We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going thru renovation...but they were very accomodating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Going thru renovation...but they were very accomodating.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty good....it is only a few blocks from Beale street (2.0 mi to be exact...take a right out of the property onto Union and go 2 mi. to 2nd st and take a left...you're there.)
We arrived there Friday night (Jul 6th) and stayed two nights. It was late and we were tired so we pretty much just went to bed when we got to our room.
I woke up several times during the night because our room was a little bit warm. We had the thermostat turned down as low as it would go but it didn't get any cooler. The next morning, concerned more about not having a refrigerator, I called the front desk and asked if we could get one and she said they would have to move us to a room that already had one in it because Maintenance was gone for the weekend. We accepted and we are glad we did...the room we had wasn't unbearable but it just wasn't getting cooled like most rooms do. Our next room was much better.
I think once this property gets all of the rooms renovated it will get a higher rating. I will however, give all of the staff a 5...they are all so friendly, hard working and willing to please. They all say hello to you when you pass by them. They do have a free continental breakfast but we did not take advantage of that. They also have free popcorn in the lobby all day for the guests.
Now for the rooms: The beds and pillows are the same in all the rooms weather they have been renovated or not. The beds were just ok,...we have certainly slept in worse but we have also certainly slept in better. The pillows? They REALLY need renovating lol. They were very small and like the ones we had as kids. Not solid...the filling was small pieces of foam.
The renovated room we went to had two differences....one, the A/C unit was a little more modern and two, it had a microwave and refrigerator. ...The refrigerator worked well. (The ice and soda machines down the hall both worked also).
The carpet isn't bad, it looks like they have replaced the carpet on the first floor hallway but the second floor hallway is the same as what is in the rooms. It still doesn't look bad at all though, We didn't see any dirty spots and they kept it very clean of any clutter or loose popcorn etc and they vacuume the entire thing every day.
The bathrooms are all the same. Pretty small but the tub/shower isn't bad at all. It accomodates tall or short people lol, curved shower rod, the shower head is large with 4 different types of pressure (not hand-held), semi-modern fawcet fixtures and the water stayed the same temp and pressure as what you set it. The tub had a neat non-slip texture to it that that looked like a mat but wasn't. The vanity was very small...not a lot of room and sink has same fixtures as tub and was average size.
The outdoor pool was decent and could have been better if maintenance had been there to remove all the leaves. The water was just lukewarm due to it being 100+ degree weather with no rain but still refreshing for a short swim.
Overall, I would give this 3.5 stars but we paid more for the location I think, being as close to Beale street as it is. Our old standby where we've ALWAYS stayed is at the Holiday Inn at West Memphis I-55. Their beds (and pillows) are more comfy and all of their rooms are updated consistantly (wish we had stayed there this time too).
Would we stay at this property again? It is definately clean enough and friendly enough to stay at....just not our favorite but if I-55 was full, yes this would be our next choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadTripFreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    141
    79
    34
    24
See reviews for
87
110
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a Memphis weekend with a couple of friends. The room was ok and seemed clean enough. We had MAJOR problems with our toilet ALL weekend and they never fixed it. It was unusable about 50% of the time. And that was with my husband fixing it. We should have demanded to switch rooms, but they kept promising to fix it and we spent most of our time outside the hotel. I had to use the lobby bathroom most of the trip. There was actually water SHOOTING OUT of the tank when we tried to see what was going on in there.

Other than the lack of maintenance the staff was friendly and helpful. They always called cabs for us and gave some restaurant suggestions.

The pool looked gross and we didn't use it.

Breakfast in the morning was standard continental but delicious! The omelets were good and so were the biscuits.

We spent most of our time downtown so this was an ok hotel. It is about $10-$17 (2-4 people) to take a cab to Beale Street from the hotel. Glad we stayed here so we could spend our money elsewhere, but if you are looking for a really nice hotel, stay downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have always liked the Holiday Inn Express; however, this was not particularly a pleasant stay for 3 nights. When we came back from being out all day, they would never have our room cleaned. We had to go out and ask for clean towels. They did have good breakfast rolls, and the staff was friendly, but apparently understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humme65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear humme65,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We were particularly pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast rolls and found our staff friendly. We are sorry to read your stay was not a pleasant one. I have taken note of your comments regarding housekeeping. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything I've come to expect from the Holiday Inn chain. Clean comfortable room, fitness center, pool, breakfast, popcorn - Bonus! Great staff in a good location. It's a good walk or short taxi ride to Beale street

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

second time we have stayed here and the rooms are nice enough, great pool and workers are very friendly, FYI do not ask front desk to call you cab,,,get your own, we learned the hard way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you don't want to stay down in the party section of town, this hotel is a quick drive to all the action yet a quiet safe place to stay.
Room was nice and clean. Pool looked great. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Easy parking all around the hotel. Safe and secure, no worries for personal safety.

Restaurants close by along with Walgreens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBQPitchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was directly off the highway, easy to get to, and an easy trip to the airport. (15 minutes, max.)

We were greeted by wonderful friend desk staff, and had a clean and quiet room. I would stay here again while flying into or out of Memphis.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Honeymooners525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gen X Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
871 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#33 of 136 in Memphis
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Address: 1180 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38104-6669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers. Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip. Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access. This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing