We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roomy, unique with great owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roomy, unique with great owners”
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We chose Talbot Heirs because of the wonderful location in downtown Memphis. The small bed and breakfast is discrete, almost like entering a private home. We stayed in room # 8 which had a separate living area and kitchette. The owners actually moved us to this room when I mentioned an allergy to feathers, and it was an upgrade for which we were not charged. Sandy and Tom, the friendly and knowledgeable owners, could provide information like the best concierge. Our needs were catered to from the moment we arrived.

The only negatives that we could find at Talbot Heirs is that there is no elevator, but the stairs up one flight were no big deal, and Tom negotiated the bags. The other negative would be that downtown Memphis is noisy at times, but I once stayed awake a good part of the night at the more expensive, posh hotel across the street. Sandy and Tom will do whatever is needed to make the stay comfortable. We would recommend Talbot Heirs to anyone, and if the stay in Memphis were extended, it would be like having a small apt. as opposed to just a hotel room. We have stayed in many different places, but Talbot Heirs was one of the most unique, and we could not have been treated more kindly. Southern Hospitality at its very best!

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful owners and spaciousness
  • Disliked — downtown is sometimes noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Talk to Tom and Sandy, owners, about your specific needs when choosing a suite
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pam319blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
223
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 8, 2006

Thank you Tom & Sandy!

3 girls visiting Memphis for the first time... June 1-4, 2006. Arriving Talbot Heirs, we were greeted and welcomed at the door by the owner Tom. Tom got his exercise when he helped us with our luggage. LOL. We met lovely Sandy, who was so welcoming and helpful, and also, gave us a tour of the suites. Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts, who really do make you feel like you're at home!

All the suites are unique with their own style, and decor. 2nd story. I believe our suite, #2, had the largest rooms. Furnished full-size kitchen, fridge, oven, microwave, pots, glassware, with bar/stools; area with couch and table/chairs for laptop, with internet access; large living room with comfy sofas, cable tv, stereo/cd player, large windows with view of Second Street; separate bedroom with king bed and tv; nice size walk in closet; clean bathroom! Plenty of space! And... a piano... which was a nice touch & made for fun photos! A continental breakfast was provided in the kitchen consisting of juices, milk, yogurt, tea, coffee, breakfast bars, cereal, etc. One thing on the wish list is a full length mirror. The bathroom mirror is large, horizontal, cutting off at the waist. A full length mirror would be nice to make sure we're wearing the right shoes with our outfits. LOL.

Great location on Second Street. Opposite of the Peabody House. Walking distance to everything. Blocks away from Beale Street and trolley.

Sleep - noise control (our experience)
Our suite was closest to Second Street with view from living room. The separate bedroom with king bed was set back, and made for a quiet sleep. However, the person sleeping in the living room, on pull out sofa, or cot provided, did not get good sleep. The street traffic noise was a problem. The following evening we made room for the cot in the bedroom and all was well. Saturday, our last evening, we spent mellow in the suite, with intentions of an early night/early rise for our next day room check out, etc. Intentions of sleeping prior to 3am was out of the question. The street noise grew louder and now was heard in the back 'quiet' bedroom. Looking out the window on Second Street is bumper to bumper traffic aka cruising, in all 3 street lanes, as far as the eye could see out the window. Blasted music, crowded streets, crowded nearby bars... of course, it's Saturday night, everyone is out on the town, having a good time! It's where we should be! However, it wasn't, and we spent the evening looking out the window at Second Street. The cops finally diverted the traffic at 2:00am. Apparently, Second Street is a no cruise zone, but unaware why it wasn't enforced that evening. After 2am the noise subsided to the nearby crowded bars until ?

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2006

I travel on business all the time. This is the most comfortable I have ever been while out of town on business. TThis is not a hotel, it is a B&B of sorts. I can't wait to be sent to Memphis again. Tom and Sandy are awesome, the rooms are great, the location is great, and the towels were soft and smelled good too!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R&RExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2006

This place is a real find in downtown Memphis. We were at a conference in late February at the Peabody which is right across the street. I had read that the Peabody had small rooms at more expense so I went with the apartment atmosphere of Talbot Heirs. My husband had enough room to hang out during the day while I was conferencing, he could make himself something to eat, watch TV (DVD player included) or go across the street to the entertainment complex. Sandy and Tom are gems and they really take care of you. The bed in our room was a little hard for my taste, but they gladly came up with extra padding and an extra pillow. They provide coffee, tea, cereal, milk and juice. Be aware that there isn't a microwave in Suite 7 which was OK...I just relearned how to cook bacon the old fashioned way. A great trip and great place to be. Check out the Memphis Zoo while you're there. It's a really nice zoo with a great variety of creatures in decent habitats.

Helpful?
1 Thank Libguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

Stayed for two nights and really liked it here. Owners were amazingly helpful and friendly - greeted us at the door at 7:30 pm. Parking is difficult - you park in a garage that is at least a block away - probably a five minute walk. My husband didn't mind too much, but I thought it was a little pain.

We had the least expensive room - suite 7 at $125 a night - nearly half the price of the others. I checked out a lot of the other suites and, though they were larger (some with a separate bedroom), I didn't see any I liked better than ours. (Ours did have the most uncomfortable bed we stayed in during our two-week cross-country drive - maybe that's one reason it's less expensive? It was rock hard and squeeked if you so much as sneezed.)

The guesthouse used to be an apartment building, so all the suites had full kitchens with full-size refrigerators and stoves/ovens. No microwaves (at least in ours - maybe the larger rooms had them). Tea pot, coffee maker, great selection of glassware, even some pots and pans. Appreciated the food left in the kitchen for our breakfast (and much prefer this to the more traditional B&B offering of communal breakfast at an ungodly early hour) - coffee (that made a full pot), tea, biscotti, granola bars, cookies, juice, low fat and skim milk, cereal in little boxes, yogurt, bottled water - a good variety- all free. Would have LOVED having wine or beer for purchase.

Ate ribs at the Rendezvous both nights we were there -it was tough walking by all those other intriguing restaurants, but the world's best dry ribs beckoned.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank restonres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2005

Saw the "Be nice or Leave' sign, recognized it as tongue in cheek outsider art, took it with a grain of salt. Actually, I took it! (Bought it, that is.) This is the place for travelers who are tired of cookie-cutter rooms; across from the Peabody, steps from scrumptious, contemporary southern eateries and two or three blocks from Beale St.-and a block from the trolley. We found the hosts responsive and helpful, the premises clean. We are ourselves in the arts-poetry, photography, music and we seek out places that are more personal and have artistic flair. Hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2005

My wife and I loved this place. The rooms/suites are better than any hotel rooms we have stayed in with each uniquely decorated. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of the Memphis restaurant and entertainment areas. The new owners are wonderful real life people and go out of their way to make you feel right at home. We would highly reccomend this hidden gem.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank buckbuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Property: Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing