We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good choice for a conference”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is well suited to conferences. There is a walkway to the convention centre across the street and the trolley stops outside the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is reasonably good. Staff are friendly and helpful. However be forewarned that downtown Memphis is almost deserted. There aren't many places to eat and no shops at all that I could see. Beale Street is about a half hour walk or a short trolley ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Martha,
I LOVE Canada.....hope you are staying warm! Thank you for your kind words of the staff and hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it not only motivates our team to always do their best, but it also provides information on areas in the hotel that we could improve on. Sounds like you got on the old trolley system here. I love it. Only a buck and it takes you every where downtown! One of the best things Memphis has to offer our visitors. Thanks for staying with us and when you return to Memphis....the Sheraton will be waiting for you! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    378
    231
    89
    75
See reviews for
256
360
43
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sparky_turtle
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton for a conference. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The meeting rooms had great wifi connection and the staff were constantly refreshing the food and drink tables. It is what you would expect from a quality conference hotel. The location is on the north end of "downtown" Memphis. It is an easy walk to the Civil Rights Museum, Beale Street, and other attractions. You'd need a taxi for Stax Museum or Graceland.

One thing that I hadn't seen before was the ability/option to forgo room service in exchange for a $5 voucher for food at the hotel. The vouchers didn't appeal to me but not having room service did. I don't make a mess of the room so a few days without service is fine. It also meant that I didn't have to worry about disturbing housekeeping if I came back to my room in the middle of the day.

The pool was under construction so I didn't get a chance to try that. I did use the exercise room and it is the most impressive hotel gym I've ever seen. Real weights and nice new machines :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky_turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
WOW! I really enjoyed reading this review....and I can't wait to share it with our team! The $5.00 voucher program you experienced is Starwood's "Get Green" initiative. By foregoing housekeeping services it saves on water, electricity, and actually increases staff productivity. I'm glad you opted in for the program and took advantage of the benefits. You can also redeem the vouchers for 500 bonus points per day if you are a SPG member. We work very hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience at the hotel and I'm so glad to read that we delivered that to you. Have a great day....you sure made mine!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Rooms are good sized. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is on the trolley line so you can access most of the sights by trolley. the best part was the wonderful breakfast they serve. There is an unbelievable amount of food and choices to make here including an omelet station!
The lobby is huge and ou can observe people or just sit there with a book.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
The Chef is never gonna let this one go.....he loves to get the compliments so I thank you for taking the time to praise his food and the wonderful experience you had with breakfast in our restaurant. Nothing better than a mouth watering omlet to get your day started with some Starbucks coffee to wash it down. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have you back very soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff is very friendly. Dog friendly. Smiles all around. But parking is expensive - 25 bucks a night. Rooms are all updated, but did have a musty smell. They had connecting rooms which helped when travelling with parents.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
I relocated to the mid-South this past summer. Being in the hotel business, I was excited to see if it is true what they say about "Southern Hospitality". Well it is that plus more. The folks in this city are one of the most friendliest and hospitable people in the country. I am so lucky to work with great people who really understand guest service. Thanks for staying with us....and your doggy too! We appreciate your review of the hotel and look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pros: Large room, Spacious bathroom, great views of downtown and Mississippi River, new gym, very attentive staff, free wifi, free bottled water
Cons: Old manual thermostat - diffuclt to adjust/maintain, no towel rack in bathroom, only valet parking.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MapBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Sounds like you enjoyed our new Sheraton Fitness Center powered by Core Performance. I love the new facility and many of our guests have complimented on how nice the center is for working out! Our rooms and public space will be the next phase of improving our hotel and that will start in June....and I think new thermostats are on the list! Thanks for the review and for staying with us. Hope to have you back at the hotel the next time you are in Memphis. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Seriously, if you need to stay in Memphis, come rest your head here! Super comfy beds, lovely rooms with great amenities (loved waking up to Starbucks coffee in my room), and very friendly, attentive staff. Not to mention Gus's World Famous fried Chicken is only a mile away. Great perk! Very family friendly as well, and we know what we're talking about with our family of 6! Bravo Sheraton!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Fabulous is one of my FAVORITE words! You brought a big smile to my face after reading such a "fabulous" review! Our commitment is to provide a clean,safe, inviting atmosphere for our guests to enjoy and it sounds like we were able to deliver that to you and the family. Thank you Heather for taking the time to recognize the staff at the Sheraton Memphis Downtown. We look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We've been to Memphis many times, stayed in a lot of hotels in that city. The Sheraton downtown Memphis will definitely be a place to stay again because of the (1) great service, (2) location to the downtown area, (3) cleanliness of the rooms, (4) roomy bathrooms, (5) proximity to the trolley station on Main Street -it's literally 10 steps from their lobby! - So easy to get anywhere in downtown Memphis for $1! Kudos to the housekeeping staff and the bellmen for their genuine smiles and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Anne,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests with our honest, southern hospitality and I am so proud of this team for always wanting to do their best on a daily basis to serve our guests. It is people like you who take the time to acknowledge them that keeps the spirit of hospitality alive. I can't wait to share this review with the team. We thank you and look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
905 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-1624 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing