We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing out of the ordinary..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Recently stayed on a Sunday night using a reward night so the room cost was complimentary for me. Upon checking in, i was immediately recognized as being an elite member a few times and my room requests were confirmed and was placed in a 9th floor room. Service at the front desk was very friendly and cordial.

As others have alluded in previous reviews, the location of the hotel may not be the greatest. Its right off the freeway and pretty close to a residential area, and I'll agree that it doesn't appear to be in the best of neighborhoods.. But then again, usually neighborhoods near airports aren't the best. It's maybe 5 minutes from the airport, so that was a plus. In hindsight, maybe I should have booked something in downtown as I did enjoy wandering around downtown and Beale street more. Downtown and Beale St does have it's share of panhandlers though..

I had no problems with the room I was in and it was clean. The bed was comfortable and I had requested extra pillows. As reviewers have noted, you can tell its an aging property and it's probably time for a refresh of the rooms and hallways. The tube tv has got to go! I didn't dine at the property or order room service however I had a few drinks at the hotel bar and service was fine. It appeared the bar closed around midnight on a Sun night.

All in all, the overall hotel experience was average, although everything was perfectly fine with the service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ez369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

I am presently staying in the Marriott Memphis East and am shocked to find out they charge guests $0.85 per minute in the business center, and $0.15 a page for print outs.

When the hotel advertises high speed internet as a feature, one would normally assume this is an included feature. Shocked to find out it is a pay service with prices which are an order of magnitude more than they are in European internet cafes. The lobby is pretentious, but the room is showing its age. I would type more but I am working off my phone on its mini keyboard.

Find another room.

Room Tip: I see nice rooms at other hotels within a few blocks. Wonder if they have free internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past few years, and overall it's fair to say that it's 'OK'. Any of the bedrooms I stayed in are pretty tired and shabby at this stage... but overall they are clean and the beds are comfortable. Staff are generally helpful and very friendly and welcoming.
The food in the bar or restaurant isn't dependable (not even the simple stuff) and their draft beer taps rarely work properly (how difficult can it be to fix this?). Breakfast is OK if a little expensive, but serving stale lettuce and inedible croutons in a Caesar salad demonstrates a basic lack of effort in my opinion. Not investing in decorating or new TVs I can probably understand, but there can be no such excuse when it comes to food.

Room Tip: Concierge floor rooms are no different as far as I can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDH_CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice within a ten day period. The first time was nice, but the second required a room change due to a broken toilet. Also, that room could have used more cleaning, as exemplified by a dirty telephone. It is also a pity that there is a charge for internet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

For a Marriott, this one was a little tired, showing its age. Not in the best of locations either. Certainly not an area you would want to walk around in by any means. I guess that is why it is surrounding by a big FENCE! If your shuttling here from the airport without a car, you will definitely be eating in. Restaurant was OK.

Would expect to pay less in this area for sure. Was not happy about no free wi-fi anywhere. Not even in the lobby area or concierge lounge. Really??!! Get with it Marriott Memphis!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smores4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I found this hotel to be just fine. When checking in, I asked the front desk personnel why the hotel had a "security" gate all the way around the property. The young lady behind the desk responded: "don't all hotels have gates like that?". The location reminded me of an area that was probably meant to be a bustling office park, but, never actually jumped off. It is kind of an oasis nearly off by itself, and surrounded otherwise by "out of business" buildings on the main road, and other non-descript retail outlets on Perkins Blvd.

My room on the 8th floor was rather large and clean. Bathrooms had plenty of clean, fresh smelling towels and was clean. Bed was clean and very comfortable. Room was very quiet--I never heard anyone else.

Since I'm a frequent traveller, I was given access to the Conceirge level. I made a drink for myself while in the lounge, but, was abruptly confronted by the attendant to fill out an honor bar form--as if I was stealing a drink!!! They should train attendants to be careful about things like that--I could have been very insulted by her actions. Otherwise, personnel was over-the-top friendly and personable. If for no other reason, I would stay again because I felt so welcomed. The decor of the entire hotel reminded me of Las Vegas--for a moment, I fooled myself into believing I was actually in Las Vegas! I guess I've been travelling too much!
Kroger's was having a Job Fair and evidently some kind of regional meeting while I was in the hotel. That made the parking lot very crowded and difficult to park at times. I hope some people got jobs. It looks like many are out of work in Memphis, as is the situation everywhere. I did have compli breakfast, which was good (not great), and had lunch in the bar area one day--a salad which I found to be exceptional. This was my first or 2nd visit to Memphis. I booked the hotel in hast, just before dashing off to the airport. I thought I was booking the downtown hotel. I think I would have enjoyed that more, but, this place was fine, and they looked like they needed the business, so I'm glad I stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Front desk clerks were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The room had a small couch and a smartly designed desk that could be pulled out and used as a table.

We order room service for dinner and breakfast, which was prompt and tasty both times.

Shuttle to and from the airport was very helpful. However, the shuttle drive on our return was speeding, which was very concerning. The driver the night before seemed much more cautious.

As other people have mentioned, this is not a good part of Memphis. This is not a hotel where you can safely walk to amenities or other areas. We had no issues, but we did not have a car and did not go out at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KountryVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis East

Address: 2625 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Memphis, TN 38118 (Formerly Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $100 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel lobby and front desk are currently under renovation. The main hotel entrance is temporarily closed. Please follow the signage to enter hotel on side entrance. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue with our renovation. Our 319 room hotel is centrally located in the Thousand Oaks Business Center off I240 at exit 18, Perkins Road. Memphis International Airport (MEM) is a short 10 minute drive from the hotel. Business travelers can benefit from the proximity of our hotel to many nearby companies including Fedex, International Paper, Medtronic and the University of Memphis. Our 100% non smoking hotel offers easy access to many Memphis attractions including the Memphis Zoo, Fedex Forum, Beale Street, the National Civil Rights Museum and, of course, Graceland, the "Home of Elvis Presley". Tunica casinos are just a short drive away. Our guests enjoy such amenities as our indoor and outdoor pool, extensive fitness center, guest laundry and accessible event space including our 8500 sq. ft. Cotillion Ballroom. Start the day off with breakfast in our restaurant and after a day of business or sightseeing, relax in the Blue Shoe Bar and Grill with your favorite beverage and a light snack. The Blue Shoe also offers a full dinner menu. If you prefer to go out to dinner, the hotel offers shuttle service within a 5 mile radius until 10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to the Crowne Plaza Memphis East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott East Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing