We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed but still great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Ranked #43 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice new-feeling room, great bed and shower...we booked it to be close to the airport and were pleasantly suprised...Cracker Barrel a 20 step walk...indoor swimming pool terrific with large towels...decent Jacuzzi to boot. Safe area and parking...just needed another person at the front desk...she was overwhelmed but helpful...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear StoneAlone,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and your feedback. We will be sure to have more staff available during our busy times. We are so happy that you enjoyed our close proximity to the airport, as well as our beautiful indoor pool and jacuzzi. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The weekend we stayed was very busy and full of youth soccer players. I was prepared for 2 noisy nights. Once the room door closed, it was very quiet. None of the usual hallway noises could be heard in the room. We slept very comfortably.

I would return again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Donna T,

We are very glad to hear that you were able to sleep comfortably and quietly! We cannot wait to see you again next time you return to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very accommodating. Room was very clean and reasonably priced. One word of caution, breakfast is not a breakfast bar and service is a little slow so if you don't allow yourself a little more time for this you could be a little late if have a morning appointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped over to catch our breath as we moved towards our final destination of Oxford Mississippi. The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly. They doted over my 10 year old son and had a very nice happy hour hors douvres with FREE local beer. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the first time recently. The hotel is quite new and the room was very clean and nice. The front desk clerk was very nice and competent. The area where the hotel is located felt very safe and there are plenty of family restaurants at this exit. This hotel does not come with a complimentary breakfast like some other hotels in this chain, but there is a nicely appointed restaurant inside the hotel lobby.

The hotel is located just off of the Bill Morris Parkway (Highway 385) at the Hacks Cross exit. The hotel is just a few blocks south of Costco and the suburban world headquarters of FedEx. Highway 385 eventually will be a bypass all around the east side of Memphis.

Room Tip: In mid-rise hotels like this you hear less road noise and car doors closing on the upper level, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not worthy of the Starwood name. Don't experience it for yourself! Advertises airport shuttle but driver never shows up and other employees can't find keys to the shuttle bus! My smoke detector went off in the night, they changed my room 2 more times until we could a room that didn't have permanently running water that wouldn't shut off amongst other issues. A kind employee eventually drove me to the airport in her car. The general manager should be canned on the spot. Starwood please put this incompetent operator on probation!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmw501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a nice facility is a safe part of the city, which is really the important thing when staying in Memphis. If you don't get stabbed, you have to give three stars on that alone.

But what it lacked was attention to detail. I paid for the breakfast included but only one person was working in the morning and he was also running room service. Sat in the dining room for 30 minutes without ever getting to order. So do not opt for the breakfast included room rate. The room had a broken bathroom door handle, a long hair on the shower wall, TV reception that came and went and wireless internet that was challenged. And there was a letter from the GM saying that they'd been having problems with room break-ins.

For $125 a night, this hotel was not good enough. At under $100, it would have been sufficient.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the breakfast included room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CycloneReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Memphis-Wolfchase Galleria
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
6.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind

Address: 4090 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $101 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Intersection of Work and Play. Take a quick drive on the expressway to get to downtown, the airport or the many attractions Memphis has to offer including Graceland and the renowned Beale Street. We Know Our Guests’ Needs. Our free wireless High Speed Internet Access makes it easy to stay in touch with home or the office. There’s always something going on in the lobby, from productivity in the free business center to daily breakfast, coffee throughout the day, and dinner and drinks in the evening. We offer guest room dining. Our modern 1200-square-foot event space and our executive boardroom can accommodate up to 100 people combined. When you want some time to yourself, head to the fitness center, heated indoor pool, or indulgent spa. Our 93 spacious suites have everything you need, whether you’re here for business or leisure. Choose from one king or two queen beds made special for Four Points - Four Comfort Beds™, and put up an overnight guest or two on the queen-size sleeper sofa. Stay a while and enjoy the conveniences of home, like a microwave, refrigerator, built-in closet, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing