We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite BBQ in Memphis”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,457 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite BBQ in Memphis”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

BBQ is a personal thing in Memphis and most all of it is very good, but this is our family favorite. Central's pulled pork, ribs, chicken, turkey are exceptional. A side of home made potato chips is a must. Do not be dissuaded if the line is out the door...it moves pretty fast. They now have a downtown location behind the Civil Rights Museum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeC648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,667
    806
    286
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great barbecue and great barbecue chips”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went here for lunch and it was solid. The ribs tasted great and I wish I would have ordered more of their barbecue chips. My wife and daughter kept stealing chips from me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Princerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memphis BBQ”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our regular BBQ joint, with great food and local beer, the ribs are the best in Memphis a must visit if you are in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MemphisRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One Good Basket of BBQ!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Did some online research and took advice from a colleague before stopping at this location. It was very busy on Sunday but after a 30-minute wait, Central BBQ delivered smoked rib excellence in a basket to our table. The meat crumbled off the bones when the ribs were separated. It was smoked very thoroughly and wasn't greasy. The sides were ok and the sauces, mild and hot, were unique which made it an even better dining experience. If you pass through Memphis looking for delicious BBQ, stop and eat here. It's A number 1 BBQ.

Helpful?
Thank crimsonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An order-at-the counter diner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Central BBQ we visited is at its original location on Central Avenue. The drive on Central Avenue with its mansions and large homes was part of the adventure! Central BBQ is a busy, order-at-the counter diner with indoor and outdoor seating. The staff was efficient bringing out orders and the meal of ribs for 2, ample and tasty; we could get ½ dry rub and ½ with BBQ sauce. We liked trying all 4 sauces that were free to try. The ribs were way above average but the sides (other than the macaroni and cheese which were creamy above average) were not seasoned to make them exceptional, although good. Our ribs and sides at BB Kings on Beale Street were seasoned better but you certainly got more for your money at Central. The clientele was so varied that anyone can feel comfortable going there. You may need to watch your timing if you want to eat inside on a hot day because it was busy the entire time we were there at suppertime. We saw lots of carry-out orders so that may be another option to consider!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing