We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No pimps or hookers but let down badly by one lobby clerk......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“No pimps or hookers but let down badly by one lobby clerk......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at this La Quinta hotel in Memphis for two nights as it was close to the airport and also to Graceland’s. We were a little apprehensive about booking in, after reading a "Tripadvisor" report suggesting that there were Pimps and Hookers frequenting the hotel lobby during the evenings, however, we have to report that during our two night stay we saw no sign of either Pimps or Hookers, and we found the hotel to be clean, tidy, respectable and excellent value. Although it is not in the best part of town, I would not hesitate to stop there again.
The only thing that badly let this hotel down was the lady clerk who booked us in on our arrival. Her name was KAREN. We are seniors visiting from the UK, and when we book into a USA motel, we always ask for suggestions as to where we should eat and where we should visit. We also need to know if the area we are staying in is safe to be wandering around in the evening.
Whilst KAREN booked us into the hotel I had a few questions to ask, however, she had no time to discuss any of our queries, even to the point of being very rude and disrespectful to us. She also argued with us regarding the fact that we are 65+ years of age and if we were entitled to a $3 seniors reduction in the room cost. There were no other visitors waiting to be booked in at this time. The choice of receptionists at this hotel needs to be addressed, and a few lessons in good customer service and good customer relations procedure needs attention.
This unfortunate incident will not prevent me from giving this hotel the good report it deserves, but please, have respect for senior visitors from countries other than from the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel from the Quarry which lies behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenxjenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    179
    112
    60
    44
See reviews for
207
162
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I along with our children, aged 15 and 16 years old stayed here on August 7, 2013. We were driving to New Orleans and we figured that stopping in Memphis would be a good destination. I have read other reviews that stated that this was in a rough part of town, but I would have to disagree, the area is, while not the best, is more of a industrial/commerical area. There is no where to walk to except the restaurant right next to the hotel. Check-in was quick and easy, the lady that checked us in was very friendly.

I like the fact that the parking lot had a security gate and the only way to get into the parking lot was with a code provided to you by the hotel.

Our room was average and clean. It had the standard, fridge and microwave in the room which comes in handy when traveling on a budget. The bathroom was clean, but the toilet had the loudest flush I have ever heard. The hotel is located close to Graceland and 10-15 minutes away by car to Beale Street.

In the morning we ate the continental breakfast offered for free for all guests. The breakfast was good and it had options ranging from: make your waffles, to bacon, eggs, bagels, toast, etc. Coffee, tea, apple and orange juice were the drinks available. My family and I enjoyed the breakfast.

The hotel does have an outdoor pool. My kids swam in the pool, which according to them was not heated and smelled funny. I sat in the pool area and I didn't smell anything weird, but then again I didn't swim in the pool.

Overall this was a decent hotel for a one night stay and I would have no probably staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here one night when passing through. If you have a pet staying with you, you will have to stay on the first floor bc those are the pet rooms. We got a room with a king bed, very spacious! The sink is inside the bathroom instead of out like some hotels. The parking is gated (probably bc the area of town it's in). The receptionists for check-in and check-out we're both very friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyBritta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a pleasant stay on our way home from New Orleans. The location is good and everything was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool is nice and the fenced in parking lot and free breakfast are a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean. Friendly staff were fast and full of good advise. They were able to give us directions to Graceland and a free shuttle ride there too. They gave us advise how we could get to Beale street without a car. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#43 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Memphis at Graceland
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#25 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
0.7 mi away
Magnuson Grand Memphis Airport
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland
Address: 2979 Millbranch Rd, Memphis, TN 38116-1927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Hotel Memphis
La Quinta Inn And Suites Memphis Airport
La Quinta Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing