We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect consistent Your good to Go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect consistent Your good to Go”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I am a very traveled women stayed 5 nights a real jewel this would be a find in any city I stay at 5 star hotels several months total a year so take my word for Im a pro i" your good to go "staff wonderful rooms charming area safe ,very friendly ,peaceful great for a romantic get away perfect for business you will sleep like a baby ,,enjoy,,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    123
    35
    19
    14
See reviews for
94
620
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The River Inn is close enough to downtown Memphis that you can drive to Beale st in less than 10 minutes but it's riverfront location makes you feel like you're world's away. After driving over the bridge to Mud Island, we found free parking right in front of the hotel (which was a relief b/c we were traveling with a car full of valuables) and upon check in were greeted with free champagne. The room itself was on the small side but the super comfortable four post bed, quaint decorating details, terry clothed robes and large flat screened TV made up for the cramped quarters.
On the roof of the hotel is an outdoor bar area where we watched the sunset over the river. We even had a nice chat with the other patrons about road travel and Memphis's best BBQ.
But by far, the BEST thing about our stay was the free gourmet breakfast. Our server was unbelievably attentive and courteous and gave us a real taste of southern hospitality. Our table had a river view and upon sitting down, we were handed the newspaper, a cup of coffee, fresh juice and a basket of still-warm pastries. We were then given an extensive menu of which we could choose whatever we wanted. And it was DELICIOUS. My boyfriend's blueberry pancakes were fluffy and light . My eggs were perfectly scrambled and the grits were some of the best I've ever had. It really did make us feel like royalty.
After breakfast we crossed the street and took a lovely walk along the Mississippi, ending an all too short visit to the River Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I took my Mother to Memphis for 10 days for her 80th birthday. Staying at the River Inn was an amazing experience.We were so well looked after by everyone, but especially by Patrick, Shannon and the lovely housekeeping ladies.I could not fault the hotel in any way, it was the best experience we have had in the USA.The hotel even arranged a driver for us for the week, Prince from P's luxury transportation, who is one of the nicest people we've ever had the pleasure in meeting.All in all, a wonderful hotel experience, enhanced by a stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shari64Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed for one night. The room was clean, neat, and smelled new. We were pleasantly surprised at the area..nice, quiet & safe. The hotel is not in town but in an upscale residential area on an island ajacent to city. This hotel was running a special at the time we where going to be in Memphis..so thought we would try it. We gorgeous view of the Mississippi. Service was top notch. Complimentary gourmet breakfast was worth the time we had to wait on it. . We visited the terrace bar for a drink. Very cute & nice view...the bartender was a little standoff-ish...had to wait for him to wait on us. There were only 2 other tables with people. Other than a walk along the river....there isnt much to do in the area but the 2 restaurants and a deli. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMidwestOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

My partner and I stayed two nights over July 4th weekend for our anniversary. I had the room right under the Roof Top Terrace (Bar). I could hear the chairs upstairs moving. The room was well appointed and the decor was fabulous although a bit small. The room could have used a good dusting. For the $ you pay for this place one would think this would be done daily. I did leave a comment card with the staff identifying the areas that need improvement. There was also dirt under the window left by someone who attended the window flowers. The staff was friendly with the exception of the young man working the front desk Saturday Night. He could use some pointers in smiling and greeting patrons. The breakfast that was included with room was very good. Patrick -host/waiter in the restaurant was superb. Upon arrival Melvin assisted us with bags and he was very pleasant. In addition the bags, he pointed everything out in the room. Overall this was a very good stay. With minor improvement I would have no problem saying this property is excellent. I only commented on this applicable to my trip. Other reviews mention location and proximity to river.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

This hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. Everything was perfect from beginning to end. We got a good rate on their summer dream special and it ended up being equal to a good downtown hotel and with free parking.
Upon check in they give you a glass of wine and offer to help you with your bags.
Our room had a wonderful view of the Mississippi and the bathroom was huge.
At night they leave you some port and chocolates. What a great treat before bed.
The breakfasts were delicious and there were many choices. We had the best waiter (Patrick) who even brought us the paper.
We even went up to the roof deck and had cocktails with an excellent server Ted. What a view from up there!
The concierge Shannon was wonderful and helpful to us and we loved talking to him every day.
We had dinner at Tug's which was very good . Except for breakfast we didn't eat at Current's

There are only good things to say about this hotel and I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We stayed mid-week after getting a reasonable price with Orbitz. Considering how nice the hotel is, it can be a better value than staying at a Holiday Inn if the extra cost is bearable for you. It is probably too expensive for an extended stay or a business trip, but it is certainly worth the money for a special occasion.

The delightful included breakfast alone almost made up for the difference in cost between this hotel and a mid-range hotel. It was incredibly nice, and the server was efficient and friendly. The pancakes (the name doesn't do them justice) were the best I have ever tasted.

Other than the waiter at breakfast, we only had contact with hotel staff when we arrived and left. They were friendly and offered to help with our bags upon arrival and departure.

The hotel is in a good location along the river, but is a little hard to find at first. Auction Avenue, which leads over a bridge near the hotel was recently re-named A.V. Willis Avenue. The hotel address didn't show up in our older GPS, but the entrance is located in the 600 block of Island Drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMikeAppleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#7 of 136 in Memphis
1,901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 136 in Memphis
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Property: River Inn of Harbor Town
Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
#6 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing