We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older hotel, but wonderful employees” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #59 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Youngstown
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Older hotel, but wonderful employees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My fiance and I took a three day vacation to Memphis, our first time in Memphis. The hotel is destination friendly as we had a long itinerary to pack into three days. We were only minutes from most attractions. The employees there were attentive and responsive to our needs. Being that it is an older hotel, our room had some minor issues that the staff worked diligently on to make sure we had a great stay. Our only drawback was that we were unable to use the pool facilities due to the hotel hosting players from a basketball conference in the area, but we would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
As a first time visitor to our area, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us at The Memphis Marriott. Thank you for your kind recognition of our staff members and for sharing your constructive comments regarding your visit. We are happy to learn that your concerns were quickly resolved to ensure the best possible experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, open all year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    160
    114
    74
    54
See reviews for
116
114
28
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here being put up by Delta after our flight was cancelled. The hotel was not terrible but definitely tired for a Marriott. Room door were a bit loose and the elevator shook a while before closing. The rooms did have a slight musty smell. Also, the shuttle from the airport arrived and was full. We waited about 40 min for him to return and he piled about 15 people in a 10 passenger van.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel though we deeply regret any inconveniences that you experienced throughout your stay with us. We appreciate that you've directed us to the areas of our hotel that may require our immediate attention. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you endured. Please rest assured that the appropriate departments are going to be reading over your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Only one person behind the desk on a 13 story hotel. Required a lot of wait time. The lobby, plus its curb appeal are impressive, but the rooms are average at best. Still have the old fashion TV set, plus no fridge or microwave. You have to pay $9.95 for internet. The bathroom sink space is very small. Not even enough space for one person's toiletries No complimentary breakfast. Don't stay there unless you are hard up!!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room by the elevator. To add to those woes, the ice machines are adja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisdurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We always welcome feedback from our guests and truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review. On behalf of our staff, I'd like to apologize for any difficulties or frustrations that you encountered throughout your stay. We are truly disappointed that your expectations were not met. Please keep in mind that we offer complimentary wireless Internet in our lobby and public areas. Thank you for sharing your impressions of our accommodations and amenities and we hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Here's the bottom line.

For families, I wouldn't recommend staying here.
For business travel it's fine.

Details: First, who charges for internet these days? You not only have to pay for access, but you have to pay for EVERY device. I might consider paying for the laptop, but then to turn around and pay for the phone or kindle or ipad, are you crazy? Regardless of the recent response by management, there is NO FREE WIRELESS IN THE LOBBY! We tried, couldn't get it, asked, and was told "we're still setting it up".

Room was ok but as a previous reviewer mentioned there was a sizeable gap under the door and this allowed hallway noise into the room.

Old tube TV. Really?

This is getting a three rating for only two reasons - breakfast, and exercise room. Breakfast was great as was our server, and the exercise room had everything I wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We'd first like to thank you for reaching out to us regarding our Internet service. For any inconveniences you may have encountered, we deeply apologize and greatly appreciate your patience as we set up our complimentary Internet access in our lobby. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our services. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and fitness center and hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had to pay for wifi, no trashcan in room, chair had a hole cut out in it from either a burn or stain. Hair dryer did not work and when I called to get a replacement,I was told they couldn't find one! Restaurant manager was complaining to the head of our group that some people were not leaving tips at the breakfast table. PROS: breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
First, I'd like to extend my sincere apologies if your experience did not reflect the high standards of the Marriott brand. We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback and assure you that your review will be shared with our staff. Thank you for directing us to the areas that need improving and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Check in was fine. Took quite a while but it was a busy weekend evening so we overlooked that. However it went quickly downhill. We were in town for the state soccer championships and were given this hotel as one sanctioned by the tournament and expected a family friendly experience. We were shocked to learn that not only did we not have Wi-Fi available for less than $14/day in our room, there was also no WiFi available for free to guests in ANY area of the property. No.refrigerators in any rooms but available for rent for $10/night. No microwaves in room, ancient box televisions without hi definition. I felt like we stepped back into the dark ages.

Not only were these things frustrating, but we were e also rudely awakened by screaming and loud voices at 1 AM and again at 5 AM. When I asked about security overnight the desk clerk took down my information and assured me the day manager would call me to discuss compensation, guess what, no call ever came.

No one answers the housekeeping request phones after multiple calls. a maintenance call for a stopped up sink took over an hour and 2 phone calls to be resolved.

I do not recommend this hotel for family or even anyone on a business trip that needs free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgardner120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences or noise disruptions that you encountered during your stay. We strive to maintain a high level of customer service and can assure you that your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments. We'd like to mention that we offer complimentary wireless Internet in our lobby and public areas. We welcome all feedback, positive or otherwise, and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve upon the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I typically stay at the Marriott downtown while staying in Memphis for business. I decided to change it up to be closer to the airport. Won't be back. This hotel is not in a nice neighborhood. The rooms are small and the tv was ancient.. I had to place a towel under the door because there was such a huge gap you could see underneath. Won't be returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We truly regret to learn that you were not overall pleased with your stay. Though we're saddened that we missed the opportunity to address these concerns with you at the time of your visit, we truly value your feedback and we thank you for sharing your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
2.7 mi away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#38 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! As we embark on our multi-million dollar renovation to transform into the newest member of the Crowne Plaza family of hotels, we appreciate your patience and understanding. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing