We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing carpeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
The Villages, Florida
1 review
“Disappointing carpeting”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not at the airport but they have a shuttle. Room has significant airport noise at nite. Carpet in halls should have been replaced a long time ago very stained and worn. Bed comfortable, restaurant ok, service was good to above average for friendliness. The owner needs to put some money in the basics. This is not up to Marriott standards. Mostly carpet made place look dirty. Room was clean. There is an iron gate from the sides to all around the sides and back which I appreciate although this appears to be a commercial business area and would seem safe. Rating is low because carpet is sooo bad

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plh06410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    104
    68
    34
    29
See reviews for
76
79
37
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in July this year as I wanted to go to Graceland (I had previously been to Memphis but ran out of time to visit Graceland due to a rather large hangover from Beale Street the night before hahaha) I got a good deal on this Hotel from Hotwire (paid $75 per night from memory) which is good value considering that accommodation in Memphis (especially close to downtown) is not cheap. This Hotel is perfectly positioned, it is literally a five minute drive to both Graceland and Beale Street, which is a huge bonus. There is a restaurant in the Hotel but we ate across the road for Breakfast at Subway (another convenience if looking to keep down costs when travelling) The Hotel staff were friendly, the room was clean and tidy and modern (when I stayed here they were transforming the outdoor pool area/planting turf and gardens etc) and I don't have anything negative to say about this Hotel. I am at a loss as to how people have given this one and two stars they must be ridiculously hard to please because this Hotel does not correspond to that kind of Trip Advisor Rating. I would recommend this Hotel when looking for a place to stay in Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Sydney_Wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there with my son for Elvis week like thousands of others. I have stayed in a lot of local hotels there, but this was my favorite so far. Very clean and also very secure. Good location. About 2 miles from the airport and two miles from Graceland.

Room Tip: Nice pool. Very clean. Good food, but pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had the good fortune to be upgraded to one of the hotel's suites (being a Marriott rewards member sometimes pays off!). The room was excellent. It was spacious, clean, and quite. The bed was extremely comfortable. All the furniture appeared to be new or in excellent condition. The fitness center is small but it had all of the basics - I used it every evening and was the only one in the place. The front desk staff were attentive and helpful. Dining options are limited to the hotel's cafe, which I didn't use, and the Subway across the street. I drove to the Kettle Restaurant nearby and had a nice (if not greasy) breakfast. There are several other restaurants close by - just a few blocks drive down Mill Branch Rd. (I hear Uncle Lou's Fried Chicken is a good spot).

The location is convenient to the airport. I understand it's probably not the safest part of the city, so there's not much in the way of sights within walking distance. But if you have a car it shouldn't be a problem. Overall a great stay. I've already made plans to stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you're using points on a long-term stay, ask if you can be upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ivebnevrywhereman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Don't expect much else though. There's not much to do around the hotel. No dining options either. If you have a rental car, you're better off. The hotel is 15 minute drive to downtown. A straight run.

The hotel itself is dated, with a modern updated lobby. The rooms are clean, with soft king beds. I slept well. I heard no noise from outside the room or the highway. The parking lot is gated, that was a nice touch. There was room enough in the lot for larger trucks or buses to park in the rear.
Food in the lobby cafe was nice for a quick bite. You'll have to venture out if you want something more substantial. The hotels greatest asset is its proximity to the Memphis airport, which it provides a free shuttle to.

Pool and fitness center were serviceable. No complaints there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Other reviewers mentioned this as being run down, but I would disagree. The lobby and rooms are freshly decorated in a contemporary theme. The location seems to be a bit of a compound since a fence surrounds the entire property. I don't know much about Memphis, but maybe the location of the hotel is not in the best area. The beds were very comfortable - probably the most comfortable mattress I've slept on in a hotel in quite some time. Our only gripe was that we had noisy neighbors and lots of hallway doors closing shut late at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chairman_Wevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay over the 4th of July weekend. Most of the “Beal Street” hotels were either booked or simply too pricy. I came across this property on the Marriott website. While not within walking distance to Beal it did have a pool and appeared to be secure as I was traveling with some teens and tweens. Lobby was very nice as was the rest of the hotel. Pool area was well kempt and they had a nice new grill available. I had asked for connecting rooms and they were able to give us an upgrade that included a small suite with sitting area, wet bar and mini-fridge. The only down side I can mention was the King size bed seemend to be worn as it kinda collapsed in the middel when sitting on the side of the bed. The Subway’s across the street gave us one option to the hotel restaurant. Beal Street area was really not that far considering the freeway system but parking can sometime be a hassle down there. I opted for a parking deck across from the Gibson Guitar factory which was close enough to Beal.
All in all a very nice hotel and would consider it again should the downtown area hotels once again not be an option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Airport Graceland
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Memphis Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Grand Memphis Airport
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Memphis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Memphis Airport

Property: Courtyard Memphis Airport
Address: 1780 Nonconnah Blvd, Memphis, TN 38132-2119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Memphis Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Residential-style Hotel located 2 miles from Memphis Int'l Airport & 3 miles south of Graceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Memphis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Memphis Airport Hotel Memphis
Memphis Marriott
Memphis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing