We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't get the blues if you stay here...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You won't get the blues if you stay here...”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I got this recommendation from a guide book and checked it out via trip advisor. It didn't disappoint. The rooms are quirky,charming and spacious. We stayed in room no. 6 which had a separate bedroom, bathroom and a living and kitchen area. Every morning fresh orange juice, cereal, milk, biscuits and water was replenished. The location is ideal, a few minutes from legendary Beale Street, the Rock and Soul Museum and the Gibson Guitar factory and about 10 minutes or so from the National Civil Rights Museum. The hosts, Sandy and Tom are very knowledgeable about their city and are full of tips and recommendations - nothing is too much trouble and when our flights were screwed up they were very helpful in letting us use their computer and telephone to sort things out. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Talbot Heirs and would definitely stay again if ever in Memphis.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the second floor up a fairly steep flight of stairs and there's no lift whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
223
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were on a road trip and wanted to stay in downtown Memphis for a couple of nights. Found Talbot Heirs on TripAdvisor and so glad we did. Perfectly situated for Beale Street. Rooms are all kind of sixties/seventies period with unusual decoration, but very pleasant. Room we had was very large and had a kitchen, shower, outside rooftop area (useful if you smoke), comfy bed, etc. it was raining when we arrived and the hosts met us outside with umbrellas, offloaded our bags and took us to the parking garage (2 mins walk). No breakfast served but the kitchen was stocked with snacks and soft drinks. Very central. They told us where to get the shuttle for Graceland, which restaurants to eat in, etc. Very nice people. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available, they are all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_UK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was thrilled to find a quaint B&B in downtown Memphis. This place truly lived up to the reviews. Our room had a baby grand piano in it, the room was clean and comfortable with a living room, bedroom and full kitchen. I will continue to stay at the Talbot Heirs whenever I'm in Memphis!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susantaylormd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved the place!!! Jerry was a great help on where to go and what to see. Very friendly family!! We walked everywhere. Just minutes from everything. This is the place to stay if you come to Memphis!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We lived in Memphis for years and never knew this was there. It is surely a gem that we discovered only when we came back to Memphis to visit our daughter. The location simply cannot be beat. It is within walking distance of most of the best places to eat and visit in Memphis. Tom and Sandy make you feel right at home so much so that we stay there every time we go back. Make your reservation as far in advance as you can and ask for Room #2, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for Room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DrRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice 8-room guesthouse (I guess that means a B&B without the second B) smack in the middle of downtown across from the Peabody Hotel, home of the famous ducks and an easy short walk away from Beale Street - couldn't be better! Large, clean and comfy rooms with a small kitchen and with complimentary coffee and tea, cold cereals and milk, tasty biscotti, orange juice, and even bottled water. Quite reasonable rates. A small corner grocery is just a few blocks away if you want to do some cooking. The owners were just as friendly and attentive as could be and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. BOTH THUMBS UP! (But do book early!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndySourkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I can’t say enough good things about Talbot Heirs. This is undoubtedly the best hotel/guesthouse at which I’ve ever had the pleasure of staying. The location can’t be beat; it’s in the heart of Memphis and within walking distance to anything you need downtown. The inn consists of just eight rooms which were formally studio apartments, and the owners, who live on site, will even shop for your groceries and stock your kitchen before you arrive if you provide them with a list. (Included with the room were bottled water, orange juice, coffee, biscotti, oatmeal, milk and cereal for two people. Whatever you use will be replaced the next day at no additional cost.) Each room is cozy, unique, and beautifully decorated (we stayed in room 8 and loved it).

The best thing about this place is the genuine pride, care, and service that the owners, Tom and Sandy, exhibit. You won’t find this level of service anywhere, not even at the (much more expensive) Peabody across the street. Upon our arrival, Tom was waiting outside for us and actually got into the car to show us to the parking garage. He carried our luggage to the room, showed us around, and then spent a good 10 minutes talking to us about our plans and providing recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Every time we saw him throughout the weekend, he’d stop and make conversation and ask us how things were going.

At only $20 more than the Holiday Inn on the next block, and almost $100 cheaper than the Peabody across the street, this is absolutely the best place to stay in Memphis. Charming, quirky, comfortable (oh, how I miss that bed!), affordable, and a wonderful experience. It really says a lot about a hotel when it becomes a major highlight of your trip. If we’re ever in Memphis again, I know where we’ll be staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Property: Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing