We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delight! great staff, clean & comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A delight! great staff, clean & comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this downtown motel while helping our daughter relocate to Memphis. We chose this motel due to our belief that we would know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express and that is was nearby to our daughter's new apartment.

We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness, and quietness of our accomodations and at the friendliness of the staff. The parking was ample. The water pressure of the shower was not the best, but perhaps this is a trend as facilities seek to conserve resources.

The morning free buffet included eggs and bacon. Several employees kept things well maintained. Everything was nice and clean.

Next time I'll ask for a room further away from the elevators. There were a few minor instances of noisy quests, but all in all things were pretty quiet.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    141
    79
    34
    24
See reviews for
85
107
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a NY's eve trip to Memphis. The front desk clerk was very helpful and polite when we checked in and out. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed comfy and everything in working order. The bathroom looked as if it had recently been remodeled and all was sparkling clean.
I have no complaints and would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackCatBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRETTYBOY23
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

I was here in Memphis, Tn on business with a big company that used this hotel a lot ( hope not for long ) First of all when I called to book my reservation I was put on hold for 30min then put on hold again for 10min Upset I was after making reservation the clerk was no help with location details on room and ect. She quoted her self to be the Supervisor WoW could not believe the ATTITUDE RUDE !!!! After checking in by Quoeda she was more into taking a smoke break then anything Remember I am a club member as well no welcome no upgrade just checked in gave keys to room after entering my room DIRTY sheets bathroom tub DIRTY Towels were stained I came down to the front desk the young lady suppose to be the Supervisor at the front door SMOKING and looking at me like WHAT?? I then stated to her I am a club member and that room seems to not be clean may I have a free upgrade i am a platium member she states I don't have any free upgrades and with attitude put keys to another room on the counter and walk to the back on her cell phone after i enter in the other room it smell bad tub was marked up I notified my travel agent and stated to never book me back at this hotel what a stay the breakfast was not hot or station seem not clean coffee was not good this place needs a change of HEART!!!

  • Liked — CHECK OUT TIME TO GET AWAY FROM THIS PLACE.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PRETTYBOY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Columbus, OH
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

Clean hotel, needs new furniture. Attentive Front Desk, odor in hallways needs to be worked on. Great room, bathtub has some type of marks that need attention to. Nothing extremely bad or anything, overall I paid a great rate for this hotel, so I'm a happy camper!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank SwtCaroline02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

This was your typical Holiday Inn Express. It was clean, well kept, and the new hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise. The neighborhood seemed a little scary, but actually once I got out and around it wasn't that bad at all. Some fast food and local restuarants within walking distance, but you're better off driving as crossing some of those streets is dangerous.

My only major compliant was the lack of communication during a severe weather event. I was there when a number of tornados passed through the surrounding area. One tornado even brushed the SE corner of the city near the airport. Although the hotel was not in the path the local tornado sirens went off then and several other times. Not once did I hear a PA announcement or recieve a phone call on what to do. I figured they would have a way of communicating to the guests the best course of action to take. I'm from the Mountains. I did not know what to do in the event of a tornado. It would have been nice to have some communication from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoshWVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

Since we had a family member in the hospital across the street, we stayed at the Holiday inn for 10 days. We have stayed before when it was a Hampton Inn.

The Holiday Inn is a great value. They have a low "hospital" rate of $79 per night. The hotel is clean, quiet and the beds & pillows are very comfortable. The free breakfast is adequate, especially considering the low price of the rooms. The staff was friendly & helpful, they have free internet access in the lobby and a decent fitness room.

The location is good, right across the street from the hospital and just a short drive to either downtown or midtown. The neighborhood isn't the best, I wouldn't go wandering at night, but it doesn't have a downright dangerous feel to it either.

  • Liked — Value, cleanliness, comfort & quiet
  • Disliked — neighborhood
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OldHoo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

Spent 4 nights from 30th September 2007 and pleased that I did. Typical HI Express for the States (better standard than HI Express in UK). Efficient registration, given up grade without asking as priority club member. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast nothing special but hot drinks on offer 24 hours and always complimentary snack available in the evening. Just what you want when you come in at night. Just off Interstate and on main bus route. If you want to get downtown though suggest you use trolly bus. 5 minutes walk from hotel and great value at $1. By intersection to get down to Graceland (10 minutes) and 2 minutes from Sun Studios.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#34 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Address: 1180 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-6669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers. Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip. Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access. This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing