We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The incompetence was over-whelming! The hotel staff knew that two hundred people were coming to stay i rooms already booked and they had TWO people at the desk! The breakfast room was untidy and without enough seating for the large group of people. The best thing about the place was the proximity to the free trolley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

CMF Traveler, my sincere apologies for the long wait you experienced at check-in. Unfortunately when we get tour buses that come in with several guests that need to check-in, the process can take longer than normal. Our front desk has 6 workstations and we are always fully staffed when expecting many arrivals - so I'm not sure where the rest of our staff was during your check-in. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with the hotel as it helps us identify areas that need improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently situated the trolley bus is outside the door and only 5 minutes from Beale st the rooms are very dated and tired looking however the staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was good value for money and plenty of it the bar was also a nice place to spend an evening there are no security boxes in any of the rooms which I found annoying and odd as I thought all hotels had them these days chris

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hello Christopher.....and thank you for your review! We are excited to let you know that we are going into a full hotel rennovation next summer and updating all of our guest rooms as well as providing new safes in every room. I know our guests will love the new accommodations and we cannot wait! We appreciate your business and hope to have you back at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

nice property with large lobby and nice size rooms. Place was well kept and clean. in house restaurant had a good selection of food. Some of the wait staff was great but had one bad experience out of eating there 6 times during my stay. They have starbucks coffee but on the weekends there is a line but nice staff. Front desk clerks were great and friendly. You are not far from Beale street the trolley stops out back of the hotel. They have a great exercise room and pool with towel service. Their hot tub is filled in with plants with no steam room or sauna.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are so excited to have Starbucks in the hotel and it has been very popular with our guests! Even I have to have one every now and then. Our new Executive Housekeeper has done a fantastic job in delivering a clean and comfortable room for our guests so thank you for mentioning that in your review! When you come back to Memphis....we would love to have you back at the hotel. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Funny, the hotel much have just changed management (Marriott to Sheraton) within a few days after I stayed there since I swore it was a Marriott during my stay. Anyway, the service was outstanding (especially since we arrived at 5:30 am and the staff allowed us to check in without an additional charge. THANK YOU!!!! That service was very much appreciated after an all night bus ride preceded by an all night flight. The room was spacious, clean, and modern. The Main Street Trolley stops right at the entrance of the hotel (the one that has a covered walkway to the convention center across the street) and runs approximately every 10 minutes or so. If you don't have a car and plan on going to Beale Street and other areas (the arts district at the other end of Main Street (near the Arcade Restaurant), plan on getting the 24 hour pass (I think it was $3). Otherwise, it's $1 per ride. If you want to eat breakfast in the nearby area, the Blue Plate is a great place to eat (recommended by the staff). For a simple lunch or dinner (meat and three), head in the other direction on Main Street to Westy's. Otherwise, I must say that downtown Memphis (other than Beale Street), is a bit of a ghost town. Although the hotel is a great place to stay, I'm not so sure I would stay there again based on the fact that the area really doesn't have much to offer (in a four block radius). For a cheap and entertaining tour of the downtown area though, seriously consider catching the circle route of the Main Street Trolley that gives you a view of Mud Island, the Arts District, and other areas along Main Street. If possible, do it in the early evening on a Saturday night, since the City of Memphis seems to promote musicians providing free entertainment on the Trolley. We went at sundown and rode it for about 45 minutes for the full round trip. It was great.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGuyFromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I'm so glad we were able to check you in early! I always tell my staff...put yourself in the guest shoes...we don't know what the guest went through to get here and we want every guest to feel good when they check into the Sheraton Memphis! Next time you come to Memphis....be sure to hit Graceland! I was just there this past weekend and had a wonderful time! Thanks so much for the review...we appreciate and value your opinion! Hope to have you back real soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been told this was a Marriott until a couple weeks ago.

Very well maintained property - big nice atrium lobby.My room was large - well appointed - not new furniture but in very decent condition. Super clean.

Staff was amazingly nice - especially at front desk.

Half an hour walk to the tourist area of Beale St. Other popular option is to use the tram that stops right by the hotel.

Internet is for a fee.

Parking is not free- 22$/night valet parking with in/out privileges. There is a self parking across the street for 5$/day - no in/out

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Great to hear from you on trip advisor and thank you for taking the time to write an informative review for our future guests! We are very excited to have transitioned from a Marriott to a Sheraton! Our new beds...the Sweet Sleeper are the best in the industry! Great things are taking place here and we hope that everyone that stays with us feels the change! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was nervous since we got a deal from Hotwire. I couldn't find any pictures or reviews since Sheraton bought Marriott. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, trolly stops in front of hotel. We spent the weekend sight seeing so I was worried that this hotel was not as close to Beale as the others. It ended up being better, no problems getting to where we wanted to go, and at the end of the night it was quiet and away from the partying still going on at Beale. Only complaint was the beds were too firm for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandradeee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

It's always a good thing when we exceed the expectations of our guests! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are close enough to everything you want in a downtown area...without all the noise that comes along with it! And the trolley certainly is a great way to get around the downtown area. And the best part....it's only a buck each way! Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Traveling last minute to Memphis, with a 10 month old, and called the hotel several times to ask questions. The staff has been unbelievably helpful, and even got Mgmt special approval for us to bring our dog, so we don't have to board her. I will update my review once we spend the night, but am a long-term Starwood member, and rarely have concerns. NOTE: Per the front desk, Concierge Club is now open on the weekends as well, despite what SPG.com says, which makes breakfast with a baby infinitely easier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hcarmich42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Manager at Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Greetings SPG Member! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your experience with the service you have received thus far....and you haven't even checked in yet! Fantastic! Our goal is to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest and its always nice to receive such positive feedback when we do a great job! We look forward to having you at the hotel! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel

Address: 250 N Main St, Memphis, TN 38103-1624 (Formerly Memphis Marriott Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#27 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $123 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy outstanding service in the warm, welcoming atmosphere of the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel. Attached to the Memphis Cook Convention Center and located on the vintage Memphis Main Street Trolley line, we provide easy access to some of downtown’s most notable attractions. Our downtown Memphis hotel is within walking distance of numerous government and corporate offices, as well as the Riverwalk, which offers breathtaking views of the Mississippi River. Nearby are museums, sports venues, Graceland, and Beale Street, the heart of the city’s music and entertainment district.Relax in any of our 600 stylish guest rooms and suites, featuring magnificent city views. Get a great night’s sleep in a plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed. Upgrade to a Club Room to get Sheraton Club Lounge access, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres.Stay in touch with the office in our business center. Or take some time for yourself with a swim in our heated indoor pool or a workout in our Sheraton Fitness center.With more than 12,000 square feet of versatile function space, the Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel is perfect for productive business meetings as well as elegant wedding receptions. The hotel is also connected to the Memphis Cook Convention Center, which offers more than 350,000 square feet of venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Marriott Downtown Hotel Memphis
Marriott Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing