We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Friendly, clean, hospitable, excellent location, great tub/shower (great water pressure!), beautiful views of the Mississippi, great neighborhood and safe feeling space, free ample parking....all in all we had a perfect stay. Such attention to detail...we brought our 4 month with us too and he was cozy as can be. We'd definitely stay there again!! Great thunder and lightening storm last night... We watched from the cozy bed with a bottle of Chardonnay while baby slept soundly! Wish we'd stayed longer to enjoy restaurant and rooftop bar!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 972 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

comfort,service,cleanliness second to none.ideal location on the mississippi river,10 minute walk from beale st or 10 dollars in a taxi, 20 mins from memphis airport 30dollars in a taxi, Gracelands 20mins away fantastic holiday' highly recomend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187053Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

In Memphis on business, but I was looking for a hotel with a boutique feel. Checked TA (as usual) and saw the great reviews for River Inn. It is not in the heart of the city but it is only a short, very easy drive to downtown. It was actually very pleasant to take the trip over the bridge each night, back to the hotel. It felt like an escape. Loved it the first 2 nights, but by the 3rd night it was a little too quiet for me. The service was fantastic, but a little formal. The rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable & clean, but they lacked originality of decor - they very much felt like a standard hotel room, which is what I was trying to stay away from. I dined in the restaurant one night and the service, food and views were fantastic - the views from their roof top bar were also great. Overall, very nicely done, just lacking that extra umph that a really unique, well serviced hotel might have. Enjoyed my stay, though.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here our first night in Memphis. Every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and accommodating. The complimentary glass of wine/champagne upon arrival hit the spot after an 8-hr drive. Our room was clean and nothing was forgotten - from the toiletries to the robes to the mini fridge, and of course the view of the river. When we returned later in the evening, the bed had been turned down and a tray of chocolates and port wine was left for us. Breakfast in the morning was superb. There was only one waiter, but he was wonderful.

The next 2 nights we stayed downtown so we could be within walking distance to everything. While the convenience was nice, we missed the fabulous room and service we had at the River Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takeitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here a couple of nights while visiting Memphis. This hotel is pure class. Very different to the normal Corporate type hotels, very stylish, and initmate.

The staff here are excellent, from the first 'glass of champagne' greeting at check in, to the 'goodbyes' when you leave. A special mention to Patrick, in the Breakfast room, a real nice guy, who does everything to make you feel special.
By the way the Breakfast was fantastic, there was nothing you did not want for.

The rooms are very tastely decorated, the bed very comfortable, and the port and truffles at night was a nice touch.

We ate at Tugs one night, and it was great, from the special happy hour cocktails, at $5.00 a peice to the great tasting food, If you dont fancy driving to a restaurant, this place is good.

The hotel is situated on Mud Island, which is at the North end of the main tourist attractions, there is lots of parking, if you come by car. In fact once we parked up, we got into the centre, by taking a short 10 minute walk across the bridge, and catching the trolley bus for $1.00 each, this took us to the main area which included Beale street, and you can very easily get to the Rock & Soul Museum, Civil Rights Museum, Sun Studios, Stax Musem, all of which are fantastic, and give you a real flavour of Memphis, and what a cool, and musically special place this is.

Gracelands is very close to the airport, so we dropped by on our way in. We were recommended to Central BBQ, on Summer Ave, which again you needed to drive to, but it was well worth it, and you drove through a very nice area, which included Rhodes University.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Although Memphis was scorching hot when we arrived, the inn was all that other reviewers have said! Beautifully situated on the Mississippi River, this island hotel is idyllic! Rooms are compact, but well appointed. Service was excellent. Breakfast overlooking the park was great! The bed was comfortable, but very high. The only negative was the toilet in our original room was noisy and leaking. We were quickly upgraded to a larger room with a better view. The toilet in this room was also noisy, but there were no leaks. We would definitely stay here on our next trip to Memphis.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road_Warriors2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The River Inn at Harbor Town is a fantastic place to stay if you are in Memphis. It is located on the beautiful Mud Island with great views towards the Mississippi. The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. The inn is very charming, super clean and comfy. I loved the little things that they do to make your stay memorable, like offering a glass of wine or champagne at check-in and then prepping your room for sleep, by un-tucking the blankets, opening the door to the TV cabinet, closing the drapes, not to mention the complimentary chocolate pralines and glass of port. We had breakfast at Currents, one of their two restaurants. What can I say? The food was absolutely delicious, and the service outstanding. I'm glad breakfast was included in our packet, because the restaurant is pretty pricey (it is worth the money though).

All in all, a great experience and I highly recommend River Inn at Harbor Town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank die-anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
411 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
7.9 mi away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $231 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing