We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across Peabody, excellent downtown choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Memphis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 17 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Across Peabody, excellent downtown choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I came across the Talbot Heirs during my desperate search for a place to stay in Memphis. All downtown hotels were fully booked. I loved the place and wished I had stayed longer (I was in town just for one night). It is a great option for large families as rooms are really large. I stayed in a room with a large kitchen and living room. Place is clean and safe. Talbot Heirs is just across the Peabody. They were ofering a deal with Peabody's fitness center. I loved their gesture to wait for me at the door. I arrived in town late in the evening and the staff waited for me at the door making sure I had everything I needed before leaving for the night. Having a few free items in the (large -size) refrigerator such as milk and orange as well as tea and cookies was a great welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCNICE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
221
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The Talbot Heirs Guesthouse is a lovely bed and breakfast tucked away in downtown Memphis. It is in a historic building and the suites have their original wooden floors, high ceilings and antiques. The hosts , Tom and Sandy, have a wealth of knowledge about the city and will go out of their way to make sure your visit is perfect. The location is across from the Peabody and it is within walking distance of many of the attractions in Memphis. Could not have asked for a better bed and breakfast!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Overshadowed by the Peabody Hotel across the road but not out-shined The suite was comfortable, homely with lovely interior decor. The facilities provided for breakfast just right for a quick bite before travelling to Graceland, Sun Studios or Lorraine Motel. And after dark it's just down the road from Beale Street for some of the best live music in the South.Check out Dr Feelgood Potts. Manager Gary(?) was so helpful about how to get about and where to eat. Great recommendation is the Flying Fish next door and Hueys for a burger. We stayed at 11 hotels during our 3 week trip and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This place was great. Our room (#4) is literally a suite. Super clean. Awesome shower pressure and plenty of hot water.

I enjoyed this way more than a hotel room. It was really, really comfortable. It was like staying in your own condo while on vacation.

The location can't be beat. It's within walking distance of just about everything but Sun/Staxx Records and Graceland.

The parking is not much of an issue unless you needed your car frequently or in the rain. It sat there until we left for Nashville.

Have confidence. Go for it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aitkin, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had the best time staying at Talbot Heirs and highly recommend it. Close to the action, great food and fun times. Tom and Sandy and their staff are the best. The rooms are unique and provide all you need. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the moment you make a reservation everything is taken care of by the in house managers, Tom & Sandy. We were there for the IBC Blues Festival. Great location just two blocks from Beal Street. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and inviting. The place makes you feel at home. We often left the door open and visited with other guests who passed bye. In the evening we found the rooms to be comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. A well stocked kitchen made mornings enjoyable. An extra $10 for covered parking with unlimited access was more than worth the charge. Our friends stayed just across the street at the famous Peabody Hotel and were jealous of our accommodations. Thanks to Tom and Sandy for the enjoyable week.

Room Tip: You would be happy with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne and Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Why do people stay at Comfort Inns, Westins, and Peabodys? Because they do not want any surprises; you know exactly what to expect. Now if you would rather have a surprise, and not know what will happen next, then the Talbot Heirs is the best experience. It is situated at the top of a long flight of stairs, and the hosts will even carry up your luggage if you are decrepit. But you will have to climb up and down the stairs yourself,unless you have brought your own porters to carry you. If you are unable to climb a flight of stairs then this is not the place for you. It is easy to miss and pass the single door entrance on Second Street with a painted sign above the door. It is next to the Flying Fish restaurant, and across from the Peabody Hotel, and a short couple blocks from Beale Street. There is supposed to be a reserved space on the street in front to stop and unload/load luggage but most times someone is parked there. Parking is a short walk away in a covered parking garage. Cost is 10$/day (paid to the guesthouse) with unlimited in and out privileges. The host will show you and even accompany you if you need more directions. You may not find this site under Hotels if you search, as it only takes telephone/fax reservations and not thru the internet, so it may be listed under Bed and Breakfasts or Guesthouses. You will start smiling as you are led along the hallway with interesting paintings on the wall, and your smile will only get bigger as you see your studio apartment-like suite. As soon as you walk in the room, you wish you were going to stay longer!There are 7 guest rooms, each a bit different. Ours (#7) has great decor, a sitting area in front of the very comfortable bed, a full kitchen (full refrigerator/freezer [you will hear it cycling on and off at night], stove, oven, sink, dishes, martini and wine glasses; but no microwave). The place was super clean. "Free" snacks, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, bottled water, orange juice, etc. are included. There is a very pleasant sitting balcony deck (with high walls so only views of the sky). A walk-in closet, with two luggage racks. A roll-away bed is available for a third person.The bathroom had very high quality towels, and there was space next to the sink for toiletries; needed another towel rack. The hosts trade off every couple of weeks; we had Tom and Sandy who were extremely friendly, with great advice about restaurants and directions. It isn't often you have a host who quotes Gandhi while folding towels! We got to visit the large sunny front guestroom, with a separate bedroom and a large grand piano. Our cost was 190$/day total (including tax and parking). This was a great off-beat place to stay in Memphis; we hope to go back to stay longer.

Room Tip: The hosts will give you advice when you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Property: Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing