We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice place”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Wonderful staff, great breakfast, very clean. great wifi. After ~ a week of staying at other hotels, this was a welcome change. staff was attentive, could not ask for more other than less $$$. would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katinfoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    141
    79
    34
    24
See reviews for
87
110
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed there as a stop over on my way to Little Rock. Everything about this hotel is small! The rooms were small so was the breakfast area and front desk area. The coffe maker was on top of the fridge in the corner and too far from the outlet to plug the coffe maker in. Between the bed and night stand was filthy. Lots of hair and crumbs. Everything else was ok. Plenty of amenitys in the room. This room would have been a great $75 value instead of $130.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jennifer68,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I believe, by the layout of the room, this might have been owned by another brand at one time. No worries; this property has been redone well. The configuration of the hallways and location of the elevators are, perhaps, due to the small footprint on which this property had to fit. Nothing confusing, just a little less logical in layout. The room was nice, clean, and the armoire instead of a closet and the corner sink in the bath made me think another brand. The highlight, though, was the friendly staff in the morning. I’m a morning person and do appreciate a friendly welcome in the morning. This location might be seen as "shady" since it's in a more urban/medical center location and lacks green space. I felt very safe.

Room Tip: My room faced the parking lot. The sound of a distant train was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear EnjoyTravelAlways,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the layout of the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great, affordable hotel for a quick stop in Memphis. Free parking & a great continental breakfast, as expected from a Holiday Inn Express. Heater pumped out way too much heat that we couldn't control but we sweated if out. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartyharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear spartyharty,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding parking and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the heater. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the little extras that were given to us and our friends during our five day stay. The popcorn etc. may not have cost the hotel much but was much appreciated when we sat in the lounge with the coffee. Coupled with the very friendly and helpful staff it all helped to make our stay enjoyable. Hotel was in a good position for us to explore Memphis. It was also easy to find our way back to it at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having advised the hotel that I would be a late arrival, I arrived at midnight to find the room I had booked had been given to someone else. I wasn't happy at having to stay in a cramped double bed with sofabed room which was far from clean. The dirty sheets from previous guests were still on the sofabed, which when opened became an issue with using the fridge and microwave which where directly above and behind the sofabed. Not a great start to the stay. After a less than happy call to reception, I found that the hotel was fully booked and I couldn't be moved until the next day. So the security guy brought up some clean sheets for the sofabed and we just got bedded down for the night

We were eventually moved to the type of room I had booked late the next day and so the holiday began properly.

The staff on the front desk were friendly enough and approcachable, the new room was a lot better and comfortable. I liked the fact that there was fresh coffee and hot drinks available in the lobby all day and freshly made popcorn in the afternoon. A very nice touch.

Room Tip: Arrive early to ensure you get the room you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsc1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear jsc1165,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the front desk staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered with your first room. I am glad that your concerns were addressed in a timely manner. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
325 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Came in during the weekend of the Liberty Bowl, and the place was overran by Iowa State fans, who took to packing into the communal lounge and drinking beer as if it was their own living room. They weren't disruptive, but they weren't respectful of others or their own children either.

The hotel itself is located in not the nicest part of town. There was not much around to walk to and if there was, I wouldn't have elected to. That being said, the room was clean, it was quiet enough, and we got a fair price on it. The staff was friendly, but the little breakfast nook they had was never stocked and seemed completely unused. It did the job for one night, but I wouldn't want to stay here for any longer, especially if I didn't have the use of a car.

Room Tip: Ask for the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKB1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear MKB1701,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.


Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#33 of 136 in Memphis
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Address: 1180 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-6669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers. Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip. Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access. This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing