We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“been here before and will always come back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“been here before and will always come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

this place is great. I always visit when I'm in Memphis. The service is excellent the people are friendly.the ribs and pork sandwiches are phenomenal. And even better yet they welcome pets on the patio. Gromit loved the attention and pulled pork too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gromitspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,490
    751
    260
    50
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went there for dinner and was not impressed. Each of us had a sliced beef sandwich. The meat was fatty and hard to even cut and chew. I would not go back. There are too many other BBQ places in Memphis.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thickest pork ribs ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Be prepared to wait in line for these ribs, but they are worth the wait. Best BBQ pork ribs in Memphis. Dry rub is fantastic and thick juicy meat falls off the bones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, ON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok...but nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed the food but the restaurant is nothing special, actually quite zooish with people crowded in and very noisy. Unless you are a BBQ aficionado I would give this place a pass as I am sure there are better BBQ restaurants in Memphis

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would return, but have had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We came thru Memphis and wanted to try to real Memphis BBQ. Drove by A&R bbq first but the area was too shady and we decided to look for something else. After a search we found this one with good ratings and reviews. Upon arrival it looked and smelled awesome. Cute cabin shack place, and there was a line out the door. We had a pork sandwich and BBQ nachos. Both were alright. You could definitely tell they smoke their meat, but maybe a little too long as it was a little on the dry side. Baked beans had good flavor but we are not fans of soupy baked beans at all. Much prefer thicker beans than these. The potato salad was ok as well. Nothing fantastic. We left satisfied but would probably look for a different place next time in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing