We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in september on our 6 week US tour. One of best hotels/inns we encountered on entire trip from San Francisco to Key West; and we really had lots of good hotels on our way.
Service is personal, helpful and friendly. And fantastic location, 2 minutte walk to Beale st. Rooms are unik and different, and very comfortable.
Not the cheapest place to stay but worth every penny.
Will be back for sure if I ever am in Memphis again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmellyApearms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

I found Talbot Heirs almost by accident on Tripadvisor and what a find.
We were travelling with friends and looking for a Memphis experience , not a clinical chain hotel room and boy did Talbot Heirs deliver that incredible friendly experience for us.
Tom and Sandy are wonderful hosts and nothing _____I mean nothing is too much trouble for them. We arrived very early in the morning and as expected our rooms were not ready so Tom suggested we try the Arcade Restaurant for breakfast and what a great choice and terrific start to our Memphis visit.
Not only the oldest restaurant in town but a GENUINE trip back in time to a 1950's diner and not to be missed.
Talbot Heirs is in the perfect location right opposite the Peabody Hotel (complete with the ducks) and only a block and a bit from Beale Street.
All the rooms are really studio type appartments, well appointed, full kitchens stocked with goodies to get you started each day, clean, spacious, internet connections, very quiet and private and each one has its own character and charm.
I cannot recommend this place too much______do yourself a favour and give it a try .
You will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here while our Memphis condo was going through some renovations. It was very clean, comfortable, and hassle free. The location is superb. A+ across the board.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Talbot Heirs is the best hideaway which offers a top notch concierge service, great location, romantic privacy, & superb rooms. Tom & Sandy, the owners, made our stay enjoyable, entertaining, informative, and most of all very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monthlytraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is THE place to be if you want to experience Memphis. The funky colors, art and clever details let you know that you have stepped into the world of Memphis soul and rock and roll. The hospitality, classy furnishings, and ultra-clean suites remind you that this place is on par with any world class hotel - only better. You can't tell from the web photos how incredibly roomy these suites are. They are like little apartments. Some are studios, others have a second bedroom, but they're all so spacious that the innkeepers should worry their guests might never leave. The colors, plush bedding and well-stocked kitchens just make you feel happy. Each suite is special and unique, some are traditional, others have a more eclectic design. No matter which one you choose, you can't go wrong. We stayed in suite seven, a warm inviting maroon room with a step-up to the full kitchen and a seating bar in-between. Everything was very clean and fresh. The furnishings were all new. The bathroom was a little tight and slightly outdated, but it was clean, functional and comfortable enough.

One thing to think about: this is a very non-traditional B&B. Breakfast is self-serve from a supply of continental-style items stocked in your kitchen. The entire B&B is housed on one floor of a multi-story building. The street entrance is just a door that leads to a stairway. You follow a hallway upstairs and the interior is a long hallway like a floor in an apartment building. Guest room doors line each side of the hall. There isn't a common lounging space - so if you are traveling with folks who need to make noise while you sleep, you'll need a suite with a separate bedroom. Otherwise, there's not really anywhere else to go. Likewise, there wasn't a common area computer when I was there. I needed to do some urgent business work and they let me use their computer - such great people! Just know not to expect a typical B&B in a stand alone home. This is city living at its best.

Our only mistake with the Talbot Heirs was that we only booked one night. We regretted it right away. We should have stayed the week. You walk out the door and you are just a block away from Beale Street, great food and all the Memphis nightlife. It's an easy trolley ride to sights like the Rock and Soul Museum and the Civil Rights Museum. There's plenty to do, see and eat. The music scene is authentic and unmatched. If I could sum up the Talbot Heirs in two words, it would be: "Stay Here!"

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SapphireBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Found this hotel by chance on the internet,took a liking to one of the suites,we were not disappointed far from it,Sandy & Tom our hosts could not have been more helpful giving info about places to eat,visit,shuttles etc even arranging Champagne for when we
arrived to celebrate our anniversary,two nicer people you would be hard pressed to find,
the suite was furnished beautifully, quirky I'd read, well it certainly was but without doubt
"The only place to stay for us"if we ever get the chance to go back to Memphis(hope so)
ideally situated 5 minutes walk to Beale Street.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolEagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I stayed here with my son for two nights. The hotel is in as good a location possible if the requirement is to be downtown (Why would you visit Memphis & stay anywhere else I ask?). Two mins from Beale St. Have breakfast/brunch at the Blue Plate Cafe. Ask Tom r Sandy for directions. Its not far but well worth it. Tom & Sandy (owners) do all they can to make your stay a wonderfull experience. The hotel is on the 2nd floor but don't worry!! Super hero Tom flies downstairs to meet you & carry any cases upstairs. He says that it saves him on gym membership!! Beware.......I think that we were extremely lucky to get a room so BOOK EARLY. Ask for the best room if money ain't so tight. We stayed in suite 3 but after "looking" into other suites (one with a grande piano!!) we realised that there were better suites. But ours was perfectly good & I recommend ANYONE to stay her.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range: $194 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing