We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Southeast Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the first time recently. The hotel is quite new and the room was very clean and nice. The front desk clerk was very nice and competent. The area where the hotel is located felt very safe and there are plenty of family restaurants at this exit. This hotel does not come with a complimentary breakfast like some other hotels in this chain, but there is a nicely appointed restaurant inside the hotel lobby.

The hotel is located just off of the Bill Morris Parkway (Highway 385) at the Hacks Cross exit. The hotel is just a few blocks south of Costco and the suburban world headquarters of FedEx. Highway 385 eventually will be a bypass all around the east side of Memphis.

Room Tip: In mid-rise hotels like this you hear less road noise and car doors closing on the upper level, ther...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not worthy of the Starwood name. Don't experience it for yourself! Advertises airport shuttle but driver never shows up and other employees can't find keys to the shuttle bus! My smoke detector went off in the night, they changed my room 2 more times until we could a room that didn't have permanently running water that wouldn't shut off amongst other issues. A kind employee eventually drove me to the airport in her car. The general manager should be canned on the spot. Starwood please put this incompetent operator on probation!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmw501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a nice facility is a safe part of the city, which is really the important thing when staying in Memphis. If you don't get stabbed, you have to give three stars on that alone.

But what it lacked was attention to detail. I paid for the breakfast included but only one person was working in the morning and he was also running room service. Sat in the dining room for 30 minutes without ever getting to order. So do not opt for the breakfast included room rate. The room had a broken bathroom door handle, a long hair on the shower wall, TV reception that came and went and wireless internet that was challenged. And there was a letter from the GM saying that they'd been having problems with room break-ins.

For $125 a night, this hotel was not good enough. At under $100, it would have been sufficient.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the breakfast included room rate.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CycloneReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are members of the Sheraton SPG program and because of rewards try to stay at one of the brands of Sheraton. When looking at going to Memphis we have family and did not like what we read about the downtown Sheraton on Beale street so we choose to find another hotel inside the SPG family. We choose this Southwind version because it had indoor pool (again family with little one) and parking was free. What we found was indeed parking was plenty and was very well lite up so there was no worries about security. The property is kind of out in open so with the lighting and being open I don't believe it has appeal to most thieves. It is also pretty convenient to get on and off of the interstate/beltway loop to be able to get other places. We did find it being on outside loop of city that it did take us 15-20 minutes to get to most attractions. The hotel itself is clean. We got two rooms with one being a King bed and the other having two double beds for our kids. Both rooms had plenty of room and a special almost separate sitting area in it. The sitting area is nice if you got to do things and don't want to wake your spouse. Surprising was they had a larger refrigerator that was empty for our use. We stayed 4 days so this was very nice to have our drinks and junk supplies. In the room also is a microwave which is nice for those leftover take back to hotel room items. The internet is free and works great.
One thing we did try was the in house "PinWheeel" restaurant. It seems to always be empty and the one time we tried it was very very slow and we were their only customer. In 4 days we were there I never once seen anyone in that restaurant. I found it odd that they delivered each of our 4 meals separately over a 10 minute time spread. It seems they automatically add 18% tip to your bill which I don't like. The nice thing is there is plenty of places close by the hotel to eat.
We did alternating days between the "green" status (where they don't clean your room) and full clean. I found that they don't vacuum the floors when they clean which ours really needed (did I mention we have kids and holiday junk food?). I also had to put the heat on emergency heat to be able to get our room from 69 to a comfortable for us 72 as the normal heat mode did not seem to do anything.
Overall not a bad place to stay but does have a few small issues that would not preclude us from trying it again. I am an older person that has traveled most place in US plus 52 other countries so I tend to notice little things that may not bother others. Safety and security for my family is number 1 and I had no issues with that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a soccer group for a tournament. We were greeted by very efficient and friendly staff at the front desk in a very classy, modern lobby. Then we went to our room. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sofa bed was horrible. The carpeting very badly needed to be vacuumed. The nifty dispensers in the bathroom for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were empty. The shower curtain was too short to tuck inthe tub to keep a lake from forming on the floor. We set the air on a comfortable temperature and it went there...and then reverted back to the original hot temperature we found it on. And it was very loud. On the plus side, the breakfast that was provided in a meeting room for our group was very decent and the young man who kept it stocked was very pleasant. The rooms were well soundproofed so we didnt hear noise from the other guests or the traffic we could see on the highway that was very close by. And when I asked for more towels, they brought me a huge stack within minutes. Also, there is a Cracker Barrel restaurant across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cats119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was formerly a Comfort Suites and Sheraton 4 Points bought it and totally renovated the hotel from top to bottom. Really nice place for the money (usually under $100). Rooms are well appointed with nice flat screen tv's, etc., a nice gym and pool as well.
Just one problem with this hotel. It is located in a very suspect part of town. If I were a thief looking for a parking lot full of cars to break in to, this hotels parking lot would be like Christmas morning to me. It simply is not protected enough. The parking is down both sides of the hotel and not in the front where the staff can keep an eye on things. With the cars parked where they are, it would be VERY EASY for a thief to break in to a car or steal it as there is no one to stop them or even see them.
I asked the staff if they had a night guard walking the grounds and they do not. They told me they had never had a problem and did not expect one. But there are at least 20 signs all over this parking lot warning you they they are not responsible. I have enclosed a picture of one and it is not just a warning, it is a very detailed legal entity that relieves the hotel of 100% of the liability in any way concerning your car. If they hotel thought the parking lot was safe, why are the signs every where? I have never seen signs like this anywhere.
Other than this, the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This a pretty new property for SPG this a good easy access place to stay no fuss easy parking. there are many places to eat close by, the hotel restaurant is right in the lobby with no separation, i found that a little weird. The food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. the service is a little slow due to the final cash out part, the waitress runs to the front dest to have it rang up, which brings service to a stand still. Otherwise a good choice for NON tourists that ae just passing thru.Parking lot is well Lit and this seems to be in a pretty good neighborhood. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. I hope everyone finds this helpful.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank boilermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Agent-Rachel, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We do apologize that we were slow when you were attempting to cash out for the evening. We have remedied this by putting a cash drawer at the restaurant. We hope you come back and see us again to see how we have improved!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
6.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#65 of 138 in Memphis
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind

Address: 4090 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $104 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Intersection of Work and Play. Take a quick drive on the expressway to get to downtown, the airport or the many attractions Memphis has to offer including Graceland and the renowned Beale Street. We Know Our Guests’ Needs. Our free wireless High Speed Internet Access makes it easy to stay in touch with home or the office. There’s always something going on in the lobby, from productivity in the free business center to daily breakfast, coffee throughout the day, and dinner and drinks in the evening. We offer guest room dining. Our modern 1200-square-foot event space and our executive boardroom can accommodate up to 100 people combined. When you want some time to yourself, head to the fitness center, heated indoor pool, or indulgent spa. Our 93 spacious suites have everything you need, whether you’re here for business or leisure. Choose from one king or two queen beds made special for Four Points - Four Comfort Beds™, and put up an overnight guest or two on the queen-size sleeper sofa. Stay a while and enjoy the conveniences of home, like a microwave, refrigerator, built-in closet, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing