We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A worn out and overpriced place with a comfy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A worn out and overpriced place with a comfy bed”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Looking for a place to sleep near the airport, this is the place to be. The first thing which you notice about this place as soon as you enter, is that all the furnishing are worn out. It is no different once you reach the room. The restaurant at this place is bad with hardly any choices on offer. Do not expect this place to be of the same standards as of other Marriotts. The only positive point about this place is its vicinity to the airport, period.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManasSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we're pleased to learn that our close proximity to the Memphis International Airport worked out so well for your stay, it's disappointing that you felt we did not live up to the high standards of the Marriott brand. We deeply regret any inconveniences that you experienced and please rest assured that your review will be shared with the appropriate departments. Though your feedback is always welcome, we do regret that you were not overall satisfied with your experience and hope you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    165
    117
    74
    56
See reviews for
124
121
27
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Memphis hotel standards are different than other cities. A 5 star in Memphis would be a 3 in other cities. That said, this hotel is a disaster.

Read the other reviews and heed the warnings. Its old and dirty and a haven for young hoodlums. There are big black security people everywhere. What does that tell you?

The maintenance sucks - nothing works right. Water is not hot. Lights burnt out. Faucets drip. Toilets don't flush right. Get the picture?

Dirty and dirtier.I was afraid to walk bare footed on the floors and I kept finding little curly hairs everywhere!

Do yourself a favor and stay away. Even Hotel Impossible couldn't fix this one.

And General Manager, whoever you are, don't bother with your form apology.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyl168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Feedback is always welcome and we thank you for sharing your review. It's truly regrettable that your experience did not reflect the high standards that we've set for our property and we will use this as an opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best service to our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is not a bad hotel if staying close to the airport is important to you, and that is the only reason to use this property. It is showing it's age and I wonder how long it will have a Marriott flag on it. The TV's are ancient, the corridor carpet worn, room vinyl splitting and peeling.
I did find the concierge lounge to be very nice with a nice selection of food, but really bad wine (Jacob's Creek Shiraz). I noticed that the concierge was extremely nice and talkative to the regular guests, but only somewhat tolerant of those of us she had not seen before.
Please note that you will only have a choice of fast food restaurants in this area. The surrounding area is not real nice and that is why they have a 10 foot iron fence with a gate surrounding the property (as do most of the other office parks in the area). I would never take my family to this place, but for me to spend the night before an early flight it works.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
First, we'd like to express our sincere appreciation for your feedback. We highly value our guests' time with us and will use your review as an opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service for our guests. We regret if you didn't have the opportunity to explore more of the restaurants in our area. We’d like to point out that as a convenience, we offer casual American cuisine at our hotel's Blue Shoe Bar & Grill. We pride ourselves on offering a secure environment for our guests and hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

(Platinum Member 8 years straight) This hotel should be bulldozed so the Taco Bell next door can expand it's parking lot. It would be an improvement for the community.

The Negatives:
As a business traveler, the internet connection makes me long for the dial-up modem days. 40kbps ??? WTF ??? I could FedEx stuff faster than that!

Sure would have been nice to print out my boarding pass at your Business Center - but that wasn't working either. Maybe it's a Memphis thing. (but I won't return).

The paper-thin walls are informative in that my next door neighbor was a business competitor and now I know their business model for 2014. (thanks).

The elevators are almost as slow as the single elevator at the Fairfield Jacksonville Beach (but I love that hotel so say NOTHING).

Manager: Please note - friends don't serve friends Canyon Road. If you won't tell Mr Marriott, I will. Even at The Fairfield in Hume VA (the ORIGINAL MARRIOTT) . Don't you want to be at least a little bit proud of the wine you serve your guests? Come on guys.

The positives:
GREAT personable service at the Concierge Lounge

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Horses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and thorough review. Feedback, such as yours, truly gives us the opportunity to get a clear perspective of our guests' time with us. We hope to provide dependable service to all of our guests and deeply regret that your experience did not live up to the high standards we've set. On behalf of our staff, I'd like to extend my sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you encountered throughout your stay. Please know that we highly value our guests' feedback and we have taken note of your concerns. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this property on two occassions in the past month. I choose it for location as it is about 10 to 15 minutes from the airport. Upon arriving at the property I was a bit concerned by the 10 foot high steel fence surrounding the property and the secure access entry and exit gates. The surrounding area is a rough with very limited dining options. The hotel staff is very good and really works on making your stay a good one. The rooms are in good shape but I could not believe they still had tube TVs! During my most recent visit the evacuation alarm went off at 2am. After exiting the building I proceeded to the closed entry gate to see how the responding firetrucks would get in. The firetrucks arrived within five minutes but could not enter until a guest passed their key throught the fence. Where was the hotel staff? Cause of alarm a broken failed sprinkler head. One morning I was greeting by scalding hot water in the shower. I could not take a shower. Tough to recommend this Marriott based upon my experience - rough location and maintenance issues. I will not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoovinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback though we truly regret to learn of the inconveniences that you experienced. Please know that the safety of our guests is a top priority for us and we're fully committed to ensuring a secure environment. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced with our alarm. While we can assure you that our staff is continually trained on how to handle these procedures, your concerns and comments regarding this experience are important to us and are being passed along to the appropriate departments. Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us and we hope that you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here in march for birthday celebration. The hotel was very clean and nice. All downtown hotels were sold out so we were limited to hotel choices. This offered us everything we needed- clean rooms, comfortable bed to crash, decent breakfast, safe location, friendly staff. The only drawback is it is about 15-20 min from area attractions so you need to rent a car. We got one on Hotwire for less than $100 and it was well worth it. Memphis is a great fun city!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottMemphis, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis East, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We agree! Memphis is a great city with so much to explore. No matter the circumstance, we’re glad that you found your way to our hotel. We’re always delighted when we can provide our guests with great quality service and we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for making us a part of such a special occasion and we hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back soon to the Memphis Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This marriott was your typical full service marriott. The staff was very welcoming on checking in earlier so that was nice. The hotel room was standard room nice and clean and thats why I expect of a Marriott. The only downside was not too many eating options nearby and probably wouldnt walk around at night. They lock the parking lot up at night so that should tell you they are worried at night. The area is just industrial with not too many things nearby other than an Ihop and some fast food options. Overall would stay here again it served its purpose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank figment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
9.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
2.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#26 of 136 in Memphis
967 reviews
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing