We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations but GREAT staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at the hotel from August 15-18, 2012. After reviews, some people complained about the general condition of the hotel. Yes, it is going through major renovations and while we were there, the registration area was moved from the front to a conference room, however they did a great job in redirecting people to the proper location. All the rooms in one "wing" were being renovated and, therefore, our "wing" was not being redone. Since we were not at the hotel all day, I really can't comment on the noise factor.

I do have to say, though, the staff was exceptionally friendly and outgoing! Housekeeping was more than accommodating when I asked for extra towels. Hey, three women in a room need two towels a piece - what can I say! They all knew we were there for the Elvis Week festivities and the vigil. Each day when they saw us, they made it a point to ask what we did and what were going to do that day. I wish I would have remembered the young gal's name who took care of the breakfast room. She was the sweetest person! Very talkative, very helpful, a genuine person! Management: just a word - you've got yourself a wonderful employee there!

Really only one complaint (ya know there had to be one). The pool wasn't at its best. I noticed the plastic cup on the bottom of the pool and the one at the side of the pool near the edge, were both there the entire three days of our stay. Also one of the chairs had the same towels on it during that time and some childs flip flops were in the same spot. It was obvious there was not a daily cleaning in that pool, since the pool side scraper was laying on top of the bushes the entire time.

Other than that, just be aware of the renovations - but the staff makes up for it!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the courtyard. There is a train that is at one end - but we were never bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h8winters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Okay facility and room....this is a little older property and is a little tired. Staff was professional and helpful. Lot's of shopping and restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis M, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel.

I wanted to make you aware that the hotel will be undergoing a full renovation of the lobby and the guestrooms starting in August that will address your concerns.

At the Courtyard by Marriott, we strive to ensure that every guest has a great stay and your comments regarding, the professionalism of my staff only reaffirms our training and procedures.

We look forward to serving you again should you return to Memphis.

Thank you,
Travis Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Check-in was fast and friendly and the bed in the hotel is totally awesome. I wished I could have packed it away in my suitcase-lol! Housekeeping was good. The room appeared to be really well kept and the bathroom was clean. The walls are really thin so its good to keep that in mind when visiting.

There are patios in all of the rooms. I stayed on the second floor and felt more comfortable that way because it can get dark on the backside of the hotel where the parking areas are. There is another hotel right beside it and the flourescent sign from that hotel beamed through our curtains at night. But, Overall this was a cool stay and I would stay there again. It was convenient to alot of restaurants and the express way was right around the corner.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is on the otherside of the railroad tracks. This way the train won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrippin_615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel is starting to show its age at least in the room I stayed in mostly in the bathroom. But it was clean and comfortable. Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Can't be the price. Worth it in the end.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis M, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel.

I wanted to make you aware that the hotel will be undergoing a full renovation of the lobby and the guestrooms starting in August that will address your concerns.

We look forward to serving you again should you return to Memphis.

Thank you,
Travis Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked this hotel through priceline with a winning bid of $55.00 per night. We had a king bed, check in was quick and easy. the front desk clerk was very nice and addressed us by our last name. This hotel is centrally located to everything without being in the hustle and bustle of downtown. One tip, if you do the SUn studios tour, ride the FREE shuttle to Graceland and Beale St. What a gas saver!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefstacey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here 3/2012, booked thru priceline ($65 memphis east). Check in was very fast and smooth, which was appreciated. Room was very large and comfortable with a king bed. Big bathroom, very spacious. Place was clean, AC worked just fine as well. There is no fridge in the room, which was a surprise. Breakfast was good, but I had a problem with payment. They insisted on charging the meal to my room, but for my business expense purposed I need to pay for it on a company card. Their credit card system was not working so they charged it to my room, which I was not happy about. But, breakfast was good.

A big turnoff is a large train that is located across the street. It came barreling through at 5am and was very loud and shook the entire room, waking me up. I've stayed at the Hyatt directly next door and did not have this issue so I probably won't stay here again. But that being said, this is a nice place and the value was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Not your best Courtyard. Dated. Walls are paper thin. Toilets slow and stop up easily. Professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis M, General Manager at Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

The hotel greatly appreciates comments you left regarding the staff and the service that the hotel delivered. The hotel will undergo renovations on the lobby and guestrooms later this year.

Please email me directly (cy.mempa.gm@marriott.com) with the room you stayed in and I will ensure that our maintenance department looks into the bathroom issue.

Sincerely,
Travis Murray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway
0.5 mi away
Marriott Memphis East
Marriott Memphis East
#39 of 138 in Memphis
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue

Address: 6015 Park Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $116 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exhibiting an array of thoughtful amenities for your Tennessee travel experience, Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue features spacious rooms and a convenient location near shopping and dining options. Positioned east of downtown and next to St. Francis Hospital, our hotel is also close to Mike Rose Soccer Complex, GameDay Baseball, University of Memphis and Rhodes College. Once you're done exploring the sights and sounds of Beale Street, return to your hotel room with plush bedding, complimentary Wi-Fi access and a flat-panel TV to stay comfortable and connected. Or stop by The Bistro, open for breakfast and dinner, which serves up fresh fare and drinks along with plenty of space to gather with friends, family and colleagues. During downtime, keep up with your workout routine in our well-equipped fitness center and enjoy access to our refreshing outdoor pool. Whether heading into town for a business trip or family adventures, you'll enjoy the Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Memphis East/Park Avenue Hotel Memphis
Memphis Courtyard
Memphis Marriott
Courtyard Memphis East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing