We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review for Central BBQ near Civil Rights Museum”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #9 of 1,457 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Cooper Young Community Association
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“review for Central BBQ near Civil Rights Museum”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This location is much bigger than the Central BBQ on Central Ave so easier to find a seat and shorter wait time. The food was great and so was the service. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,664
    806
    285
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Central BBQ downtown @ the new Butler St. Location”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was my second time going to this location. And it was consistent with my visit over a month ago. My husband had the half rack and I had the pulled pork. We couldn't help but "share". The ribs were very tender on the inside with just the right amount of charring on the outside. Great smokey flavor with meat falling off the bone. The pulled pork was warm, moist and very tender. All hi quality in my opinion. Greens were tasty. Slaw was good, not great. Beans were very good with a lot of flavor, a little on the spicy side, which is OK with me. Great list of beers and ales. I'm liking this Central BBQ location better than Corky's and Rendezvous. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another good Memphis BBQ”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First visit to Central BBQ. Went to the Butler St location. Went on a Saturday night and was able to get right in. The three of us had the sausage and cheese starter, ribs for two and pulled pork plate. Lots of take home boxes. Good BBQ by Memphis standards meaning it would be incredible BBQ anywhere else. Worth a visit especially if you don't want the waits in some of the more popular locations. Only complaint is that they sell Pepsi and not Coke. Good sweet Community tea though. Very casual order at the counter place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaoulAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty place never returning”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge at The Peabody. The staff was very courteous and food was served very fast. We ordered them dry since they have a sauce bar. We tried a few of their sauces and it tasted sour. Not sure they are changing them or just adding to them. The floor was filthy and the trays to carry your sauces were wet like they had been washed but still had food on them! There is no way they can get that floor cleaned up because it had many layers of filth on it! Beans were mediocre at best. We prefer to eat where locals eat , however I couldn't imagine what their kitchen looked like if the main dining area was that bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcspurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It is OK”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was recommended by a friend. We came this place with great expectation. The food is not too bad, but did not wow us as Payne's did the next day. We could get better BBQ around Madison. So kinda disappointed. but again, BBQ is very much personal thing. One has to try it to know it. But if you stay in downtown, one branch of the restaurant is only across from Civil Right Museum and just few blocks away. We got the chance to see Lorraine Motel and then took the river front trolley back to our hotel. So the whole experience is not unpleasant either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DHHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing