We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, 20 mins from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This was such a great hotel and a relief to find. We made an impromptu trip to Memphis for the weekend and were stressed about finding a hotel that wasn't expensive but felt safe/clean. If you don't mind the drive downtown, you should stay here! The staff members were polite, helpful, and friendly and the hotel was very clean. We spent around 80 a night on Easter weekend/spring break; most hotels downtown are at least double that amount. I was so pleased with our first night that we stayed an extra.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfssweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 765 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

My friend and I were in Memphis for a weekend get away. We chose this Hampton because of its location. The staff,..especially Arlene, were extremely nice. The room were very clean and the beds sooo comfortable. This is always a 'big plus' for me, and one of the reasons I choose a Hampton Inn for most of my stays. Thanks HAMPTON!!
cg
Martin, TN

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Good location. Clean room. Good price. Breakfast as advertised.
Down side. Had trouble understanding moring desk clerk. Morning breakfast lady touched frozen eggs with bare hands. Of course after cooking all germs gone.
Having said this I would stay here again if in area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amstevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews for our last night of a driving tour on the way back to Nashville Airport. It was a good choice. There were many business people in the hotel and the rooms are clean, quiet and well-equipped. I did hear the train once in the night but it was not a major inconvenience. Our request for a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel was honoured. Breakfast was quiet when we ate and well stocked with a variety of food. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is close to the Botanical Garden, Brooks Gallery and the I-240 and Corky's BBQ is just down the street. If you aren't staying downtown, this is a very good choice in Memphis. The price was very reasonable compared with many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liplord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Our family of 2 adults and a 8 year old enjoyed the Poplar Hampton, We were passing though on way to Rosemary Beach, FL (near Panama City).

Hotel easy to find, and lots of ample parking. Check in was speedy and efficient. typical small outdoor pool, but OK since it was not crowded. They have new 32inch flat panel LCD tv's and the breakfast buffet was good.

We enjoyed dinner at Corky's BBQ across the street from the hotel. Hotel in anice area of town, and overall a good and predicatble Hampton Experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kctraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed here for four nights when in town to serve as Best Man in a wedding. It was my first time in Memphis and I was excited to find that the official hotel was a Hampton Inn as I have stayed in such properties around the country.

I arrived to find that my allegedly non-smoking room reeked of cigarettes. The hotel immediately switched me to a much nicer suite and I settled in to the lovely, clean and comfortable room.

However, one floor of the hotel was largely being renovated, so there was near-constant noise. It was disruptive during normal sleeping hours and on the weekend, not just the middle of the weekday.

The front desk staff of the hotel was excellent -- quite cordial, personable and playful, not to mention helpful. And the lounge area, breakfast buffet and other amenities were first rate.

But the security staff hired by the hotel, it turns out, was in fact a thief. This person would go through the hotel and check doors that were closed but not fully latched. He would then push the door open and if someone was inside, he'd say that he was security checking the doors. If no one was there, as was the case with the Maid of Honor, he would help himself. In my friend's case a new digital camera, a wallet and jewelry were pilfered.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. I am sure that when construction is finished and the security mess cleaned up this hotel will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MillerWordScore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This hotel is an excellent example of the Hampton qualities.
Friendly service trying to anticipate your needs, and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. They are a little on the small side, but well taken care of.
The breakfast area can get a little crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GermanyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
1.0 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#28 of 138 in Memphis
1,059 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#22 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $109 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar is conveniently located in the heart of Memphis on Poplar Avenue - the one road that leads to all the main districts of Memphis, from the prestigious streets of Germantown, to eclectic Midtown and the bustling Downtown. Visit musical attractions such as Graceland and Beale Street. Take the kids to see the pandas at Memphis Zoo or catch an IMAX movie at the Pink Place Museum. If you're here for business you will find several local offices and corporations in the locale of our hotel including Bank of America and Coca Cola. The University of Memphis is just three miles from the hotel offering comfortable and convenient accommodation for visitors and students to the institution. Combining value with comfort the Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar provides everything you expect and those extra touches you might not. Wake up to a Hampton's free hot breakfast each morning or if you're in a rush just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. Take advantage of great amenities for relaxation and work including a 468 sq. Ft. Meeting room, a business center, outdoor pool, and free fitness center. We guarantee a clean and comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Keep in touch with free high-speed internet access and a handy lap desk. Catch your favorite show on the 32-inch flat screen TV and have a great night's sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing