We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this on the fly looking for an inexpensive place just for over night on the way home from Nashville. Read the reviews and 95% liked it and it was cheap (77.00). It was a Marriott at one time. Great free breakfast and about 15 minutes from Beale Street. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xsears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

It's always rewarding to learn when we can pleasantly surprise our guests with our services. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel Memphis; it was a great pleasure to welcome you to our property. We look forward to having you again as our guest should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Memphis East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 510 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived for a three night stay during the labor day weekend. We arrived quite late, but the staff was attentive and helpful. This was the best part of the stay-the friendly folks that are on the staff. The rooms are what you would expect from a former Marriott-nice, clean, but not overly spacious. Unfortunately for us our room was near the elevator and we could enjoy the sound of the elevator 24 hours a day. If you are going to stay there, request a room far away from the elevators as you too will spend your time listening to the soothing sounds of a running elevator. We tried to change rooms but we were told they were full and not able to transfer us to another room. The "buffet breakfast" in nothing more than a glorified continental. The buffet is open from about 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. If you plan on eating there, arrive early as in when they open as every morning when we arrived, about 8:30 AM day one, and earlier the other two days, they were out of many items and had nothing to replace these items. The hotel does not offer a restaurant or room service of any kind. Given what we paid for the room, it was not worth the experience. I will not stay there again or would I recommend anyone else stay there. As indicated earlier, the only thing great about this stay was the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. These folks were amazing and the only thing I could find that was consistently positive in this hotel. For your money, you can do better with other hotels in Memphis.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alrd1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We appreciate you choosing The Hotel Memphis and deeply regret that we were not able to meet and surpass your expectations. Though we do our best to meet our guests' needs, unfortunately we cannot always accommodate. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for any noise disruptions that you encountered during your stay. We rely on our guest's feedback to continually improve the quality of our services and appreciate your comments. We'd like to mention that we do serve breakfast in our Blue Shoe Bar & Grill Restaurant and we offer a limited dinner menu in our Blue Shoe Lobby Lounge nightly at 5pm-10pm and 11pm on the weekend. We regret that you were unaware of this service during your visit. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Memphis shortly after they switched over from being a Marriott. I arrived at 11:00 AM and was given a room at once. Very friendly front desk staff, answering my zillion questions with a smile. One hitch- At the airport I called hotel for the shuttle but it only operates during limited hours. After asking a few times how I was supposed to get there, the man on the phone finally told me to have the cab driver come inside and they would pay him.
Room was very clean, bed super comfy and even had plenty of pillows (a big thing with me). Hair dryer iron etc all in good working order. Wifi was decent.
Nice outdoor courtyard in the center of hotel was a nice treat with a lovely Koi pond. It was a nice place to relax after a long day. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were beautiful, very nice excercise room too.
I was in town to move my daughter into Rhodes College, and was not at all familiar with Memphis. I asked some of the housekeeping staff if I could walk around in the area, and they emphatically said not after dark and not farther than the IHOP across the street. Very good to know.
I eventually rented a car and the shuttle driver offered to take me to their off-airport location.
Had a drink in the lounge and had interesting conversations with fellow travelers. Bartender Raquel was awesome even though she could have used some help as it was busy. Even the maintainance? guy Anthony took time to ask how everything was.
Breakfast was good and well staffed.
I will stay here again, and recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5JLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your story with us. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to visit our new property and witness the exciting changes that have taken place. While we are glad to see that you enjoyed so many aspects of your trip, we sincerely regret any inconveniences with our airport shuttle service and its availability. We do strive to make our guests travel to and from the airport as convenient as possible and regret if this was not the case for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Memphis if your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rooms are a little bit on the small side, but the beds are comfortable. Front Desk Staff were really nice and helpful. Hotel is a pretty good drive from the downtown area. This is not a bad hotel at all, but I would consider staying closer to the attractions and downtown next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank is_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Hotel Memphis. We are always happy when a guest enjoys a comfortable visit and would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our staff with any questions regarding the fastest travel time to the nearby attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Memphis on our way to florida, found it on our "Hotel tonight" app on our phone. Nice hotel, VERY comfy beds! Could use a little updating, as they still have tube style tv's, But that's ok, We enjoyed our night there

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It was a pleasure to accommodate you on your way to Florida. We appreciate your perspective and valued feedback, as it helps us to improve upon our services. We hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more extended stay sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel on Priceline for $60 so I will not complain. One think is for sure new hotel owner is not the same as large corporations. You will get same service as in motel but in large building. Plastic plates on breakfast, to much chlorine in the pool, moldy smell in the lobby and rooms and in our room 916 very hot BUT VERY hot water in the shower ! Cold water did not make it in 9th floor!!! Good luck to New Owner IT will take lot of work to step up. Over all good hotel for overnight one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM_Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for providing us with valued feedback, as we are continually striving to enhance our services. We appreciate your constructive comments and sincerely regret any area of your stay that did not reflect the high standards we aim to achieve. We are fully committed to guest satisfaction and have taken note of your concerns. We hope we'll have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the exceptional stay we know we are capable of providing for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here 23rd Aug for two nights. we enjoyed our stay. staff were friendly, other guests were friends and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
only down side to this hotel is the location. it cost us $30/32 to get from downtown to the hotel by taxi. also I had rung up before I arrived asking if we could get a hotel shuttle service to the Amtrak station as we was going to leave at 5:30am and Uday Luke said it was fine and doable. when we arrived at the hotel I asked Uday Luke again who said it would be fine so we thought nothing more of it until we checked out and asked for the shuttle and the woman behind the desk told us it wasn't possible and that we couldn't get a shuttle even though we had been told it was fine. needless to say I wasn't a very happy bunny having to pay another $35 on a taxi when I told we could be taken there complimentary.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We deeply regret any confusion that you experienced with our services. We do offer a complimentary shuttle but only to and from the airport. On behalf of our front desk staff, I'd like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences or frustrations that this caused for you. I will be notifying the appropriate members of our staff to ensure our services and policies are made clear to our guests, as we do not want your experience to be repeated. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you'll allow us the pleasure to welcome you back to The Hotel Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#27 of 138 in Memphis
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $117 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing