We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos, allergy friendly”

Maciel's Tortas & Tacos
Ranked #4 of 1,690 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very small mexican restaurant in downtown memphis. Even though they were busy they took time to understand the allergy, soy and soybean oil, and let us know which items would be safe. We had both the Garlic Shrimp and Steak Tacos and they were both delicious. Orders are placed and paid for at the counter and food is brought out to your table. Very casual with a few outside tables.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

The cooks here really know what they’re doing!! Amazing food! The best I’ve had in a while. However sadly the wait staff on Highland are lazy & self-consumed w/their dramatic lifestyle.
My advice: Keep the Kitchen staff and clear out all the Drama Queen/King Waiters.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Missterf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Very good vegetarian burritos and salad dishes! Very busy at lunchtime but plenty of seating and quick turnaround

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank orielh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Helpful wait staff and a great location don’t make up for the lackluster seasonings and combinations of flavors of the tacos. Fresh chips and salsa and tender corn tortillas are very good, but the tacos lack sauces beyond the plastic squeeze bottles of salsa verde and roja on the tables.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank pixelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

We were looking for a dinner place that served Mexican food close to what we had loved so much in So Cal. We found it in full flavor here at Maciel's! The salsas were delicious and ranged from mild - hot to satisfy every palate. We ordered a steak torta and veggie burrito. Both were delicious and left nothing to be desired. The portion size was more than filling and the service was excellent! We'll definitely visit again!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 129stacyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maciel's Tortas & Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing