We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!!”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

come to Memphis from STL a few times a year...first time trying Central BBQ & was very impressed.

huge meal size, lot's of options and they pack it to go the right way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennySTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,635
    793
    275
    55
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
576 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great Bar-BQ, economical, convenient location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dropped in here after leaving the National Civil Rights Museum, just across the street. We thought it might be closed at first, it's not very prominent from the outside except for their neon sign.

You order your meal from the cashier as you enter, then find a table. They have everything from sandwiches to salads and dinner platters - all featuring some form of Bar-BQ. They have a nice selection of standard and craft beers too in bottles and on tap.

Our meal was brought to us in just a few minutes. We ordered chef salads, one with Bar-BQ turkey, the other with Bar-BQ chicken. The salads were served in a HUGE taco shell and included more meat than salad ingredients. We were full when we had completed them.

No wifi, no music at lunch on Jan. 2 when we ate there. But a good meal at a reasonable price. Our tab came to $22.63 including 1 beer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ; fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We hit up Central BBQ at the end of the lunch rush around 2p. Still had a line out the door, but it moved quickly and we were able to get a seat inside. Great blues music was playing and it was a casual, fun dining room.

Food was served promptly. We shared ribs and sides. All were delicious. The ribs fell off the bone and the sides were clearly more than an afterthought.

I'll admit it wasn't the best BBQ I ever ate; that distinction goes to Arthur Bryants in Kansas City. But it was awesome.

One issue, the bathroom was in serious need of an update. Get on that!

Helpful?
Thank chris_ruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious barbecue”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We went to Central's (E. Butler Ave. location) and had a great time. The food is absolutely delicious, prices very reasonable, service friendly and superefficient. The ribs are great, my daughter had the smoked turkey salad which she thought was amazingly good, and the peanut butter pie for dessert is to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Steven123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so food.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Although this place gets great press, I don't think it is that good. I prefer teh BBQ Shop on Madison.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beefboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing