We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such Freindly People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such Freindly People”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just back from a multi city trip to the states and stayed in different types of accommodation and can say that the people at Talbot Heirs were the friendliest and most helpful we encountered. On arrival we were greeted in our rooms by Gerry who heard what we were hoping to do in town and promptly marked on the places of interest for us on the local map and added a few more tips, on places to eat and see too. This is a guest house and not a hotel but there was always some one around to help out. They let us book in on line and print out our boarding cards the day before we left for our next destination. The rooms were great for what we wanted as we were a group of three so the seperate bedroom and put me bed was the best option for us rather than having two rooms at a hotel. The location was great too right in the centre of the downtown area. Other than going to and from the airport we only had one other taxi ride in our five days in town, so the the cost of this guesthouse though a little higher than some in the area paid for itself in time getting to and from our trips. Which included a river cruise (10 minute walk away) Gracelands and Sun studio tour (2 minutes to Pick up point), Beale street (2 minutes away) and the Peabody hotel (across the road).

Room Tip: You can look at all the rooms online at their website so choose which one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
222
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Walked into room and went fantastic! Rooms are very large, kitchens quite good and loved the juice/water/cereals/milk top ups everyday. Bed very comfortable thou squeaky, towels beautiful and soft. Decor is different but nice, made me feel like I was at a very nice home where I could relax.
Was great to be able to use the washing machine and dryer at no cost.
Would def recommend!!! The Australians

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesdm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I thought it would be an adventure to stay at a guesthouse instead of a hotel. I have been to bed-and-breakfasts and hotels, but not a guesthouse. I guess a guest house is just that- no quaint breakfast or guests like at a b&b, or nice lobby and services like at a hotel.

Talbot Heirs is centrally located in Memphis, directly across from the Peabody Hotel. Our room was spacious and clean however the decor can best be described as out-of-date: old kitchen, small box TVs, pitiful looking plants, gross shower curtain. There are no "pleasant surprises" either... They say they provide cereal, granola, milk for breakfast. Yep, corn flakes, natural valley bars, and small milk cartons like from school. On a positive note, Jerry the manager is very helpful and nice.

Bottom line- Talbot Heirs is a clean place to stay in a great downtown Memphis location- nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerswife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

You can't beat their location but the decor is really old, kinda late 80s early 90s, corian counters, bathroom tile needed resurfacing, bedding very clean but way out of style. I hear the people who run it are great but I never met them, my husband dealt with them but they were very hands off (which some people may like). Plus, its just about a cigar store and I am super sensitive to the smell, I could smell it but others may not be as sensitive. Sorry to say I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room towards rear of building so you are not above the downstairs cigar store
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington, il
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were in Memphis for the first time in January celebrating a few milestone birthdays and wanted to stay somewhere special- with character and off the beaten path. This place worked out wonderfully! The accommodations were spacious and full of special touches from the edgy art to the super soft towels, exercise bike, food and comfy bed.... This is the cleanest room we have ever stayed in! Jerry was an awesome host making great recommendations for music and food and buying us shots at Blues City Cafe where Hillbilly Casino was playing. The location was absolutely perfect with only a short walk to Beale Street and a very doable walk to the Civil Rights Museum, the Riverfront and many other attractions. Jerry made sure we had a map and directions. Thanks for the hospitality Jerry and we will be back!

Room Tip: If you are vertically challenged you might want to inquire about bed height- I kind of had to jump...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyfromillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I can say enough about the Talbot Heirs! The rooms are super-comfy decorated with arts/crafts and outsider art and the hosts Jerry/ Sandy and Tom were outstanding in recommending places to eat, see and enjoy our time in Memphis. The room comes with snacks, water and juices and our rooms had a great kitchenette area which was perfect for eating in. As other reviewers have said, the location is wonderful. The guesthouse is located about 2 blocks from Beale Street, 3 blocks from the FedEX forum, Gibson Guitar museum and other great attractions. We were able to pretty much walk anywhere and find famous restaurants and great music!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an amazing guesthouse smack in the middle of Memphis, walking distance to Beale Street and restaurants. We had a gorgeous suite and it was incredibly comfortable. Jerry, the concierge, was so very helpful and kind. These folks really care about taking care of their customers!
The room was stocked with snacks and cereals for breakfast, too. And there was beautiful art on the walls, which we appreciated.
I can't say enough great things about this place!

Room Tip: We loved Suite#8, but all the rooms were saw were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheadtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,055 reviews
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Property: Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing