We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel was very convenient for us traveling through on I-40. The front desk staff were very friendly, although very busy. Some help at the front desk during peak time would not go amiss. Our room was comfortable. They made an effort to spruce up the older rooms a little bit. It was also very quiet on the upper floors (you can specify floor preference at check-in). The only disappointment was the breakfast. They made it sound like a fancy buffet, but it is only like other hotel breakfasts. Had they not hyped the breakfast, we would have been pleased with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We greatly appreciate your honest feedback regarding our breakfast and are disappointed to learn that we were not able to impress you with this service. We are happy that our guests find convenience in our location when traveling through on I-40 and we hope to welcome you back to The Hotel Memphis again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 530 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Gated entry- great; Front Desk- good; Atmosphere- terrific; beds very comfy- excellent; price- phenomenal; military/veteran deal supporter- superb! They are doing some upgrades but that wasnt a hinder. I like the associations they have; a college workshop and church service were taking place on Sunday. I wasnt informed about a breakfast, so maybe I missed out on that. Plenty of restaurants in the immediate area, a bar/restaurant on site; the location was good. :( I'll be staying again.... !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to learn that you appreciate so many aspects of our hotel and we deeply regret if you were not made aware of our breakfast in Blue Shoe Bar & Grill. We hope you'll have the chance to dine with us during your future visit to The Hotel Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were greatly surprised when we arrived to a gated hotel!! The staff was very nice, and the lobby was very clean and welcoming!!! The breakfast was good!! The only two complaints I have are, one of the elevators was broken and the two that did work were extremely slow, and the carpet in the room was coming up I'm some places, just needs to be stretched out. We will defiantly stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are thrilled to learn that we were able to pleasantly surprise you with our services and amenities at The Hotel Memphis. We appreciate that you've shared the positives of your stay, as well as the areas that fell short of your expectations. We have notified the appropriate departments regarding our carpet and appreciate that you chose to address this concern with us, as we always want our accommodations to look their best for our guests. We regret if any of our elevators were not operating properly at the time of your stay and appreciate your patience and understanding. We are working hard to improve this area of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked our room on Hotel Tonight. Very good deal for the price we paid. It is an aging hotel, but the rooms were clean & the staff's customer service was first rate. Did not realize that a complimentary breakfast was included until we checked in. The breakfast selection was quite good & the coffe was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your warm remarks regarding our complimentary breakfast and attentive service at The Hotel Memphis. We are quite pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are happy to have been able to pleasantly surprise you with our accommodations and amenities and we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Was very worried about what I would walk into booking this hotel "blind" via Hotwire. I'm a former Memphis resident, so I knew the area of town wasn't the best, but I didn't mind. I wouldn't suggest this hotel for first time tourists wanting to experience the Memphis they see on TV. Nice, professional staff. Basic room. No flat screens...tube TV's from the early 2000's. Carpet in the hallways could be taken up in the future. Not sure if anyone thourougly cleaned before I arrived. Dust on bathroom shelving and saw hair stuck on the counter and tub. Water temperature never really got hot. I stayed two nights and too showers at times most people are sleep. If you're not hard to please and just need somewhere to sleep this is the place for you. After a certain time you need your room key to get into the gate entrance of the hotel. Because of personal tastes, I will not say again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your honest and thorough review of our hotel, as we value all of the guest feedback that we receive. We'd like to take this opportunity to apologize if any area of your stay did not meet or exceed your expectations. With our convenient location to the many attractions in Memphis, many of our guests and first-time visitors are excited and eager to explore the area. We are disappointed to see that you did not share the same degree of enthusiasm. As a former Memphis resident, we hope you'll have the opportunity to visit again. All of us here at The Hotel Memphis would like another opportunity to fully impress you during a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were making our way from Harrisburg, AR to Gatlinburg, TN. Another beautiful, clean room! The Hotel manager was very pleasant as well as other staff members. The nicest Hotel staff members we have encountered on our trips yet! The Hotel is right off a main highway and gated, but the surrounding area is not a good place. Travel to Beil st for restaurants or entertainment. We will definitely stay here again someday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

As you pointed out, a trip to Memphis wouldn't be complete without a visit to Beale Street. Thank you for your delightful and encouraging review regarding our staff here are The Hotel Memphis. We feel motivated more than ever to continue to deliver the best service to our guests. The next time you are in the area, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this on the fly looking for an inexpensive place just for over night on the way home from Nashville. Read the reviews and 95% liked it and it was cheap (77.00). It was a Marriott at one time. Great free breakfast and about 15 minutes from Beale Street. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

It's always rewarding to learn when we can pleasantly surprise our guests with our services. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel Memphis; it was a great pleasure to welcome you to our property. We look forward to having you again as our guest should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#22 of 138 in Memphis
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $97 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing