opportunity to impress you during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#25 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! As we embark on our multi-million dollar renovation to transform into the newest member of the Crowne Plaza family of hotels, we appreciate your patience and understanding. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing