We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best meals in Memphis”
Review of soul fish cafe

soul fish cafe
Ranked #35 of 1,447 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best meals in Memphis”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We wanted to try catfish while in Memphis. I googled "best fried catfish in Memphis". Soul Fish Cafe was one of the top picks so we decided to give it a try. From the outside it looked a little iffy but the parking lot was full which was a good sign. We were not disappointed. Everything we had was great....even tried their Caramel Pecan Pie (which was excellent). This is definitely a "to do" in Memphis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    89
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Fish, unpretentious place”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This little hole-in-the-wall cafe does a superb job of frying catfish. I had the fried catfish, which was tasty and moist. My husband had the blackened catfish, which was a little more blackened than he cared for, but that's a matter of taste. The broccoli was done very well, as was the cornbread. The only disappointment for me were the hushpuppies, which in my opinion were overcooked, too dark and dry, although the taste was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank missmyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very reasonable”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very reasonable place to go if you want a fairly basic fish dinner. Their prices are ver reasonable and service is good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good souther food!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I googled for the best restaurants in memphis and one of the top 10 results brought us to "Soul Fish Cafe". Things I tried - hushpuppies, catfish basket, shrimp basket, pickle fries and okra fries.
I didn't have any space left to try catfish poboys.
The only thing I did't like was the ambiance, I was expecting an up scale place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't beat the catfish!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very good!!! Not many places cook catfish to order..I mean hot, fresh and not greasy. Hush puppies are great too!
My girl and I split a large catfish basket...more than enough food. Wait even brought us an extra piece of fish...she said one of ours looked small...imagine that..how often does that happen in a restaurant? We had fresh fries, fried orka and slaw. More than filling...it was great!
This is the Cooper Young location...it's been years since I dined at the Germantown one. New location opening soon...Poplar and Colonial area..Hot fish!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to soul fish cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing