We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of soul fish cafe

soul fish cafe
Ranked #49 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was told that this was a great restaurant, so we thought we'd give it a try. We weren't disappointed, the food ( I had catfish, my wife had chicken salad) was well cooked and the service of a high standard, our waitress was extremly helpful when it came to what size of plate I should go for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davido0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    84
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best meals in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We wanted to try catfish while in Memphis. I googled "best fried catfish in Memphis". Soul Fish Cafe was one of the top picks so we decided to give it a try. From the outside it looked a little iffy but the parking lot was full which was a good sign. We were not disappointed. Everything we had was great....even tried their Caramel Pecan Pie (which was excellent). This is definitely a "to do" in Memphis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fish, unpretentious place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This little hole-in-the-wall cafe does a superb job of frying catfish. I had the fried catfish, which was tasty and moist. My husband had the blackened catfish, which was a little more blackened than he cared for, but that's a matter of taste. The broccoli was done very well, as was the cornbread. The only disappointment for me were the hushpuppies, which in my opinion were overcooked, too dark and dry, although the taste was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank missmyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
393 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very reasonable place to go if you want a fairly basic fish dinner. Their prices are ver reasonable and service is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good souther food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I googled for the best restaurants in memphis and one of the top 10 results brought us to "Soul Fish Cafe". Things I tried - hushpuppies, catfish basket, shrimp basket, pickle fries and okra fries.
I didn't have any space left to try catfish poboys.
The only thing I did't like was the ambiance, I was expecting an up scale place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed soul fish cafe also viewed

 

Been to soul fish cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing