We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, reasonably priced place in Memphis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great, reasonably priced place in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was my first time in a Hampton Inn. I was expecting something a bit more like other hotels whose names end in the word 'Inn' but this was much more like a real hotel.

I was impressed by the standards of presentation in the lobby, all day coffee bar, decent breakfast, free newspapers, well maintained and appointed rooms (reminiscent of the mother company Hilton rooms). Polite and efficient staff.

For the price, excellent. Location about a 15 drive from downtown, which is fine as downtown is not that beautiful. Also, really easy to get onto highways from there.

Only one tiny downside: trains that pass in the night... their horns can be heard as they pass, but I actually found that quite quirky and Casey Jones!

Photos taken at time of check-in.

Room Tip: There is a handy Newks cafe opposite for a quick meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    198
    119
    42
    24
See reviews for
193
161
47
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for several days in August 2012. The property itself is fine, with a small conference center and a helpful staff. The location is good relative to various attractions. The rooms are a bit small for families with small children. The hallways tend to be noisy and the train goes by frequently. If you're a light sleeper, this might not be the place for you. Overall, the stay is ideal for a solo traveler or a couple.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing away from Poplar for less train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vortmax36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

So glad we chose this hotel for our last night before driving home. It was beautiful, comfortable and very friendly. The lobby is gorgeous and the eating area is inviting. Breakfast was delicious as usual. The room was spacious and quiet. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2timesaNannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is fairly cheap, and the staff were pretty helpful. It's away from downtown so you'll need a car really. Over the road from Corky's, a decent rib place. Room was fine, apart from no safe, but they had safety boxes in reception, which was fine.
If you don't need to be near downtown, this place is decent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlow, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very good location, Poplar Ave gets you anywhere without having to take the interstate. Pool was great, my daughter stayed in it alot. There was a train that ran across the street but it did not bother us. Very helpful desk staff, helped us with restaurants and directions. Breakfast was good as usual, this is one of the main reasons we stay at Hamptons. It was just cold at times in the breakfast area, that would be the only downfall. Otherwise, another good stay at a Hampton!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Its about 20 minutes drive from anything worth seeing in Memphis. Breakfast is included if you are not too demanding. It's cheap, cheerful and out of town. If you want to eat late be prepared to drive or enjoy the vending machine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Dangelbery_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aannie11
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My first night was a nigh mare. I head the loud train ALL night almost every hour. I also did not get a wake up call as I requested and over slept. I did change rooms and could not hear the train but the AC was broke and sounded like a car running and ticking! After 2 days of pure exhaustion from no sleep, I took 4 hours naps after my work as I was on pure breakdown and miserable. I did video tape the train issue and the ac issue and went to speak to the manager.
His name was MATT and I spoke to him and told him I had never ever complained since I have worked as a travel nurse but this was the worst ever. Matt was very rude as told me " you should have seen the train tracks when you came in" EXCUSE ME? I DID NOT SEE THEM. He said the ac sounded like a regular ac unit and I told him not in my home! WHAT A WASTE OFMY TIME AND MY VISIT WAS PURE MISERY! Matt told me " if you are so unhappy maybe you should go somewhere else. AND he said maybe in the future I should stay somewhere else and it would be best for the HOTEL...DEAR GOD..A RUDE MAN. I do plan on filing a formal complaint with BBB and corporate. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE>

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train and not under the management of a man named MATT! And make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aannie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5320 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Memphis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#22 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar is conveniently located in the heart of Memphis on Poplar Avenue - the one road that leads to all the main districts of Memphis, from the prestigious streets of Germantown, to eclectic Midtown and the bustling Downtown. Visit musical attractions such as Graceland and Beale Street. Take the kids to see the pandas at Memphis Zoo or catch an IMAX movie at the Pink Place Museum. If you're here for business you will find several local offices and corporations in the locale of our hotel including Bank of America and Coca Cola. The University of Memphis is just three miles from the hotel offering comfortable and convenient accommodation for visitors and students to the institution. Combining value with comfort the Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar provides everything you expect and those extra touches you might not. Wake up to a Hampton's free hot breakfast each morning or if you're in a rush just grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday. Take advantage of great amenities for relaxation and work including a 468 sq. Ft. Meeting room, a business center, outdoor pool, and free fitness center. We guarantee a clean and comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities. Keep in touch with free high-speed internet access and a handy lap desk. Catch your favorite show on the 32-inch flat screen TV and have a great night's sleep in the clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing