We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic EVERYTHING!!!!”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,457 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Fantastic EVERYTHING!!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ended our BBQ odyssey in Memphis at Central BBQ and it was unreal!!! The burnt ends were off the hook!!! Ribs, pulled pork, sauces, beans...everything and I mean, everything, was outstanding!!! We love this place and will be back!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,664
    806
    285
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect cole slaw, but the rest wasn't noteworthy”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place has perfect cole slaw. It isn't sweet at all, and compliments their mild sauce perfectly. The ribs just taste like smoke/soot until you put sauce on them. With the sauce, they're decent, but they lack moisture. The pulled pork is good with the sauce. The brisket is unremarkable. The baked beans taste like they're not fooled with and come from a can. With all of the bbq places in Memphis, I hoped the high ranking would equal amazing things, but there's much better bbq out there, and this place was $23.99 for a combo plate with ribs, so it's overpriced. It also needs a good scrubbing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wuapinmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Go-To Place for 'Que”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is where I go for BBQ.....I take friends, relatives, and out-of-town business guests here. It never fails to blow them away. For those that have been to the Rendezvous, Central makes them wish they had never wasted money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 315Andrew315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our cashier was obnoxious....I tried ordering the nachos with half tortilla chips and half potato chips (because someone recommended them that way) and he was very rude telling me that the tortilla chips weren't good and to only get them with potato chips. I had the bologna sandwich and my husband had the pulled pork. He preferred my bologna over his pulled pork.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbride0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Memphis BBQ must”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The service was great. You order at the front and go find a table. There's lots of outside seating. Gotta try the nachos; delicious! The employes were all very friendly and the prices were great and very reasonable. I got some pulled chicken and brisket. The chicken was moist and really good, I just didn't enjoy the brisket, wasn't as tender as I'd prefer or an used to. Glad we ate here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WheelsUp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing