We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and conveinent to Interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Murphysboro IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and conveinent to Interstate”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are members of the Sheraton SPG program and because of rewards try to stay at one of the brands of Sheraton. When looking at going to Memphis we have family and did not like what we read about the downtown Sheraton on Beale street so we choose to find another hotel inside the SPG family. We choose this Southwind version because it had indoor pool (again family with little one) and parking was free. What we found was indeed parking was plenty and was very well lite up so there was no worries about security. The property is kind of out in open so with the lighting and being open I don't believe it has appeal to most thieves. It is also pretty convenient to get on and off of the interstate/beltway loop to be able to get other places. We did find it being on outside loop of city that it did take us 15-20 minutes to get to most attractions. The hotel itself is clean. We got two rooms with one being a King bed and the other having two double beds for our kids. Both rooms had plenty of room and a special almost separate sitting area in it. The sitting area is nice if you got to do things and don't want to wake your spouse. Surprising was they had a larger refrigerator that was empty for our use. We stayed 4 days so this was very nice to have our drinks and junk supplies. In the room also is a microwave which is nice for those leftover take back to hotel room items. The internet is free and works great.
One thing we did try was the in house "PinWheeel" restaurant. It seems to always be empty and the one time we tried it was very very slow and we were their only customer. In 4 days we were there I never once seen anyone in that restaurant. I found it odd that they delivered each of our 4 meals separately over a 10 minute time spread. It seems they automatically add 18% tip to your bill which I don't like. The nice thing is there is plenty of places close by the hotel to eat.
We did alternating days between the "green" status (where they don't clean your room) and full clean. I found that they don't vacuum the floors when they clean which ours really needed (did I mention we have kids and holiday junk food?). I also had to put the heat on emergency heat to be able to get our room from 69 to a comfortable for us 72 as the normal heat mode did not seem to do anything.
Overall not a bad place to stay but does have a few small issues that would not preclude us from trying it again. I am an older person that has traveled most place in US plus 52 other countries so I tend to notice little things that may not bother others. Safety and security for my family is number 1 and I had no issues with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
37
28
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a soccer group for a tournament. We were greeted by very efficient and friendly staff at the front desk in a very classy, modern lobby. Then we went to our room. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sofa bed was horrible. The carpeting very badly needed to be vacuumed. The nifty dispensers in the bathroom for shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were empty. The shower curtain was too short to tuck inthe tub to keep a lake from forming on the floor. We set the air on a comfortable temperature and it went there...and then reverted back to the original hot temperature we found it on. And it was very loud. On the plus side, the breakfast that was provided in a meeting room for our group was very decent and the young man who kept it stocked was very pleasant. The rooms were well soundproofed so we didnt hear noise from the other guests or the traffic we could see on the highway that was very close by. And when I asked for more towels, they brought me a huge stack within minutes. Also, there is a Cracker Barrel restaurant across the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cats119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 640 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was formerly a Comfort Suites and Sheraton 4 Points bought it and totally renovated the hotel from top to bottom. Really nice place for the money (usually under $100). Rooms are well appointed with nice flat screen tv's, etc., a nice gym and pool as well.
Just one problem with this hotel. It is located in a very suspect part of town. If I were a thief looking for a parking lot full of cars to break in to, this hotels parking lot would be like Christmas morning to me. It simply is not protected enough. The parking is down both sides of the hotel and not in the front where the staff can keep an eye on things. With the cars parked where they are, it would be VERY EASY for a thief to break in to a car or steal it as there is no one to stop them or even see them.
I asked the staff if they had a night guard walking the grounds and they do not. They told me they had never had a problem and did not expect one. But there are at least 20 signs all over this parking lot warning you they they are not responsible. I have enclosed a picture of one and it is not just a warning, it is a very detailed legal entity that relieves the hotel of 100% of the liability in any way concerning your car. If they hotel thought the parking lot was safe, why are the signs every where? I have never seen signs like this anywhere.
Other than this, the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This a pretty new property for SPG this a good easy access place to stay no fuss easy parking. there are many places to eat close by, the hotel restaurant is right in the lobby with no separation, i found that a little weird. The food at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. the service is a little slow due to the final cash out part, the waitress runs to the front dest to have it rang up, which brings service to a stand still. Otherwise a good choice for NON tourists that ae just passing thru.Parking lot is well Lit and this seems to be in a pretty good neighborhood. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly. I hope everyone finds this helpful.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank boilermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Agent-Rachel, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We do apologize that we were slow when you were attempting to cash out for the evening. We have remedied this by putting a cash drawer at the restaurant. We hope you come back and see us again to see how we have improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I travel to Memphis frequently and like to earn points by staying at Comfort Suites, so I've tried a number of them here. This one was very nice, newer, and the location is very close to a lot of restaurants and shopping, while still being convenient to the highway. I was impressed to find out they have an airport shuttle as it is a ways from the airport. Couldn't quite give it an excellent as the lighting in the bathroom is really inadequate for applying makeup. Pretty sconces but more form than function, and a bit of mold along the bathtub. But I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor is wonderfully quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during the summer and the hotel is really nice, but the staff was horrible. When my family and I arrived our first room was dirty, and the second one we were given had other people items still in the room. The staff was horrible both night and morning staff. I will never ever stay at this hotel again. The way they talked to the black people in there was just down right wrong, I am not black and I felt really bad for the way they talked to them. I will never ever stay there again and I will tell all of my friends to avoid this hotel whenever they are in Memphis. To Mr Cerrato and Ms Higgingbotham please find a new line of work!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. With this being our first trip to Memphis we were unsure about where to stay however this turned out to be a great pick. The surrounding area was quite and near shopping....Our room was elegant and clean, hot breakfast every morning, and the workers at the front desk were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#58 of 136 in Memphis
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Memphis East/Bill Morris Parkway
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
6.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind

Property: Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Address: 4090 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Intersection of Work and Play. Hop aboard the free shuttle that takes guests between Memphis International Airport (MEM) and The Four Points by Sheraton Memphis – Southwind. Once you’re here, it can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of our hotel, like FedEx’s world headquarters and the TPC Southwind golf course. Or take a quick drive on the expressway to get to downtown or Graceland.We Know Our Guests’ Needs. Our free wireless High Speed Internet Access makes it easy to stay in touch with home or the office. There’s always something going on in the lobby, from productivity in the free business center to daily breakfast, coffee throughout the day, and dinner and drinks in the evening. Our modern 1200-square-foot event space and our executive boardroom can accommodate up to 65 people combined. When you want some time to yourself, head to the fitness center, heated indoor pool, or indulgent spa.Fit for The King. Our 93 spacious suites have everything you need, whether you’re here for business or leisure. Choose from one king or two queen Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds™, and put up an overnight guest or two on the queen-size sleeper sofa. Stay a while and enjoy the conveniences of home, like a microwave, refrigerator, built-in closet, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing