We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memphis Miracle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Memphis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A definite highlight of our US trip - we loved staying here so much that I feel bad that it's taken so long to write this review. Amazing location with everything you want to see within walking distance & the friendliest host you could imagine. The dinner recommendation suit us perfectly as we wanted some great Memphis bbq & were pointed in the direction of Charles Vergo's Rendezvous which was outstanding (which reminds me, I have to do a review of this place also!) Truly a memorable stay, do not even consider staying anywhere else! The rooms are beautiful & we had a full kitchen & lounge room in addition to a spacious bedroom for half the price of a hotel. I am devastated in one aspect though - we were originally meant to stay 2 nights and due to unforeseen circumstances, could only stay one which was not nearly enough & I think I'm going to have to try & go back!! Tom gave us some great recommendations of things to see & do & helped us plan our time wisely for our short trip so we got to see as much as possible. I promise you won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhi_Woodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is such a great little hideaway in Memphis. I honestly do not know why you would want to stay anywhere else!

The location is great for downtown sighseeing and there are lots of great places to eat, explore and socialise in the area.

Frank, Sandy, and Dana are the most amenable hosts you could wish for. They are just so delightfully helpful and you feel as though you have your own personal concierge down the hall.

The rooms are beautifully and tastefully finished with all amenities required in the kitchen area.
Comfortable beds and spotlessly clean.

Its such a nice change from a bog standard hotel--far more personable, quieter and all the local artwork that the guesthouse displays makes you really feel the Southern Charm.

Stay here and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and confortable so you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chooochoootrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I couldn't fault this place in any way. We decided to splash out a little on accommodation in Memphis, and I'm not sorry. I didn't realise how much extra we would get for our money's worth, compared to many other hotels and motels we stayed in. We're a family of three (teenage kid), on a three week road trip of the States from NY to New Orleans, Houston and back to NY. So we stayed in a fair amount of places, with a lot of variety in the type and quality of rooms and facilities. This place tops the list and made our stay in Memphis particularly memorable, from the quality of the beds and furniture, the kitchen, facilities etc., to the little extras provided in the kitchen like milk, cereal, coffee and more. Luxurious enough to make you feel special, but comfortable enough to make you feel right at home. I would recommend Talbot Heirs to anyone considering it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanchia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Found Talbot Heirs on Tripadvisor and it appeared to fit the bill for us - good location, friendly and a bit quirky.
Glad to report it exceeded our (already high) expecations. We were late arriving due to traffic problems on I70 but Tom was waiting for us. After we'd offloaded the cases he even came with me to show me the way to the car park.
Location fantastic - just 2 blocks from Beale Street and a host of other attractions.
Tom and Sandy very friendly and a mine of useful local information.
Suite was magnificent and as for quirky - we've never has a suite with a grand piano in it before !

Room Tip: Suite 2 has a grand piano, great views over the PeabodyHotel and 2nd Street but the bedroom is at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first stay in Memphis and this was the PERFECT place for our visit. Right
downtown across from the Peabody Hotel and steps away from Beale. Sandy and Tom run a wonderful boutique hotel. Rooms (suites) were impeccable, clean cozy and so comfortable. I appreciated the free Wi-fi, full kitchen area, Tom and Sandy really made us feel like houseguests. I won't stay anywhere else when coming back to Memphis!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLPA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Memphis. This location is absolutely perfect!! The owners/staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The rooms are huge. Having a refrigerator is always a nice treat. Shower had good heat and good pressure. They cleaned up for you when you were gone. Towels were soft. The bed was large and comfy. Access to the trolley is right around the corner. Convenience store is "conveniently" located right next to the front entrance. The only reason you wouldn't want to stay here is if you are a stuffy/uptight person. This is not the 4 Seasons. The sink is not gold plated. The floor in the bathroom is probably linoleum not marble. This place is laid back with funky local art lining the walls of the hallway. They've got a good system down on how to meet and handle their guests. Great Value. Would highly recommend to any of my friends…

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed over the 4th of July week. What an awesome place!! So quirky and clean and comfortable. We were a group of 4 adults and we had room to spare. Tom brought in 2 roll away beds and they were very comfy. The bath was large and great water pressure. I loved that the room included a small kitchen and was stocked with coffee, juice and breakfast items.

The location is perfect for a short walk to Beale St. Tom was very helpful with suggestions on where to eat, we tried several of them and he was "right on" Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Stayed in unit 4. very large with a seperate bedroom and living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Heirs Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Heirs Guesthouse

Address: 99 S 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38103-3026
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Memphis
Price Range: $194 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Talbot Heirs Guesthouse we provide spacious, comfortable, more creative accommodations suited to a variety of travelers. We are located in the heart of downtown Memphis, within walking distance of Beale Street, fine dining and a variety of entertainment. Our mission is to provide privacy, hospitality and the personal service you deserve when away from home. All of our suites have full kitchens that are stocked with complimentary breakfast items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Heirs Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Heirs Guesthouse Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing