We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home 1 Extended Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home 1 Extended Stay
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed there 2 nights visiting Graceland. Reception told us to be careful and to park the car outside the reception window. We paid cash and went straight to our room. Room was rather small, but clean, with cooking facilities, fridge and kettle. We had a room on the ground level and we did not feel too safe, however we spend all time outside the room, we only slept there a few hours. We did not know Memphis was such a dangerous place, but we had no troubles at all.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    0
    19
See reviews for
7
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

There are Bed Bugs in the Room.

  • Liked — When We Left
  • Disliked — Pool was not clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank obullenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, MS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

My father-in-law booked a room here for 2 nights & we decided to join them...so we booked a room as well. When we arrived the front desk area seemed a little outdated. We FINALLY got 2 rooms next to each other upstairs.

When we got to my in-laws room there were garbage cans in front of their door...what a site to look out your window & see!! Our room was next door...there was a view of the pool...we seemed to be in the getto...probablly 20 or so "kids" making all kinds of noise & I think they were all swimming in their clothes. We entered our room-supposed to be non-smoking...well...it was so stinky & old smelling...looked as though no one had been in there in a long time.

We were thinking to ourselves...what have we gotten ourselves into...when My mother-in-law came into our room telling us that there was a ROACH in the bathroom...needless to say it didn't take us long to decide to ask for our money back & hit the ROAD!!!
Don't stay here...!!!

We found a Fairfield Marriott only a mile a way & so so so much nicer!!! Go there!!!

  • Liked — Nothing....it was awful!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank chair28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We went to this hotel, and it was terrible. It is a run down hub for the unemployee on welfare people. The rooms are rented on a weekly basis, and these people live there. They are all over the stairs doing each others hair. The room smell like food, because they are studios. The carpeting is dirty.

This hotel should be taken off the list of hotels to rent for vacationers. This is low income housing for bragants and indigent people.

This was a total dissapoitment, and our trip to beautiful Memphis was cut short, because there was nothing else available in town, and we had to move on to the next city.

It was a true shame.

  • Liked — Nothing, it was a horrible place, it should not even be listed on the list as option for vacation.
  • Disliked — The place is a dump, is actually a health and safety hazard.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank becky33173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for a convention. We reserved a non-smoking room but when we arrived they only had smoking rooms available. The room had a stale odor. The steps leading to the various floors of the hotel were unstable and there was trash around the grounds of the hotel. The paint on the stairs and the railings was severely chipped off. Our room door did not open without several good hard pushes. The lock on the deadbolt appeared to be broken. The door leading to the bedrooms would not be close all the way. There was no remote control for the bedroom tv and the tv could not be turned on and off manually. One of the dining chairs was broken. The walls in the rooms needed to be painted. We found a dead bug in the room by the front door. The kitchen area was pretty clean.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Totallykicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at the Studio 6 on American Way in Memphis.The rooms were ok but a little dingy.
24 hour Waffle house next door, plus 2 grocery stores to fill your kitchen suite if you don't feel like eating out.
Three down sides we didn't care for, were no lock on the swimming pool gate and kids were hiding there bikes in the parking lot and using the pool, and teenagers doing the same thing.Also the laundry room was suppose to be secured only to be opened with our room key, neither door lock to the laundry room worked, the doors were unlocked 24/7 talk about feeling unsafe in an unknown area.
No one at the front desk after 10:00 at night. If you had a problem, you dialed 788 from your room phone ( what happens if you lost you key and couldn't get in?) and someone from the motel would be there within 20-30 minutes.
Great place if you only intend on sleeping there with no outside activities around the pool.

  • Liked — Pet friendly ( glad I had our dog)
  • Disliked — No A.C. in the bedrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bahrhopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.lous
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

The room smelled terrible. There was pee in the toilet when we arrived. Bathroom/room door within the hotelroom would not close/lock. The hotel was loud. A lot of the guests appear to be living their permanently. The hotel is in a bad neighborhood. And a few guests appear to be selling drugs---stationed in the same places within and outside the property periodically throughout the day.

Also, they are without a night manager which means no one is at the hotel from about 8 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank elitpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
4.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Memphis - Mt. Moriah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Primacy Parkway
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Memphis East
Residence Inn Memphis East
#49 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home 1 Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home 1 Extended Stay

Property: Home 1 Extended Stay
Address: 4300 American Way, I-240 at Exit #20, Memphis, TN 38118-2972 (Formerly Studio 6 Memphis)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Home 1 Extended Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Studio 6 Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing